We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Thornton Beach Bungalows(Thornton Beach)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Safari Lodge(Cape Tribulation)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cape Trib Beach House(Cape Tribulation)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$124
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PK's Jungle Village(Cape Tribulation)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge(Cape Tribulation)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$93
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B(Cape Tribulation)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Black Palm Cape Tribulation(Cape Tribulation)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
126
22
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
22
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomsculpture trailthe main housethai massageunique experiencetropical fruitan absolute delightunique sculpturesgreat characternice bedbeautiful breakfasthot showerfreshwater creekbush turkeysenjoy natureoff the beaten trackkind of place
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 151 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

It's been 14 years (!) since we've been to Dutch Robby and his magnificent hideaway. We had a blast and some great memories that last a lifetime (something to do with a spider and a Casuari bird!!!) We stayed in the little cabin with insect nets on three sides, so it really felt like sleeping in the jungle! Hope to come back some time....

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dominique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016

we had three BEAUTIFUL nights at Rainforest Hideaway, thanks to our amazing hosts Rob and Aruni. Large secluded rainforest section, with winding walks around the property leading to open streams and lush greenery, with incredible sculptures dotted along the way- created by the owner/resident artist Rob, and some contributed from visiting artists. Amazing treehouse, open shower on the bottom storey with a staircase leading up to hammocks, beds, open kitchen and dining. Watched a cassowary find his way through the trees only a few feet away, and enjoyed an amazing breakfast of fruits i'd never heard of before. Aruni was so helpful and welcoming, and the Thai Massage area overlooks a beautiful pond, surrounded by trees and greenery. So much time and care has gone in to creating a truly amazing experience for their guests, and the hosts genuinely love ensuring that everyone has a special visit to the Daintree. Thank you so much

Room Tip: Treehouse are beautiful, and the bnb rooms get a lush breakfast- so it's win/win
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2016

I can't tell you how excited I was to find the Rainforest Hideaway... My son and I stayed in the Jungle Treehouse for 4 nights which was exactly the type of accommodation I was looking for: earthy, private, surrounded by nature. It was an great adventure and experience that won't soon be forgotten. The Rainforest Hideaway property is about 1km from the main road, and except for the main building and a few bungalows, is pristine Daintree rainforest. Winding through the property are paths that lead through a wonderland of Rob's whimsical sculptures and resting spots inviting you to contemplate the majesty of the green, damp, humming Daintree. The treehouse sits in the middle of this. There is a ground level open air shower which is completely private. The next level is elevated and is an open air room with a kitchen area (small gas power fridge, cooler for storing other food, a cook top, sink, crockery/cutlery and pots/pans, local tea and plunger coffee), a queen bed (with mossie net), two big arm chairs, two hammocks, a built in table and benches and a separate composting toilet. There's also an "outside" deck on this level with table and chairs. There's a ladder leading up to a loft area with another single bed. To be sure this type of accommodation isn't for everyone. It's much like glamourous camping, and you are very close to nature with bush fowl, goannas, tree frogs, and some nocturnal critters we could hear but not see! There's also 9 hole mini-golf holes throughout the property that Rob has sculpted which was fun to play. Additionally Aruni has a massage therapy practice on the property offering both Thai and more western style oil massage. I opted for a 90 minute Thai massage and I can say with no hesitation that it was one the best massages I've ever had. As an ex-remedial massage therapist of 18 years my standards are pretty high and she did exceptional work. Rob and Aruni were gracious hosts and offered some good local insights. Our stay at the Hideaway was definitely the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alberta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Many visitors to Cape Tribulation and Daintree seem to come on tour buses from Port Douglas or even Cairns, probably staying in hotels with all the comforts. After a night staying in the Rainforest Hideaway Bungalow, I realise that you would miss out on half the experience of the magical rainforest as a day tripper. While this accommodation is not 'luxury' you actually have everything you need. The outdoor bathroom and furniture made by the owner were both beautiful and functional. Listening to the sounds of the forest at night and wandering the back trails of the property without fellow tourists is something you can't put a price on. Staying there I pondered the difficulty of living without permanent power or water, let alone running a business, and resolved to seek out more accommodation run directly by owners.

Room Tip: Bungalow for a couple seeking privacy, B & B rooms in main house for families. Ask about the nearby Jungle House for an adventurous family.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JadedA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2016

I love rainforests and so stayed at the Junglehouse. Please look at the pics on the website before booking this place to make sure its for you.
Its an eco-friendly accommodation right in the middle of the Daintree rainforest. Its really jungle living, still has electricity, gas hot plate stove and battery operated small fridge. There is also a grocery shop just down the road, so you can prepare your own meals. Toilet is composite with rainforest views (google composite toilet if you dont know what it means) and the bathroom is open without doors! But dont worry, because the Junglehouse is isolated from other rooms within the property. So the only ones who will be checking you out while bathing would be the insects and birds. The owners/operators Rob and Aruni are very friendly and respond promptly to email enquiries. So if you have any doubts/worries, please email/call them before booking. They assured me that there are no snakes within the property and moreover, snakes will be only on the ground (the Junglehouse is elevated). And surprisingly we did not get any mosquitoes or insects coming into the house although it was very open and in the middle of the rainforest. But you hear all the insects and birds, and get to adsorb the rainforest feel... its truly soothing to senses. We also saw fireflies at night, which was surreal in the forest.

Room Tip: Dont apply insect repellent strait away; use the mosquito net on top of the bed.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandTreefrog, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Always happy to hear that people enjoy our work and service but once again I would like to point out the jungle treehouse is a place we manage and not Rainforest Hideaway B&B which was the original reason for the existence of this page.
Small correction to the toilet description; it is a composting toilet, not composite, it follows the billions of years old principle of bacteria eating matter to turn it in to nutrients for the garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews