We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL LODGE IN A VERY PEACEFUL VILLAGE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Thank you Tina and Holly for the great tree nights we spent in your lodge, feeling in family, as french you care to speak us slowly an explain many things about countryside and birdwatching.
we enjoy the serenity of the lodge, the great breakfast, some afternoons nice bath in the pool
Next to the DAINTREE River we have done 3 cruises with Murray from DAINTREE BOATMEN who know where to find the birds you like
Good location also to do the day trip to cape tribulation
Restaurant of the general store good and very friendly owners
i hope we'll come back soon

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank MERABessenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmill, Manager at Red Mill House in Daintree, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you for the very lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again at Red Mill House in the future. Our guests do become part of our family and brings us so much joy when you have enjoyed your stay. You really took the time to explore the area, the river and the Cape Tribulation region which resulted in some AMAZING photography. Thank you for choosing Red Mill House for your nature based holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Red Mill House is set in a beautiful tropical garden, very quiet, with very friendly and helpful hosts. The room was comfortable and very clean.
The breakfast was well-set out and delicious, and we felt part of the family as hosts Tina and Holly chatted with us.
If we're up in beautiful far north Queensland again, we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If possible, call to make a booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misusa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmill, Manager at Red Mill House in Daintree, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear Misusa,
Such a lovely review, thank you. We apologise for the delay in responding to you. We are happy to have you back any time you wish to visit North Queensland again. So many great birds, so much distance between them and so much to fit in on holidays. We hope you will visit us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

My wife and I are visiting Australia for the first time and I am keen to do wildlife photography so we chose a 3 night stay at Redmill House in Daintree Village. We would have stayed longer if we had known how nice it is. Our room was spacious with a good bed and en suite shower.Our breakfast was filling and delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who arranged trips, early (very early on occasion) breakfasts, tried to find difficult birds for me and generally went that extra mile. Can't recommend them too highly.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room with a balcony overlooking the garden. This is quiet and good for wildlife...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jasonbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmill, Manager at Red Mill House in Daintree, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Jason,
Thanks for your wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It certainly was a pleasure having you. We hope you got some wonderful photos during your stay, looking forward to seeing some one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

I stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The hosts do a great job of making you feel at home with helpful local suggestions for activities, delicious home made breakfast (loved the yogurt!), and great conversation. The area is very quiet and peaceful, just steps away from the little town center. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank virg080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmill, Manager at Red Mill House in Daintree, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

What a great review, we appreciate your lovely words and taking the time to provide feedback for Red Mill House. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

First class accomodation with a homely touch. Well done to the new owners, thank you for sharing your home with us. Great breakfast, great location. Can not fault this property. Very helpful regarding birding and advising about local attractions, restaurants etc.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmill, Manager at Red Mill House in Daintree, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Doug,
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so pleased you both had a wonderful time and we certainly enjoyed having you. I particularly enjoyed learning some of your photography techniques too! We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We were privileged to be staying at Red Mill House when Trish and Andrew were handing over to new owners Holly, Tina and Jim.
It was clear that the high standard of hospitality and friendliness Red Mill House has become known for will be maintained and that Holly, Tina and Jim will provide their guests with a memorable experience while staying in this beautiful part of Australia.
We enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts on the verandah overlooking the garden, the helpful local information from our hosts, and the proximity to the Daintree River and National Park.
Thank you to you all for your warm welcome and a wonderful stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ian_Ros_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmill, Manager at Red Mill House in Daintree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou for the lovely words and review. You were such wonderful guests to have during our handover period! It has been so wonderful to meet so many amazing people. We do hope that we can welcome you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Red Mill House sits in the middle of the Daintree. It's so quiet and peaceful. The gardens surrounding the B&B are really beautiful and brimming with wildlife. We saw some little tree frogs, so, so sweet. And so many different species of birds.
The new owners are very helpful and friendly. We were given lots of tips on where to go and even set off one day with a complementary cold pack of water.
The breakfast is quite special. Homemade yoghurt and bread, tropical fruits and a cooked option too.
The property is in the village and it's an easy walk to the local pub for dinner. The rooms are not uber modern but clean, spacious and perfectly adequate.
Red Mill is good value too. Recommended!

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Kellie_Morle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmill, Manager at Red Mill House in Daintree, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Kellie,
Thanks you so much for taking the time to write a review for Red Mill House. We really enjoyed meeting your family and having the opportunity to show you some of the amazing wildlife we have around the property. It was such a pleasure and we hope to welcome you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
2.6 km away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
586 reviews
0 km away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
24.5 km away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground
11.1 km away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
0.2 km away
Daintree Village Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range: $188 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing