We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
56
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts access road small pond my partner useful information peace and quiet port douglas daphne wallabies cabin australia dam comfort key trees
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 66 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a week, wanting a place far from the madding crowd to totally relax in natural surroundings and Daintree Valley Haven was ideal. The cabin was comfortable, very clean, and well equipped, with lovely forest views. A breakfast tray with home made produce was delivered each afternoon. There are only 3 cabins and all are well spaced so peace, quiet and privacy are assured. It is 8 k's beyond Daintree village, on a scenic all weather dirt road, so it's advisable to take what you need! There are nice walks around the property and other nearby lanes. We saw many birds and other wildlife. A highlight being an azure kingfisher who fished for his breakfast in the creek as we sat on our balcony and enjoyed ours! The hosts Peter and Daphne were friendly and helpful sharing local knowledge but respected our privacy. Also recommend the Daintree river trip with Source, for birds, crocodiles and other wildlife!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Detruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Thank you very much for your very nice review. As always Peter and I find it very rewarding to hear our guests have enjoyed their time with us. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016

There are only three cabins, and even so, they are positioned in the rainforest so that you feel as if you are the only one for miles. The cabins themselves are simple with everything you need, and the mattress is firm although the pillows very hard and the sheets VERY coarse!

Delicious breakfasts of fruit, toast and cereal were delivered to the cabin in our absence each day, and the ingredients for a self-cooked dinner are available at very reasonable extra cost.

The walking track around the property is really just a mowed path through long grass; the property itself is rather weedy.

The gravel road that some reviewers have made quite a fuss about is perfectly okay. If you have ever driven anywhere off tar you will have absolutely no problem at all. You certainly don't need a 4WD. Just don't speed, as there are sometimes livestock on the road - and anyway, it's gorgeous country, so why would you?

There is no wifi at all despite assurances it was available at the "shed." Our devices couldn't even see the network, let alone log in. Of course there is no 3G out there, so the nearest place you can use a phone is in Daintree Village, 8km away.

Not surprisingly, being so close to the billabong, the mozzies were terrible. Bring plenty of mozzie spray, and if you are susceptible (like me) put it on before you get out of the car!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Thank you for your review, Mandi, and we are very sorry to hear you had some problems during your stay - we do wish you had mentioned these to us while you were here so we could have tried to rectify them.

We have recently bought (and have now washed many times) new king-size Actil sheets and perhaps they still need some more washes. We could have replaced them for you with the older sheets if you had asked us - there are also two softer pillows provided in your wardrobe.

Most guests love our natural colourful tropical gardens - yes there are more 'weeds' in the more inaccessible areas than we would like at the moment - with our very mild winter everything has just kept growing and growing. Peter has been struck with a seriously bad back (slipped disc) so for months has been unable to do any heavy work and our neighbour who sometimes helps has been sick.

I do as much as I can with the mower, clippers and brush-cutter but I'm (a fairly fit) 71 so cannot manage some things like the heavy back-pack misting machine to control the very unseasonal mozzies and I can't operate the tractor and slasher. However we place mozzie coils in all the bungalows and in The Shed - also provide insect repellant to everyone and the bungalows are insect-screened so I'm not sure how much more we can do till Peter's back recovers.

We are astonished to hear you could not access wifi! But, just wondering, did you make sure your devices actually had wifi switched on? Someone else recently had a problem logging on till I mentioned this and as soon as she turned it on it worked perfectly. I will add this suggestion to the wifi-password card in the bungalows. (I've just taken my tablet to the shed and picked up the signal immediately). We are now on the full NBN satellite and getting great reception and speeds so guests are generally very happy.

We so enjoyed meeting you both and do hope these issues didn't spoil your stay too much - we just wish you had mentioned them to us when you were here!

PS We're still giggling about the Platypus ... !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2016

My brother, father and I booked one of The Daintree Valley haven cottages. It was a simple, double bed demountable with a kitchenette, bathroom and balcony. Daphne and Peter were so helpful and kind. They knew the best places to see and eat and were full of great advice that they'd readily share. In the evenings my brother, father and I would play darts in the open air shed and BBQ up some barramundi that Peter had purchased for us from the markets. It was the best fish I think I have ever eaten. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The WiFi is exclusively in the shed which we liked as it meant that we weren't all on our phones when we were in our cottage. It's understandable that this isn't for everyone. This is a fantastic place to stay if you're looking for a simple, quiet and very personable getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Thank you very much, Joe, for your kind review. We very much enjoyed meeting you all - lovely to see such a close happy family. And we're pleased that our limited wifi wasn't too much of a problem. As nearly all communications here are via satellite it's not feasible to extend wifi to the bungalows - and many of our guests enjoy being out-of-touch with the rest of the world for a while!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2016

A perfect place for our 25th wedding anniversary. Tranquil, peaceful and comfortable. The serenity was perfect. The cottage was very well appointed and the hosts, Peter and Daphne were outstanding. Daphne arranged our snorkelling trip and provided beautiful daily breakfasts of local produce. The Daintree region is full of good hospitality.
Thank you for a wonderful 4 night stay.

Lisa B, Perth Western Australia

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 53Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Thank you Lisa for your lovely review. We very much enjoyed your company and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - and we hope to meet you both again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2016

The weekend we chose to stay at the Daintree Valley Haven was a particularly wet one which resulted in being flooded in for a few extra hours. Peter and Daphne were extremely helpful, giving us timely updates on the water levels and even moving a fallen tree from the road so that we could be on our way. The overall experience was fantastic even when considering the weather. =)

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

Thank you very much, Katie - we' so pleased to hear the sudden, very unexpected wet weather didn't 'dampen' your weekend too much! We hope to meet you and Aaron again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews