We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
12
3
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
3
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2018 via mobile

Oskars is set in tropical gardens with an abundance of native wildlife. It is a true eco built home for the tropics, large and spacious verandah and breeze way to capture the cooling breezes. Great pod coffee and lots of luscious tropical fruit and bubbly
Hosts are friendly and helpful. A very well thought out accommodation , beautifully decorated. Highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorrettta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2017

Oskar's is most suitable for those seeking a comfortable place to stay, but beware the noise of 'nature' at pre-dawn and sunrise to welcome in a new day. View on the back balcony is nice and the place sits among a lovely setting. Room has all the essentials for a short stay, which is connected to the main house. Accommodation caters for smokers. Tropical fruit platter and basics are ready in the fridge for your breakfast. Oskar's is a short drive from the ferry terminal, though parking is on a cul-de-sac.

Room Tip: There is only one room, attached to the main house. Room is pleasant.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

The room was large but the vacuuming from the owner in the rest of the house was disturbing. The price was expensive for the accomodation provided. The Tv was very small. Breakfast prepared for the next day to early as it sits in the fridge for over 16 hrs before we consumed it. It was an ok stay but expected a lot more for the price I paid for 1 night. I assume the price was elevated due to the Island race week which I feel is not right.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra D, Owner at Oskar's Rainforest Retreat Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Hello David, You requested an early check in - 2 hours earlier than our usual checkin time, we made sure Oskar's was ready for you. Our breakfast is a gourmet continental breakfast and provided on arrival along with a complimentary bottle of bubbly, that our guests can prepare at their leisure, We do not advertise a serviced cooked breakfast, which I think is what you expected. We believe Oskar's is good value for money. We do not elevate our tariff during race week. The vacuuming you heard was not in our home but in the grounds of our gardens which are maintained daily. I am sorry that you were disappointed,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017

When we arrived at Oskar's and were shown the room, we were amazed. Very spacious, seperate bath room, clean. The terrace overlooks the rainforest and wildlife. Wallabies come nibble on treats on the deck bellow and you litterally feel you in the rainforest with all the birdlife. Breakfast is a real treat, put in the fridge in the room so you can get up anytime and just have it out on the terrace. Fresh fruit every day. Perfect spot to find rest and go visit Magnetic Island.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salima-Maarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Oskar's what a surprise find. Large spacious living areas ,a deck that has views of the pictureqsue Rainforest garden and surrounding hills.
Designed for tropical living, Oskar's wooden homestead Queenslander with long verandah and open plan with cool breezes enables you to relax in comfort.
A beautiful platter of tropical Queensland fruits, a complimentary bottle of bubbly and delicious chocolates sitting on the deck in candlelghit listening to the evening birds - it is enchanting
The owners are friendly with good local knowledge.
We loved this B and B and we highly recommend. Our stay was not long enough and Magnetic Island is full of natural beauty

Stayed 2 nights in February

Room Tip: Rainforest & creek view room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazza_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews