We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lovely experience”
Review of Birdworld Kuranda

Birdworld Kuranda
Ranked #3 of 32 things to do in Kuranda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to the largest single collection of free flying birds in Australia (some 500 of them!), Birdworld Kuranda in the Australian highlands of the Atherton Tablelands displays no less than 75 species of the most spectacular birds from all corners of the planet - as well as from the earth’s fast diminishing rainforests.Visitors are free to wander through the lush, tropically landscaped bird sanctuary to observe the birds in their own specific - yet natural - habitats. Two lakes connected by a tumbling waterfall for example are home to waterbirds such as stilts, herons and Australia’s own unique Black Swan. In Birdworld's rainforest canopy overhead, blue, gold and scarlet Macaws dazzle with colourful brilliance as they soar above the tree tops. One outstanding Birdworld denizen not to be missed is that rare avian giant, the Cassowary - an Australian bird now officially enlisted as endangered.Designed to "create a centre where birds would be showcased in their natural environment without the barriers of cages coming between them and their admiring public", Birdworld Kuranda is a photographer's paradise. (And without those barriers, visitors often find a feathered friend nestling on their shoulder - a golden photo opportunity!) Birdworld Kuranda can provide guided tours for all group bookings.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We didn't expect much, but had a wonderful time and plenty of photo opportunities with the inhabitants

Thank Funtravel124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Birdworld Kuranda, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Delighted to have exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful birds"
in 40 reviews
"bird food"
in 28 reviews
"bird lovers"
in 23 reviews
"bird world"
in 36 reviews
"australian birds"
in 14 reviews
"shiny things"
in 9 reviews
"black cockatoos"
in 8 reviews
"cheeky birds"
in 7 reviews
"water birds"
in 7 reviews
"huge variety of birds"
in 6 reviews
"fly freely"
in 6 reviews
"hand feeding"
in 6 reviews
"large aviary"
in 8 reviews
"feathered friends"
in 8 reviews
"perch"
in 14 reviews
"birds flying"
in 7 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 12 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 595 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2018

This is a wonderful experience. Those Macaw's were the highlight for me..I loved that some are so tame that you can have them on your hand, be careful what you wear as they will chew anything including your bag! We found the interaction with the birds just great. When you come to Kuranda make sure you do this place. you wont be disappointed.

Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Birdworld Kuranda, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Recommendation is always our best from of advertising. Really appreciate this review Julie and 'yes' our parrots do like to nibble things but you can always leave a bag or something else with our staff at the front if you are concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

I adore this place. I buy a yearly pass and my kids have so much fun! The birds are friendly and obviously loved and well looked after. My 5 year old can sit here for hours.

Thank michelle1979freshhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Birdworld Kuranda, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2018

What a great recommendation Michelle. We are finding that Birdworld is becoming a very popular choice for families. So great to get them out into some fresh air and exploring our local attractions. Good on you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

My husband & I took a quick trip away to Cairns for the weekend & decided after brunch to check out Birdworld. It was absolutely the highlight of my trip. We did 3 laps (they’re not very big) and I was fascinated by all the birds even though most were familiar to me. Highlight was the Macaw climbing onto my arm then shoulder after spending about 30 minutes hand feeding it and trying to gain its trust.
Definitely not recommended if you have a fear of birds because there are plenty that fly all over you, especially if you have food, but bird lovers will love it! There’s also plenty of space for the birds if they don’t feel like human contact, which I also liked.

Thank eleven11dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Birdworld Kuranda, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

Thank you so much for this very positive and also frank feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2018

This was a amazing experience. Great to walk around and be near the birds. Some wants to cuddle and others might bite you if your not careful. I almost lost my lens cap twice, but that was part of the fun. I highly recommend a visit here.

Thank Bengt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Birdworld Kuranda, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

Thanks for taking time out to share this great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birdworld Kuranda also viewed

 

Been to Birdworld Kuranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing