We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Birdworld Kuranda
from US$23.50
More Info
from US$51.30
More Info
from US$120.20
More Info
from US$120.20
More Info
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
319
230
63
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
230
63
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful birds bird food bird lovers bird world shiny things black cockatoos fly freely water birds native birds large aviary huge variety of birds gold macaw feathered friends perch free flight aviary hand feeding bird life
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 637 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2018

you see these birds often on tv and in books, well, now you can see them close up. they ware well behaved although one feathered friend seemed to develop a fetish for my husbands bright red baseball cap with red poppy. the enclosure is a bit messy but that is because visitors are encouraged to feed the birds, you have to buy the seeds. what struck me - and yes I take special interest in this - is the fact that it is not "physically challenged" friendly, even for young couples with strollers(!). staff is very friendly and helpful but no provision is made for a wheelchair bound visitor even though that person pays the full price, I find that a serious shortcoming. I still strongly recommend you to visit 'cos you'll never ever get this close to these stunning birds! If you have an AUSTRALIAN COMPANION CARD you'll be getting a very nice discount but you have to mention and show your card (obviously)!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank overseaswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Birdworld Kuranda, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Many thanks overseas writer. Yes we do charge for the food as it is very expensive to buy and our staff put the mix together by hand based on the dietary requirements for the birds. Your other comments are noted and there are modifications being made as we speak to make that work better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018

The birds here are friendly and cheeky. They will happily land on your head or shoulder (Friendly) then pick off the the plastic bit in the centre of your cap (Cheeky). There are so many beautiful colours and species. They will happily eat out of your hand. ( You receive a bag of birdy food on arrival). There is a boardwalk through tropical gardens where you will see a swag of feathered friends in their own habitat. They even have the beautiful Cassowary. Fun for young and old. Don't go if you are afraid of birds. I heard one couple complaining about them landing on you ,but that's the fun bit.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Erik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Birdworld Kuranda, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Thanks so much Erik and certainly you will have birds all around you especially if you purchase the optional bird food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

I had a bird fly up and land on my hat immediately upon entering. They will eat out of your hand. There are a wide variety of birds all living in this open space. It is not terribly big, so don't expect to spend a lot of time.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank leppaenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Birdworld Kuranda, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Thanks so much. As Kuranda is a diverse Village, this attraction is designed for about a 25-30 minute visit but lots of our customers stay longer. We'd love to expand but there is no more land behind or beside us to move to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

This is our third or fourth time back to Birdworld. We love it because of its simplicity. Beautiful birds, many of whom are happy to land on your shoulder or arm and eat out of your hand. Friendly staff!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank crumbedoxygen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Birdworld Kuranda, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Great to hear that you are enjoying your return visits crumbedoxygen. And thanks for pointing out our lovely staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed about 1.5 hours at Birdworld, wandering the loop a couple times and seeing different birds each time. As others have said, they are inquisitive, and enjoyed playing with new things like buttons or bags, but that's part of the experience. We arrived mid afternoon, and they didn't have any seed packets left that others reviewers have mentioned - so if that's important for you, I'd suggest going early. So many birds in one space to observe - they give you an identification sheet so you can find who you're looking at which we liked. Fun activity for families or for those who love birds.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank loshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Birdworld Kuranda, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Thanks for your feedback and really glad to see you stayed for more than an hour with us. Our keepers set up the packets for the birds to ensure their diet is correctly balanced. Good tips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews