We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb getaway hidden in Melany”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of African Cottage

African Cottage Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah African Cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah
African Cottage Kitchen
African Cottage BBQ Area
African Cottage Bedroom 1
African Cottage Bedroom 2
African Cottage Bedroom 3
Spacious African themed cottage surrounded by lush tropical gardens. To relax body and soul!
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Tiger The Resident Cat
Resident Guinea Fowl
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Matilda Scarfe Your Host
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kay1826
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Superb getaway hidden in Melany”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Experienced an amazing weekend getaway at Maleny African Cottages. The cottage was secluded beneath an awesome 500 year old tree spanning the balcony! The accommodation was spacious, clean, very comfortable and beautifully decorated in a South African theme - music and all. Our package included a fabulous traditional South African dish - Bobotti - which was so good we bought extra pre-packaged ingredients to take home. Thank you Matilda for a weekend to remember - we will be back!! Kay and Rob

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tree, food and hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Four of us stayed from 28 - 31 January 2014 in the Rondawel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is great - a few minutes drive into Maleny and not much further to Montville. The cottage is roomy and the beds are very comfortable and the bath is huge. Matilda is a great hostess and has thought of everything to make your visit enjoyable. Beautiful food and we all agreed a return visit is a must.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shamrock...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful, relaxing and unique getaway”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

After having a bit of trouble finding dates that would suit everyone we eventually booked our 3 days mid week holiday at Rondawel. Mathilda welcomed us and is the cook of the amazing South African meal that was waiting for us. The cottage itself is stylish and comfortable with amazing almost 360 degree windows allowing us to enjoy the garden views. That enormous old fig tree is amazing, gloriously centered in the yard and sprawling right across to the cottages, so close you can touch a branch. There was plenty of birdsong and the guinea fowls were cute to watch. The cottage is perfectly located, only a short drive to Maleny in one direction and to Montville in the other, with plenty to see and do. We'd go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The South African experience, insights into this country and culture
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda U
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Spent a lovely relaxing stay at these private and quiet cottages. Located conveniently 5mins from Maleny and 10 mins from Montville surrounded by bushland. The owner, Matilda couldn't do enough for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet.
Liked least: All good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisSte...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place to truly relax and enjoy the surroundings”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My wife and I stayed here in November and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We chose the Cape Cottage which is lirterally under an enormous fig tree. It is the next best thing to being in the tree. (We actually left that to the visiting guinea fowl and numerous other tree dwellers). The deck, which sits under the tree, was enjoyed for hours by my wife, with her travelling craft shop (slight exaggeration). The room was clean, welcoming and well stocked with items to make our stay simple. The owner, Matilda, was a great host, taking time to make sure we we happy, without being intrusive. Her pride in the African Cottages is unmistakeable. She also offers personally guided trips to South Africa itself, if that is in your budget. The nearby village of Malaney, has truly blossmed. We visited there some years ago and vowed to not return. The only word I could offer was, "boring". No more. It has more than returned to life, The Super IGA is amazing. Superbly well stocked with an amazing variety of foods and necessities, I have never in my life walked into a store and felt such a welcoming atmosphere. It is little wonder that intrusion of a national chain store was such a dismal failure. The stores were interesting and welcoming and there appears to be no such thing as a bad coffee in this amazing village. I will return and I will happily stay again at the African Cottages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall welcoming atmosphere
Liked least: Entirely satisfied
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2013
Thank you Dennis! But with lovely guests like you we can't help ourselves - we have to be nice! And you are so right about the IGA. Who needs that other unmentionable store when we have Rob & Sam's beautiful shop and friendly staff? We look forward to welcoming you back here as our guests.
Have a wonderful Christmas!
Matilda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zela
brisbane
1 review
“Lovely country house”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this cottage. Which is actually a fairly large house! Matilda is very welcoming when you first arrive, beautiful space laid out with a meal and authentic African music playing. Two bedrooms with lovely views to a well established garden. We traveled with a 20 month old child, Matilda was not at all squeamish about having him, the garden was full of delights for the curious boy and she even grabbed a box of toys! Our second night saw us trying something from the menu, a very tasty lamb shank, served over candle light. My partner and i really enjoyed our stay at this venue and will definitely come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience
Liked least: Bedding needs updating
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2013
It was a pleasure to have you Ela! And who could be squeamish about such a cute little boy! and what an adventurer he is. Loved it! It will be interesting to see how e has grown when you come back.
Have a lovely Festive Season and may 2014 be your best year ever!
Matilda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Out of Africa”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We really enjoyed our three day stay in the Cape Cottage in Maleny. The weather was perfect and the surrounding landscape green and relaxing. The décor of the Cape Cottage really made you feel like you were in an African setting. Our hostess Matilda is full of information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2013
Thank you Susan! It was a pleasure to have you here. We really hope you will come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing