We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“10 STARS!!!”
Altitude140
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Altitude140
The view photo 1 Altitude140 Mission Beach Australia. Named one of the top ten beach homes in Queensland.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Altitude140
The view photo 1
Altitude140 Mission Beach Australia. Named one of the top ten beach homes in Queensland.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mission Beach, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
winnie207...
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“10 STARS!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow. Wow. Wow.
My husband and I were speechless when we arrived at this property. We have stayed at many rentals in Queensland but this was by far the best one ever. Firstly my dealings with Shane the owner were nothing but professional and very friendly. She is one of the nicest people I have ever met and had dealings with. Not only showing us around the property but telling us all about the adventure of building it and Mission Beach and the surrounding islands. To top it off she had a welcome basket for us. I just can't write enough how magical this stay was for us. The house is fabulous. 3 Bedrooms, pool, 2 bathrooms, infinity edge pool, peaceful surroundings. feeding the sea eagles daily was definitely a favourite thing to do for us. Perfect for people wanting a holiday with complete privacy. All we could hear was nature, it was just perfect. I would definitely recommend this property for anybody wanting to unwind and relax. I hope we go back some day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and privacy and of course the sea eagles
Liked least: nothing it was magical
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flange202...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A place for Rock Stars, Movie Stars, Presidents and little old us!”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Never, ever, never did I feel I could find a place so perfect in every way for our needs.

NO, we are NOT easily pleased, but are staggered as to Altitue140 s perfection as an escape.
No, we are not famous, never will be (even in our own neighbourhood), but we felt like A Grade celebrities here.
Altitude140 is a place that has been burnt into our memories and will be with us till our last days.

Unlimited luxury, million Dollar views (no Billion Actually) and absolute total seclusion.

Not an un-natural sound from the time we arrived until we left.
So, so many Blue Ulysses and Cairns Birdwing butterflies we lost count. The cobalt blue infinity pool seems to attract them.
The entire ocean side of the House concertinaed open to the pool and deck, so it was like being outside always.
Every possible high quality kitchen appliance in the butlers retreat, some we had never seen before. The deck even had a large capacity wine fridge.

A gymnasium, we didn’t expect. Garage parking for up to 4 large cars, a shower perched behind full length glass above the rainforest. (Nearest neighbour 1 kilo away, so relax)
Amazing New Guinea artworks. Cinema sized plasma TVs, although we just looked at the horizon for 16 hours a day.
I have paid 5 times what Altitude140 cost us and none came close to it.

A perfect, refreshing two hours’ drive south of Cairns (about the same as Port Dull Douglas is north)
We were met at the front gate by Shane who escorted us up the driveway past 30-50 Wallaby’s of two species and up up through the rainforest to the house.
After a guided tour of the facilities, we were gifted with a generous bottle of red wine and other little luxuries that we enjoyed around the pool.

Everyone should have a visit to Altitude140 before they shuffle off the planet.
A must for your bucket list! Blast and bungie jump or skydive, come here as we did.
With three large bedrooms and two en suites you could share you escape with your closest friends and split the bill. Although for two it’s a welcome indulgence.
We were here for our 30th anniversary.
But I won’t need an excuse that large to come back.
Holidays will never be the same again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wildlife and seclusion
Liked least: had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Rental EVER”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Amazing...Breathtaking...Serene...Luxurious...

There really are no words that can describe how we felt not only upon arriving at this glorious piece of paradise, but also how connected to it we felt as we left. After staying a total of 6 nights and realizing we can't afford to buy the property at this phase of our lives, we sadly realized we must move on to the next part of our travels in Australia. I can only say that if you have read reviews for properties in this area and are considering visiting, you MUST stay here if at all possible.

We flew into Cairns and drove by rental car less than 2 hours south to the quaint town of Mission Beach, where we were promptly greeted by Shane and shown to the property. After being given a detailed run down of our immaculate accommodations for the next week and instructions on how to feed the sea eagles (so cool!), Shane left us with a basket of local fresh fruit and a bottle of red wine, the latter of which was disposed of within the hour (nothing like a bottle of wine to wash away 30 hours of traveling). Shane was a lovely host, has impeccable taste, and even decorated the home with her own artwork, which is unfortunately not for sale, so don't ask ;)

We walked to the beach and into town a couple times while we were there, which is several miles round trip, but has a great walking trail off the beach that is very scenic and mostly shaded. I must warn you, however, that the climb back up the hill to the house is a beast. It should only be attempted if you are in good physical condition. Otherwise, taking your car into town is recommended (5-10 mins). There is a grocery store about 15 mins away and several small restaurants/bars in town if you don't feel like cooking.

This property would easily accommodate 3 couples, but is not recommended for families with children.

My one and only complaint would be the horse flies that liked to nibble on my ankles. Next time I'll bring a fly strip or maybe an industrial strength bug zapper...

To Shane: Your home was amazing and we were honored to be your first guests from the US. ~Jamie & Jennifer T.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: horse flies
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobD562
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing