We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Day Out”

Granite Belt Bicycle Tours & Hire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Granite Belt Bicycle Tours & Hire provide you with top quality bicycles for hire allowing you to take in the beauty of the region at the pace it’s meant to be seen -- Yours! Not sure where to go? Take one of our guided tours and we'll show you some great places to visit. We aim to offer you great, value-for-money leisure cycling through this scenic region of Queensland. Discover everything from boutique wineries, vineyards, gourmet produce, fruit orchards and much more while out on your ride.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Hubby and I just returned to our accommodation after hiring bikes and riding the bike trail from Stanthorpe to Ballandean. John was so helpful in getting us set up with great quality gear. He also briefed us on what was open today and through some dialogue he recommended a slight variation to the route to fit in some places we wanted to see.

Scenery was just gorgeous and we saw so much wildlife! Around every corner there was always something else to admire. It was certainly a great way to get out of a busy city and really take in the country. Nothing better than that fresh air filling your lungs.

We loved that we stopped at wineries we probably wouldn’t have visited otherwise. So many gems and visiting on a weekday meant they weren’t too busy. Buying wine and leaving it for John to pick up before he picked us up at the end of the ride meant that we could really enjoy ourselves and take home lots to enjoy at home.

I don’t normally go on longer bike rides......I normally just ride my easy ride bike down to my local coffee shop on very flat paths. Having so many places to stop along the way made it so much easier than I thought it would be .... and the gel cover for the bike seat was also appreciated! There were a few inclines on our route but an easy decline always followed. We also choose to ride on some dirt roads which was lots of fun.

I certainly recommend hiking some bikes and going on your own adventure around this beautiful part of Australia. Great service, gorgeous scenery and amazing little venues to visit ... and all while doing something that’s so good for you!

1  Thank JazNat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa B, Owner at Granite Belt Bicycle Tours & Hire, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Thanks for the review. Yes, we love the scenery and Autumn is a particularly lovely time to come to the Granite Belt with its cool nights, changing leaves and warm days. We are proud of our service and hope you will come back again to try one of our guided tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"self guided tour"
in 6 reviews
"bike trail"
in 7 reviews
"own pace"
in 4 reviews
"hired bikes"
in 4 reviews
"end of the day"
in 6 reviews
"local wineries"
in 4 reviews
"granite belt"
in 20 reviews
"lunch hamper"
in 2 reviews
"afternoon tour"
in 2 reviews
"head wind"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful weather"
in 2 reviews
"month old daughter"
in 2 reviews
"in excellent condition"
in 2 reviews
"high quality"
in 3 reviews
"friendly service"
in 3 reviews
"great scenery"
in 2 reviews
"phone call"
in 2 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 83 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Great value at $55/ head for a full day hire. John and Vanessa met us very close to our accommodation and were very friendly. We cycled to Whiskey Gully wines, Severn Lane, Mount view Wines and Jester Hill, pausing to taste wines and buy a bottle at each. After lunch at Jester Hill and a stop for fudge they picked out tipsy selves up along with our wine from each venue.

The cycle itself is a little challenging but very achievable with a moderate level of fitness. Great scenery. Make sure to drink plenty of water beforehand.

Thank fionam1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa B, Owner at Granite Belt Bicycle Tours & Hire, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you for your review and so glad to see you back again on the Granite Belt. There definitely is lots of places to visit and I have to agree the scenery is spectacular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018

Fabulous day out, attention to detail from John and Vanessa, looked after us from start till finish. So friendly, we felt right at home. Big recommendation to anyone who might be looking for a fun day out with a little exercise:)

1  Thank shellpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa B, Owner at Granite Belt Bicycle Tours & Hire, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Thanks Shell, we really enjoyed showing you around the Granite Belt on our Castles, Cafes & Cabernet tour on Sunday. Hope you enjoyed your hamper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2018

Six of us rented bikes for a self-guided tour of this stunning countryside. We booked ahead and the Specialized bikes were delivered to our accommodation, all good quality and in good condition, together with helmets, panniers, pumps and locks as requested. John and Vanessa took time explaining possible routes, gradients and places to stop en route. We were given a map, but followed the Bike Trail, which was well marked. After plenty of gentle inclines and downhill stretches, we made it to Ballandean for a delicious late lunch in the Barrelroom restaurant, at Ballandean Estate Winery. One of us cycled home via a different route, the rest opted to be collected after sampling wines at the cellar door. One phone call and John arrived with the van and trailer a half hour later, which he loaded carefully. Every effort was made to ensure we had a fun and trouble free day out. Some of the wineries were closed on Monday so we were happy to have taken lots of water, a couple of us purchased John & Vanessa's own branded bottles which fit the holder perfectly. Thanks to you both for being so personable and helpful, we highly recommend your excellent customer service!

1  Thank SanctuarySeeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa B, Owner at Granite Belt Bicycle Tours & Hire, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Thank you for your review. It is very much appreciated. We are glad that you had a fun and trouble free day cycling around the Granite Belt. Hope to see you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2018 via mobile

Jon and Vanessa were absolutely fantastic. We had full-day bike hire with a lunch hamper. Jon dropped off the bikes at our accommodation and picked us up when we were done. He also went to all of the wineries we had visited and grabbed our purchases so we didn't have to cycle with our bottles! The service was friendly, responsive, and efficient. The hamper was also great and much enjoyed half way through our day! One thing we would recommend for less experienced cyclists is beginning the tour at Mountain view winery and cycling (mostly downhill) to Balandean to avoid a lot of hills and more sparsely spaced wineries. All in all a fantastic way to see the area and visit some wineries! We'll be back!

Thank Maddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa B, Owner at Granite Belt Bicycle Tours & Hire, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thanks for the review Maddie. Maddie's recommendation is called our "Mini Bike Trail Package" and all the details are on our website. We look forward to seeing you again on the Granite Belt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granite Belt Bicycle Tours & Hire also viewed

Stanthorpe, Southern Downs Region
The Summit, Stanthorpe
 
Stanthorpe, Southern Downs Region
Stanthorpe, Southern Downs Region
 

Been to Granite Belt Bicycle Tours & Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing