We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great room, great facilities, great people.”
other travellers have booked this property
Amble Wren Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amble Wren Bedroom
Amble Wren Lounge Amble Wren Rural Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Amble Wren Bedroom
Amble Wren Lounge
Amble Wren Rural Views
Amble Wren View from Deck
Amble Wren Bathroom
Amble Fern Bedroom
Amble Fern Deck
Amble Fern Lounge / Kitchen
Amble Over Lounge
Amble Over Kitchen
Amble Over Bedroom
Amble Over Bathroom
Amble Over Entrance and Garden
Amble Over Balcony View
Local Produce
Tea and Coffee
Wineries
Relaxing Stay
Nightcap
Rest and Relaxation
Amble INN (Mt Barker) Lounge
Amble INN (Mt Barker) Bedroom
Amble INN (Mt Barker) Bathroom
Amble INN (Mt Barker) Exterior
Amble Over Interior Entrance
Amble Over Kitchenette and Dining
Amble Over Lounge and Dining
Amble Over Rural Views
Amble Over Bedroom with Views
Amble Fern Entrance
Amble Fern Outdoor Area
Amble Fern Dinning
Amble Fern Kitchenette
Amble Wren Kitchenette
Amble Wren Bedroom with Views
Amble Wren Garden Views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills, Greater Adelaide, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeff A
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great room, great facilities, great people.”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Only stayed one night, but what a comfortable, welcoming accommodation. We stayed in the two bed accommodation. Very spacious and inviting. Separate toilet and bathroom. the bathroom had a spa and separate shower. The living area had a mini kitchenette and ample supplies (Biscuits, tea, coffee, milk, cereals, fresh loaf of bread, jams & marmalade). A large TV and DVD player. Lots of magazines (Current) to read. Very comfortable king beds in both rooms. We were also fortunate enough to take a tour with Roger (One of the owners) to Mclaren Vale wine region to sample some beautiful wine, beer and a fabulous lunch. Would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location and facilities
Liked least: We didn't stay there longer
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S G
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location, lovely provisions, good for extended family”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at the Amble Inn and Amble Fern.

This was a good choice for three couples with children and the grandparents (total: 10 adults, 2 tweens, 2 toddlers). We could have some space but all be close to each other.

I stayed at the Amble Inn. The building is quaint and in keeping with the mood of Hahndorf. The downstairs rooms are not huge, but good sized beds and squeezed portacots in also (and plenty of linen etc for the portacots which was great). Upstairs more spacious but the grandparents got that!

The breakfast provisions were tasty and abundant. Lots of local produce such as bacon, sausages, free range eggs, bread, baked beans, fresh squeezed juice, plunger coffee and even sweets and chocolates!

Some other things were a little unusual, missing some washing up items (noticeable in such a big group! but not a huge problem as there is a dishwasher), hot water a bit tricky to get right in the showers and there is only a communal laundry up at reception (and this information wasn't forthcoming so it took a bit of chasing..) . I think there were some renovations underway to have a nice deck area out the back to look out over a field with sheep & alpacas, which will be nice.

Amble's host, Roger, was very helpful, if a little omnipresent but I suppose you get that a bit with a B&B.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Roger the host
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Time out in a great location”
Reviewed December 14, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

a 3 day weekend in the Adelaide Hills based at Ambleside was the perfect location to park the car and walk/eat/drink through Hanhndorf then come home to a comfortable quiet space. Fersh and tasty breakfast supplied. A treat was to hire Roger to take us around for the day which he did at our pace and nothing was too much trouble.
Recommend to couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the site in the garden was private with own verandah and BBQ
Liked least: decor could be updated but was well co-ordinated
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLD81
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts, great location, nice cottage!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Cannot praise Roger enough for his wonderful care and assistance during our week long stay at the Wren Cottage. We could easily walk to the main street of Hahndorf for breakfast, lunch and dinner however Roger recommended additional spots close by and also offered to drive us there - how's that for service?!! The cottage was spotless with lot of little extras and the breakfast foodstuffs were local and yummy! We also booked Roger for touring through the region was exceptional. His knowledge of the area (and the cellar doors!) added to our enjoyment of the Adelaide Hills, McLaren Vale and Barossa. I would certainly recommend a stay here - and book a tour too!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The helpfulness of Roger and the service provided.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamcast...
cairns
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My wife and I just had three nights in "Wren Cottage" at Amble of Hahndorf, where to start. Beautiful little cottage delightfully nestled in amongst trees and shrubs of all types, the blooms of Camellias etc are abundant. We breakfasted on the porch every morning to the accompaniment of the prolific bird life present at all times. Parrots of all colours and sizes abound in the trees and come for a feed twice a day. I think Roger must spend a fortune on seed, we were invited to grab a glass of wine out back and he set up a table and chairs for us to enjoy the show, what a pleasant man he is.
The breakfast provided was ample and of good quality including bacon, sausages, tomatoes etc. there was Orange juice, fresh bread loaf just right for the morning meal. Every where you looked in the cottage there were extras that you don't normally get, including and not restricted to Port, chocolates, nuts and dried fruit nibbles. There was an array of various teas, coffees and hot chocolate drinks for you to use. I could go on but just go and have a look yourselves. You will not be disappointed with the cottage, service or the lovely town of Hahndorf.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: great bed and location
Liked least: two separate chairs instead of lounge would be better but that is just me.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed in Amble "fern" for 6 nights. The accommodation is lovely, the best of all options have been provided. The cottage is spacious and clean. The bed extra cosy and comfy. The wireless Internet was very fast and reliable. It's a short stroll into Handorf and there are plenty of eating options. This is a good base to explore the Adelaide hills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and quiet
Liked least: Walking back up the small hill, but I'm not fit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenAB49
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great accomodation and excellent location”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed at this gorgeous B and B over Christmas with 3 generations of our extended family and found it perfectly met our needs in every way. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and very well equipped with spaces for gatherings of the whole group of 12 or for relaxing quietly and watching the amazing variety of birdlife. The breakfasts of local produce were delicious and restocked as needed. Everyone enjoyed feeding the horses in the adjacent paddock with the bag of carrots supplied. Roger could not do enough for us and gave us excellent advice and local knowledge for our excursions around the area. The quaint and historic little township was an easy walk away even for the octogenarians and a delight to visit. We highly recommend this B and B to anyone visiting this wonderful area.
Helen and Giorgio I241212

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing