We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote, Quiet and Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castelletto di Montebenichi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montebenichi
Reviewed 7 October 2017

If you aren't interested in something off the beaten path, so go back to Rome. This place was a very welcome relief coming from the bustling Rome. We highly recommend this place and wish we could have spent more time there.

The Good:
Fantastic service from Barbara, Marco and others.
Amazing breakfast options.
Beautiful property and location.
The local restaurant was very good.
The owner is wonderful and runs an amazing and welcoming operation.
They really do try and make it feel like home.

Thing to be aware of:
Slightly remote for those that get nervous about being off the beaten path.
If the local restaurant is closed, you will have to drive elsewhere for dinner.

Book a room ASAP, not sure how long they intend to host guests. Make sure you have arranged tours and transportation beforehand, and consider dinner plans.

Thank you Marco and Barbara for a wonderful time. We are so glad to have been your guests. We wish you the best and hope to be back again someday!

Ben and Stephanie

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AdventureMan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 7 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

This place perfectly captures the beauty and tranquility of Tuscany. The rooms, the buildings, the surroundings, the hosts were all so wonderful and peaceful that our short stay here felt like it's own vacation from the chaos of Venice and Florence. The pictures don't do it justice. We could tell that some of the other guests have been coming back here for years and after our stay we definitely plan to do the same.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank B1time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for just one night I wished we'd stayed for more. Marco the owner greeted us and personally showed us to our room 201 which was located in a seperate building 10m from the front door of the castle. The room was awesome with the bed in a loft, room was roomy bathroom was brilliant although the shower was small which is typical for Italy. The minibar was stocked with soda, water and food all complimentary. The pool is a 100m walk around the village and is absolutely divine. Large well maintained grounds with views of the beautiful Tuscan countryside. We stayed there for hours relaxing. There is only one restaurant in the village and reservations ARE ESSENTIAL which we didn't realise or weren't told. Luckily Marco made a phone call for us and they squeezed us in (to our amazement the inside of the restaurant was empty when we arrived just the outside area was full.....that's Italy!). Breakfast was superb and Marco spent a good 30mins just chatting casually to us about the history of the castle the area and the Palio which we were going to Siena that day to attend. 5stars Marco thank you. It's a little out of the way to get there you must have your own vehicle but that's part of the mystery and adventure of the place, loved the tight streets and tiny village. If you want a normal hotel don't go here this place is for people who appreciate something unique and to discover hidden gems in the Tuscan countryside. Be quick as this is the last season Marco will be offering as a hotel it's changing next year to weekly apartment type rentals.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Darren776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

i am travelling for so many years and visited so many places but I never wrote a single review. I read reviews but never wrote a single one. With Castelleto di Montebenichi I found myself obliged rather privileged to write a review of a great stay in a great place with great people.
Marco, the owner , a medical doctor by profession, looks personally after every detail. He makes sure, even when we start the day at breakfast that all is well and that we have everything we need. I stayed with my wife Sally for almost a week and I wish I had the time to stay more. the hotel is in a small, a very small village; you will have trouble driving your car through its small roads, the parking is sometimes a problem; but the warmth of the place, the originality of the small castel, the drawings and paintings on and at the walls, the artefacts scattered all over, the amazing mixture of colours and above all the warmth of the place and the people responsible makes the whole difference. The bar where you will be the bar tender and the drinker at the same time, the small "Bose" CD player with some of the best classical and Italian music, the next door "salon" with its marvellous red coloured couches and old wooden side tables with magnificent stable lamps add to the finess of the place.
Barbara helps in addressing all our needs, she does "cooking Lessons" and make "wine tasting tours" ; Laura prepares breakfast and , despite her very weak english, understands what we want even before we say it.
The pool which is a walk from the hotel is so beautiful, so serene, so well organised and well kept which makes few hours sun bating in the hot Tuscany sun an unforgettable experience.
The rooms are comfy and nice and the beds are even nicer.
one measure of satisfaction is when you are really eager to go back to the hotel after a long day of sight seeing and "touristing",
and there is Karen, the neighbour, the american great lady who lives part of the year in Italy. She, and her dog "Fiocco" add the american zest and freshness to the place with her lively presence in the same piazza of the hotel. (Piazza Gorizia)
we had great time at Castelleto di Montebenichi that we really advise all visitors to Tuscany to experience the same and enjoy.

Room Tip: there is a great suite in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jndagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Hope you're not hungry at this lost highway resort because the neighboring town is about a hundred miles away in pitch darkness. If you're unlucky enough to be at the castello when the one lonely restaurant is closed CAZZO MIA you're out of luck! The unfriendly proprietor kindly provided a few overripe bananas and mealy apples when we finally found our exasperated way back in the darkness without road lights and when we checked out were charged twenty five bucks! Oh, and forget ever seeing the parmigiano at breakfast if you showed interest the day before. May the last extant lord of the manor catch you poolside without wearing a shirt and they call the caribinierri. Sto cazzo!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank volpe_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

My wife, Ellen, and I loved our stay at the Castelleto! Our only regret was that since this was our first visit to Tuscany, we spent more time driving around to other sites than enjoying the ambiance of the Castelleto. It is very hard to describe the feel of this bed and breakfast/boutique hotel located in the very tiny hamlet (30 people?) of Montebenichi. To begin, Marco is an excellent host. He has decorated the inside of his hotel with treasures from Roman times to modern art---and it all works---almost museum like, in a good way! Breakfast is served in a wonderful room overlooking a garden. Our room was very nice and the bathroom was huge. We found the location to be quite central to areas that we wanted to visit---being from Southern California, having to drive is not unusual for us. The Castelleto is located up a hill from a quasi-main two lane road. Being on a hill, the Castelleto has views overlooking the valley, although because it is an older building that was completely remodeled, your room windows are small. To appreciate the view, you need to take your bottle of wine to the deck located on top of the building. They only serve breakfast here, but there is a restaurant literally a few paces down the hill that we enjoyed a dinner at. Also down the hill is the pool and gym facility. We did not have the time to enjoy either, but it was easy to imagine enjoying the pool, looking down the valley---the benefits of a villa without have to rent one. As a side note, one of the employees of the Castelleto, Barbara, offers an opportunity to purchase a home cooked dinner in her bungalow in the village here. We took her up on this offer, our last meal in Italy this trip, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience---the wine, outstanding pasta and Barbara's company---it was one of our best meals! We highly recommend Castelletto di Montebenichi!

Room Tip: Our room was quite nice, but can't tell you about others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaucho27511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Unlike many of the reviews that convinced us to reserve at Casteletto de Montebenichi, we were quite disappointed when we arrived there. The hotel is situated in an extremely small, nearly deserted village which is quite far from everything. There is no café, bar nor any other type of shop. The Casteletto is in great need of urgent restauration. The bathroom (in a deluxe room) was extremely small with only a telephone shower in a very small tub. The bed was not comfortable and would benefit from a box spring underneath the mattress...The quality/price ratio was unacceptable when we compare this hotel to many other similar hotels we have stayed at in Italy, especially in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Benoit d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebenichi
11.4 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
709 reviews
6.3 km away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#5 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
563 reviews
7.2 km away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
374 reviews
15 km away
Castello di Leonina Relais
22 km away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelletto di Montebenichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelletto di Montebenichi

Address: Piazza Gorizia 9, 52021 Montebenichi, Bucine, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Bucine > Montebenichi
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montebenichi
Price Range: $224 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castelletto di Montebenichi 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Castelletto di Montebenichi, a perfect spot for visiting Tuscany, located in the Chianti, half way between Siena and Arezzo. Staying at the Castelletto is a magic experience offered to a few guests only who will enjoy precious works of art, including period frescoes, archeological finds, sketches and antique paintings, drawings, sculptures, bronzes and ceramics. They will be caught up in a pleasant, unforgettable out-of-this-time atmosphere. In this ancient mansion, dating back to XII century, tradition and modern comfort are combined perfectly. Guests are encouraged to move free like in their own home in a comfortable and familar, yet elegant and exclusive environment. At a few steps in the park guests can enjoy a swimming pool, a small sauna, and a gym with a jacuzzi mini-pool along with a marvellous view over the surrounding hills and the valley. The Castelletto has no restaurant, but around the corner a wonderful "trattoria" called "L'Orciaia" offers tasty traditional Tuscan dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castelletto di Montebenichi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelletto Di Montebenichi Hotel Bucine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing