We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE /dont let new owners full you” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southgate Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Cambridge
zanesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE /dont let new owners full you”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

lobby was striped bare looked really unprofessional, hall ways had lots of places were you saw leaks, staff were unfriendly and acted like thayed rather be elsewhere, rooms were ok if you like dust, chipped paint, pealing wall paper, and could not see what kind but did see bugs all over place, to point I left .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    7
    0
    15
See reviews for
6
10
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE! REPEAT . . . DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! Back side of hotel totally dark. Exterior doors propped open with rocks. Inner hallways dark, dank, holes in carpet, stained ceilings. Rooms dirty and smelly. Big sex party going on across the hall from our rooms with loud music, screaming, etc. We were so scared, we left immediately.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luannlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

During my stay here i encountered A very rude staff. They were always low on towles when i asked for more i was told that the didnt have that many to give me extra. The carpets were stained and mold was growing through the pictures on the wall. I saw guest doing work that should have been done by the staff. Cleaning parking lots, also over heard a guest say that she had to unclogg her own sink cause there was no maintence man. I had actually took a shower and didnt have no hot water. The manager was very rude and didnt present themselves in a business way. The worst hotel i had ever been too. Guess i will be a Best Western Customer from now on.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunnidew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, IL
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Where to begin?...From the moment I walked in, I knew my friends and I were in for a treat. After our car broke down we were referred to the Ramada Cambridge Inn. After we got our cards, my roommate and I went to unlock our room only to find it was bolted shut. That was only the beginning of our Ramada adventure. A worker was even kind enough to inform us that the Fire Martial found the building to be hazardous to the patrons' safety. The ceiling tiles were out of place and you could clearly tell that mold had been festering overhead. Some rooms were strictly for people with pets, however, the rooms had obviously not been cleaned well enough because one of my family members got a severe allergic reaction- yikes! We enjoyed the nasty carpet stains, the continental breakfast (mini muffins and toast), and last but certainly not least, the game room equipped with phone books and a little tykes play set. Overall, our Ramada stay was absolutely fantastic. . . NOT!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

Arrived at the hotel and was greeted by friendly staff, offered special rate $49.95 not a bad price. Checked into a nice clean room looks just like the other hotels that charge $100 per night. Bed was soft plenty of cable channels, high speed avail in rooms. Would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondprincessTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2007

This is a run down facility. Our room air conditioner was on max and couldn't keep the room sufficiently cool, the room was musty, the wallpaper was pealing off the walls and lumpy in spots (must be rotted behind). I could go on but you get the idea.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidofparkslope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2007

Stayed 2 nights,The facilities were nice pool,lounge and restaraunt. Enjoyed the free breakfast and friendly staff. The room was dirty hair all over the bathroom door. They were in no hurry at all to clean my room. after the first night we left 8am. We went to visit relatives in the area.stopped at the hotel room at 1pm the bed was striped nothing else was done so we left again. Came back to the room I was tired ready to relax it was 4:30 pm. Went in the room still the same as it was at 1pm not cleaned no bedding no towels trash cans in middle of room ect.I was verry disapointed with the room...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeepguy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cambridge
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn Cambridge
Days Inn Cambridge
#10 of 14 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cambridge
12.3 km away
Salt Fork Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southgate Hotel

Property: Southgate Hotel
Address: 2248 Southgate Pkwy, I-70 & State RT 209 Exit 178, Cambridge, OH 43725-3038 (Formerly Cambridge Inn)
Region: United States > Ohio > Guernsey County > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southgate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southgate Hotel is locally owned. The Hotel has been extensively renovated and completely updated. Besides our comfortable rooms, we also offer meeting & banquet rooms,(which has an open door policy to caterer's), a lounge, exercise room, and an outdoor pool. We also have a nice covered patio with gas grills, table and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southgate Hotel Cambridge, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing