We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to all of the action - neat old building!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Close to all of the action - neat old building!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We booked two rooms for the weekend of January 14th watch the OSU-Michigan Hockey Game...fun day/night. The rooms were on the third floor and Room 362 was a real gem! A very large suite with two king size beds and the other room (358) was the more normal size. The only caution I would note is that these rooms are far away from the elevator and these rooms require a short walk up about 8 steps to access. The Marriott staff gave us a late (2:00 pm) checkout which we asked about when we checked in. The area is fun, close to lots of good restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: If you like an extra large one bedroom with two king beds away from most of the noise, go for Room 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    213
    60
    27
    8
See reviews for
137
166
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This was our first trip to Cleveland. It was a last minute trip for New Years/ a football game. My plan was to book a Marriott/ Ritz Carlton property, but other locations in the city were booked. This hotel has pros and cons. The pros: The hotel is in a good location. It is about a 1 mile walk to Browns Stadium and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. If you are in Cleveland for basketball or baseball it is practically across the street from these venues. The hotel is in close proximity to 4th St bars and restaurants. The rooms are large. The staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful. Price is a good value. The cons: The parking garage is small and therefore was full upon our arrival. We were directed to another lot that did not have in and out privileges. The rooms are spread out. It was a long walk( 2 elevators and some stairs) to get from the lobby to our room. This was not a problem except when dragging our luggage in and out. The rooms are fine, not fancy but overall fairly clean. My only complaint is that the towels were old and tattered.
Overall a decent value and good location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheetah72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bokeelia, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I don't get to Cleveland all too often, but when I do I like to stay at the Residence Inn Downtown. The hotel is well situated to 4th Street dining and the Q-Center. This is not a new building, so you will be treated to tall ceilings and doors, old world architecture, and charm. The drawback is the never ending hallways and the minimal application of elevators. Though the property is obviously compliant with handicap accessibility requirements, you can tell the building is not laid out as a modern hotel. But that's why I like staying there.

The staff is very friendly, the rooms clean, and very importantly the rooms are quiet. The room I had this time has a gas fireplace in it. Nice touch for the December weather. Just beware of the pan handlers around 4th Street. Best advice; ignore them and keep walking.

Room Tip: In the winter months, ask for a room with a fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This Residence Inn is unlike any I've stayed; it is more of a full service hotel than the standard "Inn" experience. My room was huge, like an apartment, though the view was not great (a roof with a chair on it.) The staff is exception and parking is easy and free. Excellent access to downtown, 4th street, and so on.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed here for 3 months this summer for work.

PROS:
Fantastic location, with the ball park, concert center right in front. I would watch the friday night fireworks show from my room!
Great restaurants around the corner (4th East street, Lola's, Greenhouse tavern etc etc)
Huge rooms
The friendliest and most helpful staff you have ever come across. I have travelled alot for work, all over the country and world and bar none these guys we're great.

CON:
The rooms are slightly dated and would need a little revamp. I think really the thing that would make a hug difference is getting rid of the carpet and putting a hardwood floor in.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room facing prospect street, then you will not have to walk all the way to th...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank bkmmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Went here with some old college pals. The room was HUGE, 2 king beds + a pull out couch was more room than we thought we'd need but it came in handy for the Halloween weekend. We were about as far as you could get from the front desk, which is a bit of a walk and certainly not handicap accessible. Be sure to request accessibility if you need it. On a hugely positive note the kitchen area came in very handy. Location is fantastic, right across from the Q and right around the corner from E 4th and W 6th. For the price/location it's a good deal. Parking isn't free for some reason, so a few negatives there.

Breakfast in the AM was standard fare, eggs/potato/cereal/waffles with the requisite beverages. Negative points here for not having bacon. Seriously, it's 2011 and a man needs his bacon in the morning. I almost gave you a 1 star review because of this. Fix it.

The front desk staff was nice and checked us in pretty quick - kudos to the housekeeping staff. We tore our room up pretty well and when we returned it was all cleaned up & tidy. Many many many thanks to the poor soul who took care of us :) This almost makes up for not having bacon.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for something near an elevator, if you don't you'll likely be a 10 min walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I've been to this hotel quite a few times. It is in a nice Downtown Cleveland location; mid-way between sporting locations, Theater, Cleveland State University, and all downtown attractions. The hotel check-in this time was exceptional. The staff was so helpful, and friendly. It really made me feel glad to be there. The hotel is large and spread out. People with mobility issues might have problems. The rooms are very large and spacious with nice amenities. The rooms are also aging and in need of a bedding upgrade, but still good. This is a great place for small groups and families traveling together. The breakfast bar this time was less than great. It was ok, but not up to par. Still a nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.4 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
0.6 km away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Address: 527 Prospect Ave E, Cleveland, OH 44115-1113
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing