We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in the OSU area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2009

I stay at this hotel few times a year for work travel - each visit I have been pleased! The rooms are comfortable and clean. The beds are comfortable - refrigerators and microwaves are in the rooms. The hotel is located near restaurants - close to campus but far enough to not be in the midst of college life and night energy - in other words, the hotel is very quiet and perfect for business. The staff is pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is served for a fee - it's good...not great, but good. Warm cookies are available each evening in the lobby and the bar is open at night. No complaints!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTParticular2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2008

My husband and I being in our 40's found the perfect location for OSU home games. Ideal for walking to the game provided there are no young children walking ( traffic is close without sidewalks) . The quality of Hilton is worth it to us and will keep out the "Party Animals". The staff is very helpful and friendly. The made to order breakfast is handled nice. No standing in long lines. You order after being seated and they bring it out. It's an additional charge but worth it. The hot tub and pool we had to ourselves after the game added a spa-like experience. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank keoweegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times in the last three months. It is a very nice hotel, very comfortable. The staff is quite helpful and pleasant. Rooms are juts right with adjustable beds, nice linens, flat screen TV and comfortable business chair and desk. Free internet is simple to hook up to. I really enjoy staying here. It is consistantly good.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank everest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

Company booked me downtown, but I opted for this brand new university area hotel. I've always been a huge fan of the HGI brand for business travel and this new location does not disappoint.

I found all of the standard HGI amenities to be in place. Two free bottles of water at check-in and free internet access. Additionally I liked that they had new HDTV's with HD signals.

The room rates were fair, and I would definitely stay again.

AC POWER: Plentiful, next to bed and at desk

BATHROOM: Very clean, very comfortable

BEDDING: Comfortable bedding, plenty of sheets, blankets

CLEANLINESS: Very clean, brand new


INTERNET: Free wifi and cat 5 connections, decent speeds, and web based printing to business center

LOBBY: Large, wecloming, includes restaurant, fireplace and plenty of seating for one-on-one impromptu meetings


PARKING: Large, well lit, free parking

STAFF: Extremely friendly and accomodating

TELEVISION: Widescreen LCD panel with Digital HDTV signals, all the local affiliates as well as ESPN HD.

WATER PRESSURE: Sufficient

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IntegrityTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

This was my second stay at a Hilton Garden Inn hotel and for the second time, I was impressed by the quality of the hotel and the level of customer service. The hotel room was quite comfortable -- excellent bed, flat screen TV with a variety of channels, free internet, free use of a business center, excellent shower pressure, great towels and good bathroom amenities. Rooms were very quiet. The room also included a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Everything appeared very well maintained.

The front desk was very efficient and eager to please. One evening, fresh cookies were put out for all to munch on.

My room rate included breakfast. The buffet can also be purchased separately for $9.95, a bargain compared to many hotels that I have stayed in recently. The breakfast included a cooked to order omlette (or eggs, pancakes, etc.), potatoes, selection of breads/bagels/pastries, juices, coffees/teas, fresh fruit, cereals, etc. The food was very good and the wait staff was eager to please.

The room rate was more than others were paying at other hotels in the area by about $30, but their rates did include breakfast for two. The hotel also provided two complementary bottles of water.

No restaurant on premises -- a negative. Plus, you will need a car to get to most places. Taxis can be called. The area does have a number of nice places to eat and Ohio State is quite close.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Often_on_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2007

Nice hotel for the business traveler. The breakfast is somewhat pricey for the selection, but was quite good. Rooms are spacious and have the usual amenities. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are around $100/night

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MidwestJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

My family and I spent 3 nights at the brand-new Hilton Garden Inn on Olentangy River Rd in Columbus, OH. Our daughter had a ceremony for the medical school and it was the perfect location - a 5-10 min drive from campus and separated from the campus busyness and parking issues. The pool and hot tub were brand-new with abundant towels, the work-out facility offered several treadmills, elipticals, etc., and the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SarahOSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
3.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
5.7 km away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#10 of 144 in Columbus
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
2.5 km away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#4 of 144 in Columbus
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Address: 3232 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1519
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#16 Family Hotel in Columbus
#20 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $160 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area hotel near Ohio State University and Jerome Schottenstein Center, home of Buckeye basketball and ice hockey. Enjoy a convenient location minutes from Short North Arts and Entertainment District, Ohio State University Hospital, and the Greater Columbus Convention Center. There are all kinds of attractions near Ohio State University. Bring the kids to experience the Electrostatic Generator at COSI, Center for Science and Industry, or visit Jungle Jack and the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium. Whether you're in Columbus, Ohio on business or to tailgate at the Buckeye's football game, we'll provide a comfortable hotel room near Ohio State University to help you feel at home. Enjoy a comfortable bed, in-room hospitality center, and a flat-screen HDTV. Appreciate features such as complimentary wired and wireless WiFi, a modern fitness center, an indoor pool and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing