We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed here on a return from overseas trip.
Good location.
Good rooms, cleand and staff is nice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSUTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2010

Came back to this hotel this year. I loved the location, and they had a pretty good rate that included breakfast. The bed is great. The room was very nice. Location is excellent for the university area. The breakfast was awesome with a very attentive wait staff who doted on the diners. Internet connect was very good. Nice flat screen TV. All in all, a nice comfortable place to return to.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quicksilver99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

No issues to report. Great location for our business plans. Staff were very friendly. If business took be back, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjharrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed here for one night. Room and hotel were clean and the staff was nice. The workout room was small but still got a god workout. I would stay at this location again. If you like HGI hotels you shoul like this one also.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rawdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I stay at the hotel every time I come to work at OSU. It is close to campus and within walking distance to several good restaurants, the best being the Mexican place in the same parking lot. The draw backs are the price, a little high, and no free breakfast or even coffee for that matter. The business center is great for the business traveler. I would not stay here if I was with my family, it is much more business oriented.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svanwass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Stayed at HGI for 3 weeks in mid July-early Aug. Overall, this is a well run property, clean, and reliable. The location is wonderful, only a few minutes to OSU and downtown Columbus. There're several dining options within walking distance from the hotel including fast food and chain restaurants. The business center is accessible 24/7 and is free of charge. There's a laundary room with a washer and dryer which I found very convenient.

Management was very welcoming from the initial call right thru check out. The young men and women who staffed the front desk were always helpful and eager to assist. I did communicate with sales (Kate) and she couldn't be more welcoming. Great customer service!

I agree with the previous reviewers, the beds weren't particularily comfortable. I must also add that the AC unit in the room is very loud and could be a problem for light sleepers.

The breakfast offered at $9 isn't really worth the money, go to Bob Evans across the parking lot for a better deal. I have to say that the hotel offered free delicious cookies almost every other day!

I would definitely recommend this property and would certainly come back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fasttrackDxB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

This is your standard Hilton Garden - well-run; clean; nice middle-of-the-road hotel; average breakfast'; reliable; cookie-cutter- relatively the same as the Courtyards and the Fairfields. It is OK but ----- One BIG difference - this one has a special type of bed that the written material claims will "conform to your body's shape and sleeping style" - (reminded me of those vibrating beds from the 1950's that you put a quarter in the slot and it vibrated for a half hour, allegedly giving you a great massage) -- the problem was all three of us had sore backs the next day and we are certain it was these beds. I have stayed in at least 10 other Hilton Garden Inns over the past year (I am a Hilton Gold member) and none of them have these beds. I hope this hotel will consider replacing them with standard beds. If that was done, I would reconsider staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerONE2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
3.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
5.7 km away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#9 of 144 in Columbus
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
2.5 km away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#4 of 144 in Columbus
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Address: 3232 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1519
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#16 Family Hotel in Columbus
#20 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $158 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area hotel near Ohio State University and Jerome Schottenstein Center, home of Buckeye basketball and ice hockey. Enjoy a convenient location minutes from Short North Arts and Entertainment District, Ohio State University Hospital, and the Greater Columbus Convention Center. There are all kinds of attractions near Ohio State University. Bring the kids to experience the Electrostatic Generator at COSI, Center for Science and Industry, or visit Jungle Jack and the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium. Whether you're in Columbus, Ohio on business or to tailgate at the Buckeye's football game, we'll provide a comfortable hotel room near Ohio State University to help you feel at home. Enjoy a comfortable bed, in-room hospitality center, and a flat-screen HDTV. Appreciate features such as complimentary wired and wireless WiFi, a modern fitness center, an indoor pool and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing