We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Peaceful stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Ranked #53 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice and Peaceful stay...”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for a few days, this hotel definitely has the standards of any 5 star hotel...the rooms were big and cozy, the price for the hotel was reasonable and the complimentary breakfast was great....there are a few fast food chains near by too and if you are looking for something different then you will be delighted to visit "Cafe Kabul" just a mile away from the hotel, this restaurant has great tasting middle eastern food...
Our over all stay at the hotel was nice and satisfactory..will definitely return and recommend this hotel to everyone planning a visit near by!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    89
    30
    11
    23
See reviews for
115
37
14
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Beautiful,Amazing,This motel is one of the best motels you have to stay at this place even if its just for fun or for business.Very nice area with tons of things to do,resturants,gifts,loved this motel

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blessed73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My friend and I drove from Toronto in mid-November to visit our childhood friend who had just moved to Columbus with her young family. Not wanting to put them out by having to host us, we opted to stay here because it is close to their home.

We found the hotel very clean overall, our room quite spacious, and the free breakfast an unexpected and welcome perk. The young lady who checked us in was very friendly and sweet, especially as we arrived just as the OSU/Penn State game was ending - quite a chaotic scene!

The most noteworthy incident, however, happened after we had checked out of the hotel. Just as we were arriving in Toronto after an 8 hour drive, I realized I had left my MacBook charger plugged into a wall socket in the hotel room. Not wanting to shell out $80 for a new one if I could avoid it, I phoned the hotel next day, and after leaving a message was put through to Connie, the Assistant Manager. After searching high and low, thinking initially that it was a lost cause, Connie was able to locate the missing charger and put it aside for my friends to pick up. She went above and beyond the call of duty, maintaining her cheerful, positive good humour throughout.

Such customer service is a rarity - and Connie is a gem! We hope to make another visit this year, and will definitely be staying it at this Holiday Inn Express!

Room Tip: Elevators can be noisy - try to get a room further down the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I don't stay in Holiday Inn hotels very often--my father booked this room for us when we were in town for a basketball game. Anyways, the hotel is very conveniently located near campus. The room was very clean, quiet, beds were reasonably comfortable (not Westin quality)--we had a room with 2 queens, also had a little kitchenette/pull out sofa area. The hotel had free wi-fi and free newspaper, as well as complimentary breakfast, which didn't start till 6:30am, which may be too late for some travelers. It wouldn't be ideal, but you could potentially walk to Value City/Horseshoe from the hotel as well. Needless to say, this hotel isn't an awesome luxury hotel, but given the price, location, and for a nights sleep, you can't go wrong. Nicer than I expected out of a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Everything was and is from my experience excellent. The rooms are large comfortable, homey, (i.e., refrigerator, microwave, sturdy paper plates) and clean. The Priority membership is a nice bonus but you pay for it the hotels rates but then it's a Holiday Inn. The rates are a little pricey; i had short night stay. The rate given was $124 but when it was all said and done the actual cost was $145--nowhere near the 116 price. Had a surgical appt. at 5a so didn't have an opportunity to have the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drmuhammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hotel has real good proximity to OSU and is in a nice neighborhood. The other H.I. Expo (my wife stayed there years ago) is in a less attractive area, but also has close proximitiy. This Olentangy location is much more appropriate if a woman is traveling alone. Other than proximity the room was clean and quiet. Everything else was typical H.I. Express - breakfast room, room layout, etc. The only minor complaint is that there was no card given with the internet access details - I had to call down for the info.

Across the street and over is a Bob Evans for those wanting a "real" breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandCec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Came to Parents and Family Weekend at OSU, and after two nights, was told to leave the hotel. Why? We complained about the maid coming into our room when our son was sleeping. Also, breakfast was supposed to end at 10:00 AM on the weekends, and they took away the food at 9:30, when clearly the book in the room said 10:00 AM on Saturday and Sundays. Thank goodness the Fairfield Inn by Marriott next door, had rooms available. Springhill Suites, also by Marriott is a beautiful place to stay, a little down the road on Olentangy. We've stayed in some of the best hotels in Orlando, Cove at Atlantis Paradise Island and Aruba, with our three kids, and were never treated like this. Don't stay here, or you may be thrown out of the hotel too. Pancakes at breakfast tasted like cardboard, eggs were gross too. Waffles at Marriott were great, go there, at least they don't take the food away earlier than stated. Lobbies are nicer and bigger too at the Marriott. Will never stay at a Holiday Inn, ever. My honest advice, you shouldn't either, especially this one.

Room Tip: Keep away from elevators, they're noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ppbny1761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.1 km away
Staybridge Suites University Area OSU
0.7 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
2.2 km away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#4 of 143 in Columbus
617 reviews
3.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Address: 3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Columbus
#24 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located right outside of downtown Columbus, in the heart of the Ohio State University! This is an upscale luxurious hotel with every amenity you can think of. We offer a free extended hot breakfast as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbus University Area - Osu
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing