We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Business Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Ranked #50 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Brookville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible Business Management”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

After working on group reservations. for daughters Middle School Science Olympiad Team for 7 mos....the Group Booking PersonS at this hotel dropped our 10 confirmed & contracted rooms two weeks out of arrival date in a city that is bursting at the seams w/competitions & tournaments.
I had a bad feeling during this whole process due to the lack of organization of my information that had to be repeated every time I called. I had a contract, confirmation #'s and had given my credit card # three different times. After our team had qualified for this state competition at OSU campus (6 wks.prior to res. date) I call hotel again to confirm our teams 10 rooms. Again asked for cr. cd # given another confirmation # and an OK from one of the group res. to get our room name list in by 2 wks. prior to arrival.
So, guess where this is going?
When I call to add an 11th room before sending guest name list in on time...2.25 wks out of arrival....YES...NO Rooms...they had been let go & hotel was now full!!!
I was told that I did not speak to the right person and so they did not have the confirmation or know I was sending a guest name list in for our 10 Reserved Rooms.
What? Holiday Inn does not have a computer or do they not have anyone that uses them to make reservations & record confirmation #'s or contracts? How has this hotel survived without the understanding of the difference between "reserving" a large # of rooms for a team & "holding" a block of rooms for possible guest to call & reserve individually?
After all this, I ask for an upper level Holiday Inn management phone #. I call and they tell me that their computers are down & I would have to take up my problem with the hotel I had a problem with......AHHHH!
Will not ever give my personal or team business to Holiday Inn in the future....especially not Holiday Inn Express OSU!

Room Tip: I would not choose to rely on getting the res. needed for group at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patsy5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear patsy5008,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. Unfortunately, your account settings do not allow us to send you a Private Message. You are welcome to reach out to our Guest Relations via email at HI-GuestRelations@ihg.com or you may send us a Private Message through TripAdvisor to IHGCare including reference to your TripAdvisor Account Name so we can follow up on your experience.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    87
    28
    10
    22
See reviews for
112
35
14
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel was fine, very clean and the service was efficient. Wi fi worked well. We didn't use the pool or workout room but they both looked very pleasant. It is nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room.

The room arrangement could be better. We booked a 2 bed "suite" which was very large. It was furnished with a sofa with coffee table plus small dining table with 2 chairs. This seating area was only separated from the beds by a short 2 foot wall, not really a separate room. But the one TV in the room was placed near the beds, far enough away that it wasn't a comfortable viewing distance to the sofa area. There is also a big comfy chair in the room, but it is all the way on the other side of the beds, not part of the sofa conversation area. so, if you want a lot of space, you'll find it here, but you can't sit together and watch TV comfortably.

Hot breakfast included biscuits, sausages, sausage gravy and sausage omelet. Maybe it was sausage day when we were there? I tasted the omelet, thinking it was disc shaped scrambled egg - it should have been labeled for these of us who don't eat pork. Yuck. There were plenty of cold items and a good pancake making machine.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jaym_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW ALBANY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had a group of 15 visitors from China stay here for just over two weeks. The Holiday Inn provided excellent shuttle service, was flexible when we needed it, kept in close touch by phone to make sure we were getting what we needed, and helped our guests arrange taxi service when they made their own non-program shopping trips.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbuspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Newer property and directly right across the street from where my husband had a conference at University Plaza Hotel. Hot breakfast was very nice, indoor pool and hot tub was clean. Room was very new, clean and quiet. We had 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa. Rooms have a coffee maker, microwave and sink with dishwasher.

Room Tip: They have a few snacks for sale but there is a Kroger very close by or bring your own. Also we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cabbageroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel because i had OSU orientation. The room was nice, hot and FREE breakfast is excellent. They offer FREE high-speed internet, and the internet quality is great. I would recommend people to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PianoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
221 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

New hotel, modern good rooms, small pool etc. The service and front desk was really great. For few more bucks we took the Jaczzi suite and it was fun.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Avi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for a few days, this hotel definitely has the standards of any 5 star hotel...the rooms were big and cozy, the price for the hotel was reasonable and the complimentary breakfast was great....there are a few fast food chains near by too and if you are looking for something different then you will be delighted to visit "Cafe Kabul" just a mile away from the hotel, this restaurant has great tasting middle eastern food...
Our over all stay at the hotel was nice and satisfactory..will definitely return and recommend this hotel to everyone planning a visit near by!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.1 km away
Staybridge Suites University Area OSU
0.7 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
2.2 km away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#2 of 143 in Columbus
602 reviews
5.3 km away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#9 of 143 in Columbus
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Address: 3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Columbus
#24 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located right outside of downtown Columbus, in the heart of the Ohio State University! This is an upscale luxurious hotel with every amenity you can think of. We offer a free extended hot breakfast as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbus University Area - Osu
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing