We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
German Village Guest House
Ranked #3 of 19 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Amazingly relaxing! When I told my boyfriend we were staying at a B&B he shuddered at the thoughts of rose bush-print duvets and lace curtains. Not here! Modern, crisp, comfortable. He's a huge fan and has already recommended to others. Also, dreamy beds. We plan on writing the owner to get the make and model.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERHODES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

GV guest house has a nice common area with a gas fireplace, cozy couches and lengthy dining table for breakfast. The selection of food is also good with fresh cookies available for an evening snack and plenty of juice and water in the fridge. The room itself was nicely appointed with a comfortable bed and spacious tiled bath. Ideally the TV could have been bigger and the tree out front would not have splattered the car with gummy droppings that were difficult to clean.

Room Tip: the bath in Room 1 is apparently the most spacious. It is also the only room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Better than ANY hotel I have ever stayed at - even the Columbus Hilton. Clean; beautifully decorated; quiet; private; luxurious accommodations! Best overnight experience I ever had - I felt like I was staying at the private house of a best friend. I will definately come back AND tell everyone I know to book a night or weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night to celebrate our anniversary. It is a charming Bed and Breakfast. Very quiet room with comfortable bed. Continental breakfast waiting for you in the kitchen the next morning. We think this is the best kept secret in Columbus, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenBuckeye57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

besides totally relaxing, the german village guest house is such a convenient place from which to launch your columbus visit. Since it is located right in one of the city's main tourist attractions, one can grab a map of German village and spend a day walking the area and enjoying the many restaurants, coffee shops land specialty shops in the area. The free parking - in a quite safe area - (my daughter lives nearby) and ability to use your vehicle without negotiating a parking garage or valet assistant, makes the cost of the room more affordable. There is even a Giant Eagle grocery store nearby if you wish to put together a lunch or picnic which you could enjoy at the new city park on West Whittier St.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maschisoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Such a nice place to stay. We enjoyed the balcony and the guest house throughly. Secretly we three getaway moms wanted to stay MUCH longer. This B and B didn't miss a thing. No better place to stay in my opinion!
Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyndieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband & I drove to Columbus, OH, for a quick getaway & spent the night of Sept. 3rd at the German Village Guest House. I'd done my homework & read several reviews of this place, so I had high expectations. From the moment we walked through the front door, we felt welcomed. The common areas & our room were beautifully decorated. Jazz played softly on a CD player. A tray with a pitcher of iced tea & glasses, & cupcakes in a covered glass holder waited on the kitchen counter, along with any number of snacks in a generously sized basket. We also could have made coffee or hot tea, & there was fruit available in a bowl on the dining table. We had Room #1 on the first floor, which contained a queen bed, flat screen TV on a dresser, table on each side of the bed, & its own bathroom. Given the ample shower with tiled floor & stone-tiled walls & bench, plus adjustable showerhead with great water pressure, the bathroom had a spa feel to it. Oh, & the whole place was immaculate! We'd already eaten supper, so we unpacked, helped ourselves to iced tea, & explored the lovely garden & sitting areas out back. There's a fireplace outside for cool evenings with a couple Adirondack chairs in front of it & a separate sitting area under a pergola. It was still fairly hot & humid outside, so we relaxed in the living room (which has a wood-burning (I think) fireplace with lighting instructions displayed on the mantle). Darci, the proprietress, came in to drop off more fruit & introduced herself but didn't hover. We retired to our room to watch a very interesting video on German VIllage & then a movie my husband selected. Even though our room was at the front of the house (2 more rooms upstairs), we got a restful night's sleep. Someone brought in breakfast around 7:30 & set up everything in the kitchen. We opted to get breakfast first & had our choice of a selection of fruit (mixed berries, plums, cantaloupe, 2 kinds of grapes, plus the bananas & apples on the dining table), hard-boiled eggs, a delicious banana-nut bread, 4 types of cold cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, milk, or 4 different bottled juices. We relaxed in the room for a while before showering & packing. Checkout time was noon & we didn't feel at all pressured to leave any earlier than we did. We loved it there & wouldn't hesitate to go back!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms plus 2 suites. If you want a specific room, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saturngirl1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
3 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#92 of 145 in Columbus
203 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 145 in Columbus
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
21.8 km away
Hilton Columbus/Polaris
Hilton Columbus/Polaris
#10 of 145 in Columbus
921 reviews
1.2 km away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#58 of 145 in Columbus
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to German Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about German Village Guest House

Address: 748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206-2271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range: $225 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — German Village Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
German Village Guest House is a popular alternative to downtown Columbus hotels in an acclaimed historic neighborhood. Modern design, cleanliness and luxury details distinguish this innovative hotel. The German Village Guest House is a AAA Three-Diamond Hotel and recently achieved 'TripAdvisor Ranking #1 of B&Bs/Inns in Columbus Ohio.'Our Guest check-in and -out is automated 24/7 ~ fast, convenient and secure. Lots of unrestricted on-street parking. Fresh, delicious continental breakfast buffet, broadband wireless, cable TV, DVD player, snacks, refreshments, fresh flowers and lots more all included in rate. Enjoy a charming National Historic District neighborhood that features the best parks, restaurants, shops, galleries and pubs in the Midwest. All German Village Guest House hotel buildings are nonsmoking, with outdoor smoking areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
German Village Guest House Hotel Columbus
German Village Guest House Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing