We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stale for Doubletree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington
Ranked #37 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed 30 January 2012

They have recently refurbed the Fourth floor, however, the carpet and new paint cannot cover years of stale odor and bad upkeep.
The service has always been ok here, but the quality of Hilton property is not here.
The rooms are slightly small the beds are small and hard, the furniture is still old and worn inspire of the refurb. The TV's are old and huge. They just really haven't put effort into updating the hotel. The refurb was merrily a coverup.
The history of this property has had problems with bedbugs but I haven't heard of any cases here in quite sometime now so they have this cured.
On the plus side, this hotel is close, walking distance, to plenty of restaurants and sports bars with good food and also a movie theater.
You are about 20 to 30 mins drive to downtown and about 10 mins from the Polaris Mall.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Guest:

I would like to thank you for your kind review. We learn a great deal from our guests like yourself. We at the Doubletree by Hilton pride ourselves to improve our services.

We are improving our hotel slowly but surely. New hallway carpeting, 37" LCD TV's, elevator upgrades and more. The Food and Beverage department is working on upgrading our breakfast and dinner and hope it will be too your liking.

Once again, we thank you for being a loyal Hilton guest and we hope to see you soon at the Doubletree by Hilton.

Warm regards
Frank Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed in a double room while attending a recent weekend conference. The room was good size, and -- a huge plus! -- I could actually control the temperature in the room to my satisfaction. For some reason, the keycards to the rooms were problematic...we found ourselves often in the halls with other people, swiping the key cards 10-15 times (or more) until the green light came on and allowed entrance. Getting a new card did not solve the issue. The bathroom was really nice, with a wonderful shower! So, in a sense, this hotel meets the basic needs of a traveler nicely. Our room was clean and quiet. Yes, there was an older-style TV, but it worked fine and, for the rate we were paying, was more than satisfactory. Restaurant staff kept complaining about how they were "slammed" by our group choosing to eat there. Food (once it finally arrived) was decent. And to give credit where it is due, the restaurant "comped" one of our meals because of the long wait we endured.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Made reservations at Government Leasure rate on website, which site stated that the rate included breakfast for two. Upon arrival at hote, I was told that that rate did not include breakfast. There was lots of adjacent room noise, TV and talking.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in respect to the coupon confusion at the front desk. There have been misunderstandings concerning the government leisure rate including breakfast.

At the DoubleTree by Hilton we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. I'm so sorry you did not receive your complimentary breakfast. I will ensure that each front desk agent is properly educated on the promotions for the hotel and that it will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I was surprised at how down at heel this property was.

Does it 'check the boxes' - yes, but barely.

Wireless Internet - true Statement, however, the connection rate is so slow that it is difficult to pay a bill on line, let alone get video - spells cheap to me - they could have paid for more bandwidth.

Gym - true Statement , but, seriously, breathing chlorine fumes from the adjacent pool next to the small room that serves as 'a gym' - that stretches the hype.

Rooms are small, with very thin walls; yup, you sneeze and the person in the next room says 'bless you'.

Housekeeping. Just wear socks. For those that stay in hotels all the time, you will understand.

Television; Flat screen - no. Not even close.

Restaurant; The windowless room that serves as a restaurant is so in need of management, it is sad. Great people work there, without the resources. Breakfast is a cardiologists dream - absent of oranges, bananas and apples - there are few healthy choices.

And finally, the traffic noise - the hotel is next to a major highway - google map the site and you will see. Poor double (wish it were triple) glazing, means having a white noise a/c on.

There are many better options in the area Hyatt, Marriott, that are newer, purpose built and modern.

I would find it difficult to return to this property, based on the poor Internet connectivity, lack of healthy food and noise levels. If they were to increase their rate and move funds into improvement, that would make a difference.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PBRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review. The hotel recently upgraded the hallway carpeting, installed new LG 37" LCD Televisions and improved on the guestroom amenities. We pride ourselves on continuously improving where we can.

We thank you for your loyalty to Doubletree by Hilton and hope to see you very soon again.

Warm regards
Frank Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed at this property when I was in Columbus for a business meeting held at the hotel. It's a fairly large property with quite a bit of meeting space, and appeared to have a fairly large number of guest rooms.

Several signs indicated that the hotel is in process of renovation, but until that happens, I'd describe it as a bit threadbare and in needing of update. The hotel lobby is large, but a bit worn-looking. Everything is beige. Not particularly bad, but not particularly good.

As far as sleeping rooms go, again, fine. I'm guessing the bathroom has been updated already -- it was big and the counters and fixtures still seemed fairly new. The bed, too, was probably updated -- it had a bunch of pillows, was very comfortable, etc. But the other furniture seemed about 15 years old, and the television was still an old 25-inch CRT television.

The location is actually pretty good. Right off the I-270, and in an area with numerous chain restaurants, and a big cinema across the street. If you have to be staying at a hotel in the suburbs, it's a decent choice. I'm sure it will get better as the renovations occur over the next few months.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one on the side of the hotel away from I-270?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdxmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a week for business. Upon my late checking in my room was not ready and I was not happy. I was given a warm cookie (they do have nuts in them) and a voucher for drink at the bar. The room was much larger than exspected. There was a small frig, microwave, and sink. The bathroom was a great size and a seperate living room area with a larger screen T.V. There is also a T.V in the bedroom. I also recevied complimentary wi-fi and great resturants are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pickyeaterallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Ok, so the exterior of the hotel looks outdated, but who cares? The interior appears to have been recently updated (within the last 5 years or so) and it's very clean. I got this "3.5" star hotel through Priceline for $50 and it was TRULY a 3.5 star property (as compared to other 3.5 star Priceline hotels that were trashy).

I was traveling with my wife and 3-year old and the hotel was nice and also family-friendly. We were treated like "normal" guests despite the fact we booked on Priceline and were paying half of normal rates. Upon arrival, we were given the familiar Doubletree cookies and checked into a king bed room that was plenty spacious for the three of us.

We used the pool (nothing exceptional) and had breakfast at the hotel which as very nice. On a side note, breakfast was not included at the Priceline rate, but we were offered breakfast coupons upon check-in. Not sure if the front desk was just being really nice or if my Amex Platinum helped, but it was unexpected/much appreciated.

Overall, a FANTASTIC trip for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.4 km away
Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Worthington
0.1 km away
Sheraton Suites Columbus
Sheraton Suites Columbus
#53 of 145 in Columbus
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Columbus Worthington
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Columbus N - I-270 Worthington
0.4 km away
Courtyard Columbus Worthington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington

Address: 175 Hutchinson Ave, Columbus, OH 43235-1413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $100 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Columbus Worthington is conveniently located in the Crosswoods/Worthington area of Columbus. Offering 306 beautifully renovated guest rooms with a wide selection of amenities to enhance your experience. Full service restaurant and bar, fitness center, catering & meeting rooms (17,000 square feet). High speed internet is available in all guest rooms and is complimentary in the public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Columbus
Columbus Doubletree
Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing