We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected for a reasonable price”
Review of Super 8 Elyria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Elyria
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
“Better than expected for a reasonable price”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The one stay on our trip where we were determined to save money (after all, its for 15 hours). Not the best neighborhood, but near the highway. The rooms were clean with a lot of towels and washrags, and the free morning breakfast was very good. We recommend it for families on a budget, or cheapskates like me.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sawyer4pres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    40
    49
    37
    37
See reviews for
77
30
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mifflintown
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The staff were friendly, but this motel is long overdo for remodeling. Carpet was VERY worn and dirty. Bugs, little gnat-like things were around sink and tub. Beds weren't too bad. Cooling system was HOT or COLD, no in between. Price was rather high for condition of motel. Breakfast was okay, nothing special.

Pets had obviously been in the room and left stains behind. Also, found long brown hairs in bathroom and one bed. Only gave the "2" rating because of staff and breakfast. Room was NOT somewhere I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room you will be in BEFORE agreeing to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mngal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elyria hotels

Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Upon entering our first room we found the towels were not changed from the previous guest. The front counter staff cheerfully apologized and gave us the next room down, we moved our stuff in, and the room looked fine. When we pulled the sheets down to go to bed to our horror they had not been changed from the previous guest! There were hairs and "sleep" wrinkles on the sheets. Again I went to the front counter to complain. The lady on duty was very helpful and got us new sheets, checking them to make sure these were actually clean. After we remade the bed she came to our room to see if there was anything else she could do for us. The next morning I took a better look around the room. The coffee pot was so dirty it was unfit for human use, the carpet behind the headboard and dresser had not been vacuumed for a very long time. In fact I found of their $20.00 TV remotes behind the headboard along with beer caps. The room was so dirty we noticed our dog wouldn't even lay on the floor! The "food" served for breakfast was sub-standard even for a discount motel. My wife asked the front counter staff for a tray to carry food to our room, even after the lady wiped it, it was dirty. We've stayed in quite a few hotel/motels and can honestly say this is the first time we've gone out of our way to make a complaint. This is the last time we will stay in a "Super" 8!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamerRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here midway through a crosscountry trip from IA to CT. Had a dog and two rabbits with us, so needed a cheap, pet-friendly place to spend the night before hitting the road again first thing in the morning. Basic room wasn't too bad (get what you pay for), but blankets on bed felt damp. Glad we brought our own! Cheap rates, even cheaper with "roomsavers" travel coupons. Free wi-fi was nice. HBO but no MTV!?! nice outdoor pool and courtyard if we'd checked in earlier in evening.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

There was nothing special about the hotel, but it was clean and the staff was very helpful. This is the second year we have stayed at this hotel because of our experience in 2010. The hallways look a little rough, but the rooms are clean and they are working to improve the whole place. Very nice continental breakfast in the morning, too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Rooms and grounds were well cared for and clean.
everything worked. Breakfast was terrific. All the staff, front desk as well as the maids and grounds keepers were very helpful,kind, polite, seemed glad we were there. We had a good time and we'll come back again.

Room Tip: We had two rooms-both were excellent-
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank us_and_them_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Mold mold mold.... was a assigned a room upon arrival. Smelled musty when entering... left door open to air the room out, to no avail. Mold growth (the furry kind) was growing behind and around the nightstand and beds on the wall.... Asked for a new room... Same problems minus the mildew smell. Asked for a new room again.... no mold/mildew this time. Sheets were dirty (what looked like shoe prints), carpet was heavily stained and made us wonder ... immediately started looking for a chalk outline. None found but on our way out noticed the door of the adjacent room had been kicked in. Made us question how safe the area was. Having children with us we were definitely not willing to stick around and the front desk clerk was kind enough to issue us a refund. Stayed at the Red Roof Inn a mile up the road, and only cost an extra 10 - 15 bucks. Well worth the move!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yates_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elyria
1.6 km away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#3 of 11 in Elyria
317 reviews
1.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
8.5 km away
Days Inn Amherst
Days Inn Amherst
#1 of 2 in Amherst
326 reviews
20.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Elyria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Elyria

Property: Super 8 Elyria
Address: 910 Lorain Blvd, Rt 57 & 113, Elyria, OH 44035-2820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Elyria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Elyria 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located approximately .5 miles from Ohio Turnpike I-80 as well as Ohio I-90. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast. You can enjoy our outdoor swimming pool during the summer months. We are less than 45 minutes from downtown Cleveland and Cedar Point Amuzement Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Elyria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Elyria
Elyria Super 8
Elyria Super Eight
Super 8 Elyria Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing