We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
34
20
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
20
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brahmaputra river guest house home cooked food sitting area manager mr location is great needs improvement hot water guesthouse loudspeaker hospitality prayer city india curtains luxury temple
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 57 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018

This place had more personality, and was more memorable, than just about any other place we stayed during our 8 weeks in India. The staff were literally stumbling over themselves to make sure that we had everything we needed. As soon as you arrive, you get the feeling you're in a Wes Anderson movie. The place is quirky and interesting and dated and a bit seedy (especially the pillows--bring your own pillowcase), but the unadulterated joy and friendliness of the staff and the fascinating decor and architecture more than made up for the hard mattresses and lukewarm shower. If you're looking for luxury, stay elsewhere, but if you want a fun, quirky and uniquely Indian experience I highly recommend this place. The food is decent and the interaction with the staff is--well, you're going to have to go there and see for yourself!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajBaruah, Owner at Baruah Bhavan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Hello !

Thank you for your kind words.

We are sorry if the pillow cases and mattresses were not to your satisfaction. However, the pillowcases and the mattresses could have easily been changed if only you had requested the staff to do so. Hope that we would be able to live up to your expectations, during your next sojourn, in the not too distant future.

Best regards.

Raj Baruah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017

My wife and I stayed twice and altogether 7 nights in Baruah Bhavan in November 2017. The location is great, close to the centre, but in a quiet area with only 5 minutes walk to the Brahmaputra River. Furthermore the Assamese styled mansion has a rooftop and a nice garden. The private rooms and the sitting rooms are great as well as the tasty Assamese cuisine. Staff and management were very friendly and helpful. A perfect place to relax. We won't hesitate to use this guesthouse again.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaj p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajBaruah, Owner at Baruah Bhavan, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Thank you for your gracious comments. It is indeed very gratifying when our guests appreciate our hospitality and humble efforts in looking after their needs. It would indeed be a great pleasure if you visit us again in the near future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2017

We stayed for two nights and it was a memorable one. The room are better than in the pictures and each has a theme. Common areas are neatly done and good to hangout. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The mosque besides with the prayer in the loud speaker is not an issue for the deep sleepers. The pressure in the taps is very low. But if you can take a shower the India way with a bucket and mug, again no worries.
Over all a really nice place. Will definitely recommend.

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank Nanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajBaruah, Owner at Baruah Bhavan, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2017

Hello !

Thank you for your kind words and we hope that you visit us again.

However, regarding the prayer from the mosque nearby, unfortunately this is a very ticklish issue where religious sentiments are involved. In fact, this matter has been taken up in all major cities of India at various levels with the particular State Governments but it seems that no one is yet ready to bell the cat where the sentiments of the minority community is involved.

Regarding the pressure in the taps, please be informed that we have a dedicated "Pressure Pump", which is operated when a particular guest wants an increased water pressure, since generally the guests are quite satisfied with the normal pressure in the taps. Next time you visit us, kindly remember to request the service staff whenever you require more than the normal pressure in taps. I can assure you that there would be no reason whatsoever for you to ever have a shower at "BARUAH BHAVAN", the Indian way - with a bucket and a mug !

Best regards.

Raj Baruah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

This place is truly, truly special. The location is great, very close to the river. The rooms are clean and spacious. What I loved the most was the hospitality of the staff! Super respectful, helpful, and friendly! They made me feel at home. The food and the chai are outstanding as well!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marcela0072015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajBaruah, Owner at Baruah Bhavan, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Thank you ever so much for your kind words.

We are happy that you liked your stay at "BARUAH BHAVAN", and would be happy to host you again in the future. Your words will indeed go a long way in encouraging us in our sincere efforts for providing our guests with the best of services in times to come.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2017

Its an ancestral home! Room was clean. The best service providers. Mr. Sarkar, Hari and the staff were very helpful and respectful. I have stayed there for 5 days and I have had my best experience. The staffs are very simple and kind people. This is one of the most hospitable home stays and the most amazing on call staff, I have experienced so far in my travels. Excellent home cooked food provided. Highly recommended for people who want to stay at a modest and clean place and helpful people.

Room tip: Quiet and clean rooms.. A/c, TV and wifi available
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ManjushreeP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajBaruah, Owner at Baruah Bhavan, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Thank you Manjushree for your kind words. We always strive to provide you the best services and are indeed happy when our humble efforts are appreciated. We hope that you visit us again and assure you of our best services at all times.

Raj Baruah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews