We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out exteriors and poorly maintained, but good views of Brahmaputra”
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Hotel Bellevue
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guwahati
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Guwahati
Reviewed 13 June 2009

We just had an overnight stay plan and this was our first visit to Guwahati. We read travel reviews that this hotel is next to the Governor's house and sounded safer than others in the central shopping area.
On the way from the airport we went straight to Kamakhya temple (on the way from the airport to city) and after the visit (took about 1 hour), went to the hotel.
The exterior are worn out (see photos) and the hotel must have have been a nice property a few years back. The hotel was not busy, check-in was easy. We negotiated and got the deluxe double room at INR 2000 (inclusive of taxes). Room has windows that look over the Brahmaputra river. We could see the sunset from the window, and also from the terrace. The hotel has a big suite for INR 4000 but didnt find it worthwhile for just an overnight stay. Overall, the maintainenance is poor.
We ordered food into the room and it was well done and tasty. Service and housekeeping was prompt too. Very friendly people and the manager organised a drop to the bus stand (INR 150) for us to take a taxi to early Shillong next morning. The hotel car driver also negotiated the Shillong taxi at INR 800.
The manager mentioned that renovation was planned in this year. It would be good to check if the renovation is complete as then this hotel could return to its lost glory of the past.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2008

We came to Gauhati because I had lived here some 63 years ago during the war, when I was a child. I chose the hotel because there was a river view and I thought that it would be fairly quiet which it was. By chance it was next door to the house where we had lived.
The hotel must have been very good in its prime, but it is now somewhat jaded and needs some updating and investment. The rooms a very large and airy and some of the top rooms have a very good view of the river, but the beds are somewhat hard having a very thin mattress over the boards.
The service was very good and we were met with nothing but kindness and courtesy throughout our stay. the manager particularly went out of his way to help by arranging trips for us and helping us resolve problems.
We eat in the hotel and found the food to be good and suffered no after effects.
Gauhati is not really a place where tourists go unless they are on their way somewhere else, particularly as there are security problems. This is a such a pity because it could be a very pleasant place as it has a good location and is easily accessible.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tayjers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

The Bellevue sits atop one of Guwahati's many hills, next to the governor's palace, with breathless views of the Brahmaputra river and surrounding valleys. There is a lushness to the property, brimming with hibiscus trees, lush foliage, and a sweet little Shiva temple on the grounds that was built where a groundskeeper accidentally killed a snake. Puja is performed daily.

The owner and his family are quite friendly and worth getting to know. If you are a female traveling alone you may request the services of a trusted driver to accompany you around town to avoid potential harrassment.

Be advised that the restaurant is terrible, and the beer on offer (Sandpiper) is not great. I got food poisoning from the restaurant one night which ruined a day of my trip. Dine at the Dynasty Hotel when you can, or at any number of Chinese/Indian restaurants at Fancy Bazaar.

Laundry service is provided at request; it takes a couple of days to turn around but is very inexpensive.

The hotel is not really within walking distance of much of anything, so you'll have to pay extra for a cab to take you into town or to the Kamakhya temple. Expect to pay up to 200 rupees for a ride into town and another 250 for a ride to the top of Nilachal hill where the temple is. Cabs can be expensive in Guwahati. You can also get a ride to the ferry for the island Umananda temple.

The rooms themselves are a bit shabby, but not anywhere near the worst I've stayed in while traveling through India, and they are very large. They can be a bit damp during monsoon season, with a bit of a mildew smell, but it's not too bad. Beds are very basic/standard Indian twin frame with a firm futon-type mattress. Air conditioning is standard, but be sure that your air conditioner works before settling on the room. Request an upper floor and view of the river if you really want a pleasant stay - there's not much reason to stay here if you don't have the view, though the grounds are wonderful and relaxing; it's like a little retreat. Evenings can be spent relaxing on lawn chairs, watching the sun set over the glorious Brahmaputra and the foothills of the Himalayas.

It's advisable to pay in cash at this hotel, and settle on your rate up front and get it in writing, to avoid confusion at check-out.

Due to the hotel being next to the governor's house there are armed military guards patrolling the grounds 24/7. Guwahati can occasionally be dangerous due to guerilla/terrorist activity, but is generally quite safe most of the time, and this area is likely safer than Fancy Bazaar or near the train station, both of which are occasional targets of violent activity.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundari_kali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
0.5 km away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#2 of 63 in Guwahati
211 reviews
5.5 km away
Palacia Inn
Palacia Inn
#32 of 63 in Guwahati
10 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Atithi
Hotel Atithi
#15 of 63 in Guwahati
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Brahamputra Ashok
Hotel Brahamputra Ashok
#14 of 63 in Guwahati
137 reviews
0.9 km away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#12 of 63 in Guwahati
189 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Lilawati Grand
Hotel Lilawati Grand
#50 of 63 in Guwahati
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: Mathma Gandhi Rd., Guwahati, India
Region: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Guwahati
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Guwahati

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing