We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean place, awesome food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Suvarna Regency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hassan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Suvarna Regency
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hassan
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Clean place, awesome food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Me and my wife stayed here overnight in the 1st weekend of March '12. We had booked a deluxe room over phone on the day of our visit. Phone numbers on their official website were not correct at the time of writing this review. I got the correct phone numbers from Tripadvisor and informed the reception at the time of booking about the phone numbers. Hotel is located on the dusty Bangalore - Mangalore Highway on the left side coming from Bangalore. Outdoor lighting is not as bright at night. So, u may miss the hotel if not seen keenly at night. Car parking is beside the hotel and in their own backyard. It is a little steep but can easily accommodate 20~25 cars and is quite safe with their own appointed security manning the night. Coming to the room, we had taken a non a/c room as we had to stay only for the night. The main door of the room was tight during opening & closing. Room was spacious and very clean. Bathroom was big and clean. Some improvements that can be done in the bathroom are having a sanitary kit since all travellers wouldnt have planned these things always, a power socket for charging an electric shaver, etc. Hot water was available even after 9 AM (unlike their message about the room) probably because it was sunny. South Indian food was very very tasty and nominally priced. I recommend this for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room away with windows not facing the main road as such rooms will be noisy and dusty due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akarshbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    49
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
44
23
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our room was exceptionally clean, very modern and had running hot water (a real treat in India). The two restaurants - one veg and one non-veg - served delicious food, both of which I would highly recommend.

Hassan itself is nothing special but is an excellent base for visiting the Lonely Planet-recommended temples in Belur and Halebeedu and the monolithic statue in Sravanabelagola (sp?). Each is a 1-1.5 hour bus ride away, in different directions, so don't expect to do all three in one day. The main bus station is only about a 10 minute walk away from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are arriving after dark, ask the hotel to organise a taxi/rickshaw pick-up for you. Hassan is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlieH_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Hotel Suvarna is one of the decent hotel in hassan , It is situated on Bangalore - Mangalore Highway, just on right side while entering from mangalore side. It has Ac / Non Ac rooms, veg restaurant and another hotel "Suvarna gate" which serves drinks and non veg.

North Indian, south Indian, juices, ice creams etc are all well served and in within the budget of average traveler.

Service is little slow and waiters a little arrogant, but for good food and nice ambience a little compromise can be done.

Stayed once in there and rooms were decent.

In heart of city, near to both bus stand and railway station.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avi_hinduja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Average hotel at decent price. No frills, no views, located right on a busy street, convenient restaurant and bar in facility. Not recommended for a vacation or if you have guests you are trying to impress, but very good for a night halt if you're touring Belur and Halebid in a day and moving on. Had to ask for the second towel in a double bedroom, had to call the folks for fixing the AC a couple of times, but it had clean sheets and okay bathroom - you get the idea.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arigho57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Rooms were clean. Beds very hard - India standard at this price range. A/C and fans worked well.

Staff fairly helpful with arranging car to view hoysala temples for 1100 (expensive for transportation but no entry fees to belur and halebid - worth every rupee).

Two decent restaurants in hotel. South Indian fare better tasting than north. Cold beer in non-veg restaurant.

Location ok - not much to see in town anyways.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lqdflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grinnell, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Not luxurious, but bright and clean, and the restaurant (though smoky from other patron's cigarettes) had the best tandoori chicken I've ever had. I also had some sort of Chinese noodles, which were bland and had goopy stuff (some sort of tasteless cornstarch sauce?) on top, but once I moved the goopy stuff off, the noodles were just fine and perfect for my slightly upset stomach. But the chicken was awesome. It was a good place to stay for trips to Belur and Halebid.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moontravelbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Stayed here for a night on our way to temple town Subramanya. It is a No frill budget accommodation place with all basic amenities at a very OK price. It is easy to locate and is in on the main road. They got a very basic restaurant that serves tasty food. There was renovation work happening and hence elevator was not functioning, but was OK for us since our room was in 1st floor, hope the place will get a good face lift after the renovation. Recommendable if you want to take a break for a night at reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hassan hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Raama
Hotel Raama
#3 of 21 in Hassan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Mayura International
2.3 km away
Mallige Residency
Mallige Residency
#2 of 21 in Hassan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Pavanputra Resort & Spa
Pavanputra Resort & Spa
#13 of 21 in Hassan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Sri Krishna Hassan
1.6 km away
The Ashhok Hassan
The Ashhok Hassan
#8 of 21 in Hassan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suvarna Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suvarna Regency

Property: Suvarna Regency
Address: B M Road | Bangalore - Mangalore Road, Hassan 573201, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Hassan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hassan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing