We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Byke Heritage - Matheran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

We went to matheran to celebrate my Birthday.
It was a nice stay. The food was very good.
We faced some problems with the AC. The staff changed our room. In the other room the geyser was not functioning properly.
But we managed.
The disco is cool. They play good music.
Overall an OK experience

  • Liked — The ambience
  • Disliked — The service and quality of room
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoy_travel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    89
    49
    15
    20
See reviews for
99
60
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

Nice ambience, Serine place, good vegetarian food. If u wish for a beautiful scene from your window, Byke is not the place. The place is good, gives u a feel if heritage all though the original place is not allowed to visitors. The visitors have a pool, discothique, spa, badminton court and nice see-saw.
The food is exellent and the people go out of the way to surve you. The rooms are ok. It has a nice varenda for the people to roam around. A bit away from the market place. Over all the experience is good. I liked the place and would be back again.

  • Liked — The silence
  • Disliked — Expected a scenic view
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiseAmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

The Byke is a nice retreat in the hill town of Matheran. We stayed in the duplex cottages in the hotel.
Although the hotel advertises itself as being the oldest bungalow in Matheran, guests are not allowed to stay within the heritage property/ or even visit it. Rooms and cottages have been built around the heritage bungalow and have all the modern amenities.
Hotel also has a swimming pool, but the pool was not operational in winter. The food left a lot to be desired, and no doubt was the weakest part of the offering.
Best part of the hotel was the privacy it offered.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thereischaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

The following to say about Byke:
Booking Process:
No hassles booking process wherein their Mumbai representative came to my office and collected my check and confirmed my booking. The remaining amount was paid at the hotel desk using credit card (no extra charges)

Hotel facilities and ambience:
Excellent ambience and great facilities for fun and play. Especially with kids, the kiddie swimming pool & rain dance was a big hit. They also loved the juggler and puppet show organized by the resort as part of evening entertainment.
For adults, it has a discotheque though we didnt use it.

Food:
I would say food was one of my few concern. Not that it was bad, but that they serve only vegetarian food was a bit of a problem, especially since it is included in the overall package.

Location:
The hotel is farthest from Dasturi (Matheran's entry point). Which makes it a bit expensive for horse rides.

Overall: I would rate it 4/5 and definitely a great place to stay and recommend it to others for quick break from Mumbai's hustle bustle.

  • Liked — Facilities and ambience
  • Disliked — Food because it was only vegetarian
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabhade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

We had seen some positive reviews about the Byke and decided to take a chance. It was a weekend and with no prior bookings we landed up at the byke hoping for an experience similar to what we had read on this site. We got a deluxe luxury cottage with a swimming pool view - we had seen three types of rooms and this seemed to be decent as compared to the rest. While negotiating for the room the manager told us that the check in was at 11 am and the check out was at 9 am! we had reached the hotel at 1 pm and requested him to let us stay atleast 24 hours, he was not agreeable on the same. Matheran is best visited in the early mornings and evenings, the time from 10 to 4 is unbearably hot at this time of the year. So a 9 am check out meant we would have to lug our bags everywhere. We decided that we would pay for half day over and above the one night stay which was anyways steep! otherwise there was no point of staying even for the night. We went to our deluxe luxury cottage and when we opened the bathroom we had an army of cockroaches giving us a warm welcome. Every time you lifted the seat of the toilet there would be cockroaches emerging out of it. The AC had no regulator, so it ran on one temperature. The beds were lumpy and the towels smelled like damp shoes. the food is served in the common area at fixed times and all three meals are included in the cost. But we felt that the spread of the meal was not good, breakfast had no fruits, no juices, only one vegetarian hot dish and toast! the lunch was extremely spicy - thali style and the dinner was average. The pool had not been cleaned since many days and there were monkeys swimming in the pool ! So we chose to be outside the hotel as much as possible. The next day being a sunday, we thought that most people would be leaving by 9 and after eating breakfast we settled down in our balcony to read - no sooner had we done that , suddenly loud regional music started playing in an area kept for rain dance right outside our room, apparently this was a routine sunday activity for hotel guests. To add to this noise, hotel guests started dancing to the tunes and to make it worse gathered an audience who choose to come to our balcony and stand from there and watch the whole show! talk about privacy - we had none of it - we had paid for half day more and couldnt even enjoy it. I think that Usha Ascot the hotel next door would have been a better choice for us as we had stayed there on many occassions and found it to be worthy. But since we had not booked earlier , we were left with no choice.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sampoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Matheran hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
16.3 km away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#152 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
25.7 km away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
15.4 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
The Orchard Resort
The Orchard Resort
#13 of 67 in Lonavala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
26.4 km away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
37.5 km away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byke Heritage - Matheran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byke Heritage - Matheran

Property: The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Address: M.G Road | District - Raigad, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byke Heritage - Matheran 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byke is Matheran's first dwelling place. Built in 1854 by the discoverer of Matheran, Hugh Malet, then Collector of Thane , it is a heritage building that still stands majestically in all its pristine glory, personifying a heritage unparalleled, surrounded by the inheritance of 7 sprawling acres. In this wooded estate the first luxury Resort of Matheran, The Byke- A Hotel Retreat, has been blended with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Byke Heritage - Matheran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byke Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing