We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
46
113
59
20
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
113
59
20
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rain dance live music swimming pool huge area in house pleasant stay delicious food hill station maintained rooms pure veg every evening breakfast and dinner toy train visited matheran awesome place magic show non veg
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 268 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Good hotel to stay. Heritage property, spacious well maintained rooms. Nice food. Courteous staff. The hotel is amist nature. Hotel offers free wifi.
But lot of monkeys. But monkeys are by virtue of dense nature. They do not harm. Do not keep your riom open to avoid them enter tour room.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank shashi2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byke M, Guest Relations Manager at The Byke Heritage - Matheran, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear Mr. Shashi,

At the outset please accept our apologies for the delay in reply.

We thank you for taking out time to write a review for us. We are happy to know that you loved the overall experience at our hotel.

We look forward to serve you again very soon. Do let us know about your next visit and we shall look forward to host you with the same enthusiasm that your experienced.

Also, please visit our hotels in Goa, Manali, Jaipur, Thane, Udaipur, Shimla, Kovalam, Bengaluru and Upcoming at Borivali for the same hospitality you experienced at Matheran.


Regards,

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018

this hotel is appx 1 km from matheran station. there are no near by shops or hotels so you have to equip every thing u need before check in.
this is a great property but it is in great vein. u can see all broken toy games near the reception area showing the mess of garbage.
the room i booked was pool facing room and paid Rs. 1000 extra for this room booking for every day. however out of 4 rooms 3 were having rain water leakage, rats, and other issue. after review other rooms they are happy to shift to other rooms which are normal rooms but if u ask a better room they will ask you more money , inspite the hotel on that day was having more than 50 percent of rooms vacant.
this means no respect or decency for own faults by hotel staff. i paid more than rs 5000 for one in this hotel for pool facing room but rooms were having issues, here i am unable to understand that if your rooms are not to the mark why are you selling them , and the fact is u go to a decent hotel and u find rooms are having issues immediately hotel management upgrades you to a better room this applies from basic hotels to taj group.
The staff in reception is never trained and are inefficient. there is a staff named as akshay, who carelesslyl given the key of all rooms except the better room out of four, after a argument with him and support of house keeping stafff the better room the number is 101 is finally checked in.
This staff was very well knowing about the rain leakage in room positions but is busy in his routine office work and there was no decent person in hotel who came to resolve the issue. unprofessionalsand wrong peple in hotel industry.
this is the costliest hotel but lacks decency and no training to reception people and the manager, who are list bothered about clients and customers. they were working like old style government babus and thinks nothing about customers service and respect for the hard earned money. on and above this akshay tell that u should contact make my trip for your issues.

u really feel cheated and lonely when things happen like this and hotel staff acts unprofessional.

the another big problem is MONKEYS all around as soon as u open the door a group of 10 to 20 monkeys jump in varandah and try to move inside the rooms for food. taking a fight with them will take you to hospital. they move around to entire open space including swimming pools and they internally fight creating a havoc.

Due to monkey tortures, this all makes u a hotel stay in a room jail. this place is very bad for small childrens if u have. risky????
we were lucky to stay only one night stay.

however hotel managemnet should cover all the varandahs with jali so people can sit out side room and take the cool and comfortable environment without monkey fear , this may make the heritage stay comfortable next time.

Removing staff like akshay who are careless and serviceless will further improve hotels image.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Relax611458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byke M, Guest Relations Manager at The Byke Heritage - Matheran, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear Mr. Uss S,

Thank you for taking out time to write a review for us. At the same time, allow us to apologize for all the inconvenience you had to face at our hotel.

Certain concerns mentioned by you have been forwarded to the respective department Heads to take the necessary action so that we do not face a similar situation in the future. However, there are certain concerns which are beyond our control (handling the monkey issue).

Please do visit us again and we guarantee, you will not regret visiting us again.


Regards,

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a night, the hotel is a heritage property but as with heritage properties if they aren’t maintained well they become horrible, and that’s what the hotel is like. Stinking rooms, dirty old style washrooms, cow webs all over and stained furniture. Overall a very poor and bad property. Monkeys also cause mayhem all day long.
Best avoided.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank manikdhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byke M, Guest Relations Manager at The Byke Heritage - Matheran, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear Mr. Dhir,

Thank you for taking out time to write a review for us. At the same time, allow us to apologize for all the inconvenience you had to face at our hotel.

We have forwarded your concerns to the respective department Heads to take the necessary action so that we do not face a similar situation in the future.

Please do visit us again and we guarantee, you will not regret visiting us again.


Regards,

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

We booked executive room because it looked fresh in the photos, but when we arrived they already gave all executive rooms to some other customers, instead the people at reception said they are giving us an upgrade to suite. The suite was disgusting, old,stinking and filthy. It had seepage everywhere and when we complained they gave us option of other ordinary rooms, one was under maintenance and other was highly stinking. This was their horrible and cunning strategy where we could not argue with them any further and had to settle with this horrific room. The people at reception are neither courteous nor apologetic. Other staff is good. The bedding is so damp, it did not seem that it was even washed. Everything is poorly maintained, we could not even get nice sleep because of the seepage stink. The fan is noisy and AC does not cool. The place is not even Rs 500 for a night. Felt like having bath with dettol after this stay!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rutuja88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byke M, Guest Relations Manager at The Byke Heritage - Matheran, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear Ms. Rutuja88,

Thank you for taking out time to write a review for us. At the same time, allow us to apologize for all the inconvenience you had to face at our hotel.

We have forwarded your concerns to the respective department Heads to take the necessary action so that we do not face a similar situation in the future.

Please do visit us again and we guarantee, you will not regret visiting us again.


Regards,

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Our stay here was very comfortable with a good room and a good view.There were many swings and amenities like a swimming pool with slide and a library.you could also play snooker.There was also a very good massage centre.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank MeghaS545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byke M, Guest Relations Manager at The Byke Heritage - Matheran, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear Ms. Megha,

At the outset please accept our apologies for the delay in reply.

We thank you for taking out time to write a review for us. We are happy to know that you loved the overall experience at our hotel.

We look forward to serve you again very soon. Do let us know about your next visit and we shall look forward to host you with the same enthusiasm that your experienced.

Also, please visit our hotels in Goa, Manali, Jaipur, Thane, Udaipur, Shimla, Kovalam, Bengaluru and Upcoming at Borivali for the same hospitality you experienced at Matheran.


Regards,

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews