We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typifies the business in Matheran - overpriced, unavoidable and without real quality”
Review of Hotel Kumar Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Typifies the business in Matheran - overpriced, unavoidable and without real quality”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed at Hotel Kumar Plaza, Matheran for four days. And I must say that the experience was not the best of the worlds.

The room given to us was booked through a special quota for the employees of a well-known insurance company. That would mean that the hotel would have to give a 25 to 30% discount to the company. The normal rent would amount to approximately Rs 4000 per night for a double room. Yet, even with the reduced rates, the experience was below expectation.

The location of the hotel is near the station, and therefore convenient. Given that we had only one employee amongst us, we were entitled only to a single room (instead of two rooms as apparent from the earlier communication), where 5 adults and 1 child had to be squeezed in. Anything more would need extra charge of Rs 4000 per day per room.

The rooms were small even from a double occupancy point-of-view. Speaking of the point-of-view, the only view available from the large window was that of the facing wall, about 2 feet from the window. The passage was heavily infested by langurs and cats and other fauna, so opening it for a bit of 'unpolluted fresh air' of Matheran, was out of question.

Speaking of furniture and storage, there was a bed, a foldable sofa+bed, a plastic chair and old dressing table. There were no closed cabinets (except a couple of small drawers) to keep clothes or valuables.

The bathroom was horribly lit. The only source of light was a feeble CFL located just above the wash-basin and it could barely illuminate the 6 x 6 bath + WC.

The room in general was unclean and was infested with roaches, which we eventually started ignoring as days passed.

The service for room and toilet cleaning as well as for setting the bed had to be called each and every time. They never appeared on their own.

The food was overpriced, yet not entirely unsavoury, and the dining area appeared to be acceptable.

Matheran is one of those rare places in India where polluting vehicles have been banned. But that also has resulted in everything being overpriced. Everyone seems to be bothered about it, but yet the place is full of people on long weekends and travel seasons.

A place like Kumar Plaza also seems to represent the spirit of business in Matheran - overpriced, unavoidable and without real quality.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niranjanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    108
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
142
86
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2011

we went during the sumer vacation and stayed for 3 days in a suite. The overall ambience of the hotel is good but the rooms are not great. The bedsheets are not cleaned often and the bathrooms are always wet . Lots of monkey around and don't leave the window open ... all your belongings will be stolen by the monkeys. food is good and reasonable,

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantoshTiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and 3 days. This property is located very much in the middle of the main road. Its about 1/2 kms away from the railway station. Its a nice place to stay in Matheran. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. This hotel has a 30+ rooms, swimming pool, restaurant, dining hall and a discotheque. The rates in Matheran for most of the hotels can be inclusive of all meals (morning tea + biscuits, breakfast, lunch, evening tea + biscuits, dinner with desert). All the meals served in this hotel were extremely tasty and satisfying. All the meals are served as a buffet in the dining hall. We reached here on friday afternoon and since the number of guests were less on friday they served us meals from the ala-carte menu card.
The swimming pool is decently big and has got a slide, also there is a smaller pool for kids. The rooms are clean but not too clean. But since most of the hotels in Matheran are a bit old, most of them have a very similar feel. The toilets are also not one of the cleanest, but you can manage with it.
The property has also got a spa and a steam bath, did not try that though but it was operational.
The room service is good and are ready to help any time.
Checkout time was 9.00 AM and can be extended till around 10.00 AM.
Overall a nice place to stay and relaxx. Food was awesome and this hotel is certainly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaibhavRatnaparkhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The hotel was a big let down as it was not worth.The food was overcharged and the swimmimg pool was too small.The room service was never attending on time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMANRobust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai-india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I travelled to matheran & stayed at Hotel Kumar Plaza in the month of May 2010 with my famil.
overall experience with hotel was really good. i would prefer to stay there again in future
It is best hotel in its class,quite place ,near matheran station & market area,good rooms,good food, nice staff. my stay was enjoyable.
only few bad things to share..though rooms are good & clean ,dont expect them as beautiful as shown in hotels website ,swimming pool is small in size,
otherwise beautiful place to stay...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sumit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Matheran: Hotel Kumar Plaza - Entertainment Plaza
Date:14/02/2010
We booked this hotel for our weekend stay in Matheran as per suggested by TripAdvisior and it is really a best one in Matheran.

We had stay many hotel in Matheran, but Kumar Plaza is really a nice one, entertainer and really a Gem for Matheran. Price is also reasonable and Rooms are very nice & clean. Staff is also very co-operative in all manners.

We received High Quality service over there. There is a lots of indore games and hotel having a big swimming pool.

Food Quality is very nice.Quantity is also unlimited. We had really a spend week time overthere without any trouble or complaints.

I belive that every one has to stay in Kumar Plaza with Comfort and Joy.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovelystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The hotel rooms are good. I prefer this hotel for newly married people who need privacy and luxury both. They have swiming pool for kids and Dance floor as well. The hotel is near to market and station. The only drawback is that the rooms do not have nice outside views so prefer to keep windows shut :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.9 km away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.2 km away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
15.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#233 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
15.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
0.8 km away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumar Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumar Plaza

Property: Hotel Kumar Plaza
Address: Plot No. 149, M.G. Road | Opp.Telephone Exchange; Dist. Raigad- Pin, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kumar Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kumar Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing