We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
259
199
40
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
199
40
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental dinner charlotte lake neemrana group neemrana property old world charm long table period furniture huge dining table coffee table books board games candle light dinner the ground floor british era first floor toy train read a book horse ride
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 509 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

I'll start with the conclusion so you can avoid the long ranting : No value for money if you are putting hard earned money.

For a 2 day stay here, my out of pocket cost was about Rs 20,000 while the I had various issues. I wouldn't want lack of facilities when I am the one paying so much of hard earned money.

Now below I will list issues only with the hotel, you may check my other review of Matheran trip for other issues I faced.

1. Location: place is almost on the other end of entry point. Horseman may claim as almost 6 km. By horse at walking speed we reached in 35 mins. Can horseman be walking with our horse at 10 km per hour speed ? Anyways he charged us 1400 for 2 horses along with a porter for luggage costing 400. Reason: hotel does not provide these services.

2. Rooms: When we arrived, we were given room called Kapadia which was behind the kitchen. It had two rooms each with its bed and separate bathroom. So it was kind of a residence. To us it appeared like a servant quarter. Probably servant working in kitchen lived there during British periods. We felt it was very secluded for i had a kid too and hence asked for room on front side where varandah is there so my kid will have open space to run and we can oversee. Even though the whole hotel was empty, we were given only first room at entry, as option. This one was small and damp but we agreed since we were family and did not want to be in backyard.

3. Room ambience : everything looked old and vintage. Some people make like that but I being from middle class don't want to spend on old furniture that is shaky and repaired. Management is saving money on maintenance but charging customer premiums on old stuff. Only ceramic basins, bathroom fittings and electronic locker seemed like from today's era. The good thing is they do proper dusting daily. Electric switches were old, felt some need to change. Lighting effects were nice to suit the heritage feel.

4. Food price: they had a small menu of 2 pages, where everything looked like above Rs.300 . A simple cheese toast sandwich 300, cup of tea 50. And so on. One can surely go to market for cheaper food but that's 15 mins walk on the rubble filled roads. No family thing to venture in dark night.

5. Entertainment: they had indoor games, most of them were rugged. Colour book for kids was torn and already filled. Several sets of scrabble were mixed with missing alphabets . Books were old and several in bad shape. Overall No TV and no internet. For mobile network can't hold hotel accountable. There was a tree house that was broken so we could not enjoy that. Garden was green but filled with stones so difficult to stroll.

6. Lighting : At night around 9, they switch off all premises light. Complete darkness. Fright to step out of room. Even no lights outside on road. The path outside can get so dark, going to any nearby viewpoint would be seriously challenging.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Noveen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018

We had been here for a week 2010, when it was still under Neemrana. The loveliest place, completely solar-electricity based, eco-friendly in every sense with small little thoughtful note for guests, lovely vintage furniture and furnishing and the most amazing hospitality. We loved the breakfast at the tree house, strolling under the canopy of trees, hearing the sunrise through the chirping of at least a thousand birds. We loved the most amazing royal multi course dinner in real silverware with the stories of the cuisines and how it came to be. The place and ambience was dreamy and the memories still fresh. I hope the new owners have kept the legacy alive. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: November 2017
1  Thank Kusum_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Was a hasty last-minute plan for us to book a stay here and hop on to a cab to reach Matheran. And we could not have taken a better getaway decision!

The property is far away from the market area and well hidden from the crowd.....lush green surroundings, in a stylish quaint setting, it was love at first sight for us.

The staff was supremely courteous and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. The rooms were huge and had a lovely old-world charm to it. While the choice of food available was limited, the fare was delicious.

Charlotte Lake is just a couple of minutes of walk away and there is ample space to just roam about in the wilderness aimlessly. Perfect destination for those who want to switch off from their mundane lives and spend a couple of days in the lap of mother nature

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank writtikam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with family including a one year old baby.

Location - away from central Mantheran, hidden in middle of nowhere and close to all tourist sites. We liked the location quite alot though it was a struggle to find it as we had no connectivity and boards weren't clear either. So, if you are planning to stay here, plan your way in advance

Rooms - spacious large rooms which are well-maintained and clean. The rooms and amenities felt over-priced but considering the location and service, it was definitely a good place to stay. We had to request for water heating kettles as they were not there in the room.

Food - we went for Indian options only, they were delicious and quantity was good

Entertainment - they don't have TV and there was no net connectivity either so, we requested for games and had a family Monopoly evening

Service - it was one of the best I have seen so far. The team was always on their toes to help. They accommodated alot of our requests like preparing and serving breakfast early morning, preparing additional item for the baby, etc.

To sum it up, Dune Barr house is a beautiful place to stay for couples/ family who want to enjoy each other's company, serene nature, good food and excellent service.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PulkitV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

The 19th century home of Captain Barr has 9 stately rooms and a large drawing room with vaulted ceiling stretching to 35 feet and a dining table to seat maybe 20 people. In the monsoons out of necessity the Verandah is protected by plastic sheet that does take away some of the beauty. The bedrooms are magnificent and so are the bathrooms. Nothing is 5 star level but does echo the colonial past authentically. That said the service is definitely outstanding and the food slightly pricey but sell cooked and well served. If you are not careful the monkeys will snatch your breakfast and even sugar sachets. If you are quiet you may see some hog deer browsing in the backyard. The bed linen does get musty but I guess with it's non stop torrential rain this is inevitable. There is a library of sorts but not much if you like reading so do carry your own. The same goes for liquor.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BishwadeepB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews