We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just opposite Matheran railway station” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rangoli Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rangoli Retreat
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
190 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“Just opposite Matheran railway station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

The hotel is located band opposite the Matheran railway station in the beginning of main market area. Easy accessibility.
Room was ordinary. But the pokey little bathroom with no room to manouerve was a concern and it was quite difficult to take the bath. All the water from the bathroom used to come out in room which added to the dampness in the room. The people on the front desk were not friendly rather I say they were pretty rude. The hot water was available only couple of hours in the morning, we reached around afternoon and it was bit cold but they refused to provide even a bucket of hot water.
There are too many monkey in Matheran, hotel had put fixed iron grill at balcony for protection.
I booked online and our meals were included, food was ok.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sapnakapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    52
    36
    13
    15
See reviews for
53
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is ok but the booking procedure was passed through the worst spoken and the most rude man in Rangoli retreat, Mr. Hakim. I dont have any personal grudges for him but I imagine a senior person at his position is so bad with hospitality then what should I expect from down the line.
Book it on internet or by some other medium, dont speak to this kind of people to spoil your whole day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Solanki1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Matheran hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I visited Matheran from 28th/29th January 2011
In last 20 years I have visited at least 06 times to Matheran,

This is my second visit to Rangoli Retreat to Matheran.

I don't had any experience of coackroach etc.

Food was good.

However, Rangoli retreat don't accepts Credit Card.

Further most of the hotes in Matheran not able to accept credit card due to poor telephone connectivity & there is ony 1 ATM (UnionBank) in Matheran which is always out of cash especially on weekends.

Therefore carry sufficient money with u.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrasadGawade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

"Rangoli Retreat" is located right opposite the Matheran railway station, which could be considered a plus point. It seems that the hotel owners sit at the reception. They are very curt and business-like. Very unlike other hotels where you have friendly people at the reception.

The rooms are very cramped and dingy. Everything about the room we got was wrong! There was a tiny double bed and a sofa but neither of them faced the TV! So whether you were on the bed or the sofa, you'd have to crane your neck 90 degrees to view the TV! The less said about the bathroom, the better. It was so cramped that if you sit on the commode, you'll hit your shoulder on the washbasin, and if you open the door, you'll be pushed back on the commode! Plus, there was no hot water. They said there would be hot water between 7.30 and 10a.m, but even when I checked at 8.30a.m the next day, the hot water was already gone! Oh and there were also small cockroaches in the bathroom.

The only thing good about the hotel was the food. They serve veg meals which are included in the room cost. The food is tasty and served well. Of course, if you prefer non-veg food, then this is not the place for you.

The bed linen needs serious changing. Maybe they don't have enough funds to clean the sheets and blankets before every guest, so the sheets and blankets are dirty and so are the pillowcases. We decided that paying this hotel for two nights was a big mistake as it was hard enough to sleep here for one night!

The next morning when we asked the person at the reception if we could check out that day itself instead of the next day, he said yes but no refund! There is no policy of refunds. So if you want to check out, you're most welcome to do so...but kiss your money good bye! We thought that losing the money would be a better option than staying there another day.

This hotel is best avoided.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I had been to Hotel Rangoli Retreat along with my friends.
The main benefit of the location of this hotel is that it is situated just opposite Matheran Railway Station and in the main Market place.
hence, time is not wasted in travelling and restaurants and shops are very accessible.
The staff was cooperative.
Rooms are ok and clean but small and the bathroom is really too small.
The food was good.
This hotel is good for economical and stay for 1-2 days as most of the time is spent outside in site-seeing.
Overall, economical and ok hotel to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiravS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

This hotel is right opposite Matheran station and in middle of the market. However, the rooms are average and acceptably clean (say, 7 on 10). The house-keeping helps to solve small problems. The rooms do not have any view and are not very spacious. The swimming pool is small and covered (not open to sky due to monkey trouble). The food was good...a simple Indian meal, not too spicy / oily yet tasty. Family can experience this hotel but not recommended for kids as there are better hotel options in Matheran with big garden and better swimming pool. Family with elderly members can choose this, as it is near the market place and they would enjoy their food here. The hotel has a big lobby and also a indoor game room, which is bit shady. Not at all a romantic feel hotel, but a budget option to suit the pocket. Not recommended for couples who want to enjoy the hotel or are on honeymoon...outgoing couples can come back to the hotel after tiring sight seeing for a good meal and decent sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kotharidhimant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Good things @ Rangoli Retreat
1. Food taste and quality awesome.
2. Best location as hotel is in market place and opposite to railway station.
3. Co-operative staff.
4. Staff people are quite helpful especially for children.
5. Hotel may not charge for small children.
Needs improvement @ Rangoli Retreat
1. Staff are not professional.
2. Bathroom space is quite small.
3. Frequently power cut problem is high in Matheran and needs to follow up with hotel staff for electricity through generator.

Room Tip: Try to get room on market side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
46.9 km away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
1.1 km away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
16.4 km away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#137 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
29.1 km away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#27 of 68 in Lonavala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 km away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#3 of 20 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rangoli Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rangoli Retreat

Property: Rangoli Retreat
Address: B.P. 187 M.G. Road,, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing