We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning Back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Habitat Shillong
Ranked #2 of 81 Shillong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Had a great stay!! Myself being hotel industry oriented, we completely judge at our way of giving wow effect to our guests, Rumy (do correct me if i spelled wrong) at Front Office did a commendable job and by her adorable smile, had a kick start of the day!! Not just cute Rumy!! Even the chef who made delicious Omelette (Back of the house) should be appreciated!!
Again, reason for returning, RUMY'!!
Thanks for all your hospitality!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

This hotel is basically like a homestay with basic amenities. The restaurant is small with limited seats. No dormitories are available for the driver and they have to find accommodation nearby, which also is limited. The entry from the main road is small and it is confusing. The rooms are beautiful but overpriced. The breakfast spread is also limited. The parking space is small and can accomodate no more than 4-5 cars. Bansara Eye Care is a known landmark adjacent to the property.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHASKAR JYOTI D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

I stayed here for around 4 days. This 3 storeyed house has woodden flooring and has maintained a victorian as well as a local touch to it's decor, furniture and rooms. food served at the dining area is healthy with infused fruit water, healthy american and indian breakfast and the staff is extremely cordial. Though it is centrally placed in shillong, but wish it was placed at a much more pleasant location.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanchita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

A beautiful property at a peaceful yet happening place, away from the crowd at Police Bazar. One of the few properties in Shillong for the discerning traveler who want peaceful and tranquil surroundings yet a classy accommodation. The best thing about this place is warm and professional service by the staff. They do their best to serve you with a smile at all times. Food choice is limited here and one has to order hours before dinner time but if you want anything special, they make all attempt to prepare that for you. Limited choice but food is great...taste like home and healthy without much oil and spices. Rooms are basic but looks great with antique furniture. For people who want to read, there is library-cum-lounge which looks great and stocks some interesting books. If one doesn't want to eat at the hotel, there are fantastic options within 5-10 minutes' walking distance such as Cafe Shillong, Delien's Cafe, Jadoh stalls (Khasi delicacy), Naga Kitchen, Manipuri Punga, Nat's Chinese, Deja Vu and even Domino's. For meat lovers and for the people who want to experiment, this area (called Laitumkrah, pronounced 'Loimukhra) is far better than Police Bazar or Polo Bazar. I stayed with my wife and son. All of us enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms could be a bit warm during summer but overall, it doesn't matter much in Shillon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank dipankarsarkar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MentorShillong, General Manager at The Habitat Shillong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thanks for your kind words. We take pride in offering our guests a homely yet sophisticated accomodated marked by simplicity, attention to detail, a high level of ethics and overall class, your appreciation and patronage means a lot to us. And we are glad that you chose to highlight the Laitumkhrah area. It is actually far more interesting than police bazar being full of educational institutions, churches, gyms, and restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

This hotel in Shillong would have a better rating had it not been for that single rude lady sitting near the front desk who was allowed to be rude to guests. She negates the goodwill generated by the excellent service provided by the restaurant and housekeeping staff.

The key plus point for this hotel is it's location , close to the main city area yet far enough to ensure silence.

The staff (except the front desk) were very courteous and did everything to make our stay comfortable. The front desk was helpful but gave us incorrect information.

The rooms were ordinary. We got rooms on the top floor which had temperature extremes due to poor weatherproofing on the roof. Daytime indoor temperature high of 30 degrees came on 18th May (sweaty!) , same day saw the nighttime low temperature of 22 degrees (run for the shawl!)

Room Tip: Avoid top floor rooms , can get too hot during the daytime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SridharCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

The Habitat is a little sanctuary of peace! We loved everything about our stay here - super courteous staff (special shout out to Govindo, Rahul and all the others in the dining area whose superlative service makes the Habitat a wonderful place), and managed by Ms Shabari who is very mindful of guests' needs. The food, both at breakfast and dinner, was delectable. The Habitat's interior is tastefully done in a clean, sleek, minimalist style- so if you are looking to reclaim your inner zen while exploring Meghalaya,The Habitat is the place to be.

Room Tip: If you have bad knees, request for a room on the first floor. There is no elevator but Floor 1 is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank therealale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

After suddenly planning to visit Shillong for just one day, we did net search just 2 days ahead. Though I heard about Asian Confluence before which is now renamed as The Habitat Shillong, We were lucky to get accommodation for one night, though there is always a heavy rush at Shillong at weekends. Though I directly talked to the hotel reception which we indeed welcoming I ultimately booked through 'agoda' with a marginal benefit.
Though we googled to get the right location, it was little bit misleading. As the google map showed we followed the path to Don Bosco square and moved further up. The lane was just opposite to 'Cafe Shillong' which directly leads to the hotel. I also took the same path. While driving through the lane, a taxi driver yelled at me stating it to be one way which leads to a fine of Rs. 500.00. Police at Shillong are very smart and needs appreciation. I was lucky not to get caught, but reached the destination.
Check in was perfect, no hassle,while I parked the car and offloaded the luggages my wife had already done the formalities and the keys were right on her hand.
Welcome was with a smile by the soft spoken staff.
It is a neat boutique hotel with absolute perfection, be it the decor, hospitality or even the rooms within.
Rooms were clean, tidy and neat. Bathrooms were spick and span, just the plastic bucked would have been under cover.
The hotel do not have regular restaurant but you can order whatever you like.
We forgot to carry out toothbrushes which the hotel staff gave us immediately on request.
We were 5 persons booked in two adjacent rooms. They even arranged a mattress (But on floor, though we didn't use it) since I ranged them up the previous day. They charged the usual Rs. 700.00 for the extra person. But a small cot would have been better. But the positiveness otherwise of the cute hotel overcome that petty issue.
Breakfast had a nice spread a mix of north as well as south with a variety of choices of eggs.
The best part was the courtyard with lovely plants, paintings, sculptures, stone works which was a treat in the lovely summer morning at Shillong.
I am sure the one who maintains both inside and outside of this cute boutique hotel dreams to make it an artwork rather than a hotel.
The Habitat Shillong needs not second thought to decide on where to stay when you plan a Shillong trip...sure it will have lingering memories for you for long.........

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrinal Krishna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
1.3 km away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
10.6 km away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 24 in Shillong
516 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#2 of 24 in Shillong
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 24 in Shillong
87 reviews
1.2 km away
The Pear Tree
The Pear Tree
#6 of 81 in Shillong
94 reviews
0.9 km away
Kaizun Bed & Breakfast
Kaizun Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 81 in Shillong
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Habitat Shillong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Habitat Shillong

Address: Lady Veronica Lane | Laitumkhrah, Shillong 793003, India (Formerly Asian Confluence)
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range: $68 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Habitat Shillong 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Habitat Shillong is a Boutique Guest House in Shillong,the cultural capital of the North East region of India. It is part of a larger tourism driven initiative aimed at building people to people bridges between India and the South Asian Countries at a cultural and educational level and therefore aims to give visitors an unique perspective of the region, its people, its history, its geography and the promise it holds for the future : Located in the heart of the city near the Cathedral and the Don Bosco Center, It offers cozy accomodation and homestyle food, state of the art hospitality, and caters to the needs to the discerning traveller. In interest of upkeep of the unique boutique furnishing and antique furniture in the rooms, we do not offer room service but there are many lobbies and lounges where you can enjoy the warmth of our hospitality. A real hidden gem. Cafes and public transport are a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Habitat Shillong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing