We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small piece of heaven in the heart of Shillong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Habitat Shillong
Ranked #2 of 81 Shillong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I stayed at this lovely boutique hotel from 24th to 28th October. There is a gorgeous calm about this place and it's run with a quiet efficiency. The lounge areas and seating hangouts are beautifully furnished with a careful eye to detail. The library has great vibe, the dining room is bright and welcoming with windows looking out on to a flowering garden. I very much enjoyed the breakfast every morning (served from 7-10 am). The Habitat offers a good choice of Indian and continental items, with eggs to order. The hearty breakfast sets you for the day. A small lane leads out of the hotel and connects to the busy heart of Laitimukra. There are nice cafes and hangouts within a stone's throw of The Habitat (try the Shillong Cafe for authentic Khasi food). You can walk around everywhere and experience Shillong. Explore the greens of St. Edmunds College. Take a trip to Wards Lake, go for a boat ride, stroll around the flowering gardens and have fun feeding the abundant fish from the bridge. Then at the end of a busy day come back to the peace of The Habitat -- a true home away from home. The staff of the Habitat are caring, mindful and attentive. They are what makes this place so special. I loved every minute of my stay and I hope to return again soon. Cheers!
Shona Patel

Room Tip: Room 202 on the 2nd floor is at the end of the corridor and has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank logogenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Read this review before you book here. I'm writing this while currently being stranded at 8 PM at night (In Shillong it feels like 12 midnight) in an isolated lane in Shillong with not even cabs arround with my fiancee with our luggae by and no place in sight after spending 7000 at this hotel, all thanks to this hotel and cleartrip.

Reason? Me and my fiance are not married yet and this hotel only accepts money from unmarried couples but won't have the courtesy to cancel the room and return the money. Give us your money and get lost.

We don't want you, just your money. WHY NOT MENTION IT CLEARLY ON CLEARTRIP BOOKING PAGE? WHY NOT CANCEL AND REFUND IF YOU WONT ALLOW?

There is a word for what cleartrip and greedy hotel owners like this do, it's called fleecing under broad daylight.

Won't be surprised if most of the reviews here are made up.

I'll update this later.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Aditya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MentorShillong, Owner at The Habitat Shillong, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Mr. Aditya Dwivedi:

Your views on this platform regarding your trip to Habitat Shillong is unfortunate on the following counts :

1) You booked through cleartrip where it clearly states our booking policies. Therefore if you have to seek a refund you have to do so from cleartrip and not us. It is mentioned in tripadvisor clearly about our policies of not allowing unmarried couples. Please understand this is for security reasons . The Habitat is part of a larger setup and we have to look out for all our guests.

2) Our property is very close to the heart of shillong and five minute walk away from cabs. therefore your version that you were stranded cannot be true.

It is clear that you were upset and wrote this message as a immediate reaction by your own admission . Trip advisor is not platform to vent out frustrations and take revenge . It is for genuine reviews . You are abusing this platform to vent your anger arising out of a situation which you created by making a booking feeding your incorrect information.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The experience of our stay in this hotel was a mix of good and not so good. Let me first list the 'not so good' part.
1. We booked 4 Double Dlx. Rooms. After we checked in we saw 4 completely different types and standards of rooms allotted to us.While 3 rooms were acceptable, the 4th room was a really a sub-standard room. We can understand that hotels have to manipulate rooms to satisfy and get more customers, but too much compromise with someone who booked well in advance left a bad taste in our mouth. There was a lot of of interaction between us and the hotel staff, and possibly also with one of the promoters/partners as well, at the end of which that room was changed. The staff were courteous all through the arguments. The promoter however was listening less and was more giving her side of the story. Anyways, all were settled finally and the rest of the stay was without any unpleasantness.
2. We paid nearly 5600/- + per room per night. At that price, its not really value for money. I felt it's slightly on the higher side.
Other than these we were happy with the rest. The pluses would be -
1. Location is nice.
2. Staff members are nice and courteous.
3. Clean and well kept property.
4. The overall decor and ambiance of the place was very nice.
So, to sum it up, its a nice cozy comfortable place to stay for a few days. Slightly on the higher side on value for money aspect. But for the manipulation of room allotment, I would have given it 4/5. But I am sticking to 3/5 because of that experience.

Room Tip: Check the room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PSen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights in a room on the second floor.
The positives: Neat and clean, simply but thoughtfully furnished rooms. Breakfast is limited but okay. Staff are warm and do their best to help. Wifi was decent.
What could have been better: Better soundproofing needed. You can literally hear everything happening in the neighbouring rooms and bathrooms, and it can be quite painful if you are trying to sleep and someone insists on watching TV till late in the night.
Also, a note for women - the lane outside Habitat has little or no lighting at night, so you need to be careful walking back from dinner or wherever if you've stepped out.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enness_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Had a great stay!! Myself being hotel industry oriented, we completely judge at our way of giving wow effect to our guests, Rumy (do correct me if i spelled wrong) at Front Office did a commendable job and by her adorable smile, had a kick start of the day!! Not just cute Rumy!! Even the chef who made delicious Omelette (Back of the house) should be appreciated!!
Again, reason for returning, RUMY'!!
Thanks for all your hospitality!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

This hotel is basically like a homestay with basic amenities. The restaurant is small with limited seats. No dormitories are available for the driver and they have to find accommodation nearby, which also is limited. The entry from the main road is small and it is confusing. The rooms are beautiful but overpriced. The breakfast spread is also limited. The parking space is small and can accomodate no more than 4-5 cars. Bansara Eye Care is a known landmark adjacent to the property.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHASKAR JYOTI D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

I stayed here for around 4 days. This 3 storeyed house has woodden flooring and has maintained a victorian as well as a local touch to it's decor, furniture and rooms. food served at the dining area is healthy with infused fruit water, healthy american and indian breakfast and the staff is extremely cordial. Though it is centrally placed in shillong, but wish it was placed at a much more pleasant location.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanchita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
1.3 km away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
10.6 km away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 24 in Shillong
516 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#2 of 24 in Shillong
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 24 in Shillong
87 reviews
1.2 km away
The Pear Tree
The Pear Tree
#6 of 81 in Shillong
94 reviews
0.9 km away
Kaizun Bed & Breakfast
Kaizun Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 81 in Shillong
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Habitat Shillong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Habitat Shillong

Address: Lady Veronica Lane | Laitumkhrah, Shillong 793003, India (Formerly Asian Confluence)
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range: $68 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Habitat Shillong 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Habitat Shillong is a Boutique Guest House in Shillong,the cultural capital of the North East region of India. It is part of a larger tourism driven initiative aimed at building people to people bridges between India and the South Asian Countries at a cultural and educational level and therefore aims to give visitors an unique perspective of the region, its people, its history, its geography and the promise it holds for the future : Located in the heart of the city near the Cathedral and the Don Bosco Center, It offers cozy accomodation and homestyle food, state of the art hospitality, and caters to the needs to the discerning traveller. In interest of upkeep of the unique boutique furnishing and antique furniture in the rooms, we do not offer room service but there are many lobbies and lounges where you can enjoy the warmth of our hospitality. A real hidden gem. Cafes and public transport are a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Habitat Shillong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing