We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
106
63
14
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
63
14
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews asian confluence boutique hotel guest house cafe shillong collection of books antique furniture double deluxe room dining area is breakfast was included exudes warmth don bosco narrow lane an excellent place to stay jain food home away from home stone's throw travel desk
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 191 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

Read this review before you book here. I'm writing this while currently being stranded at 8 PM at night (In Shillong it feels like 12 midnight) in an isolated lane in Shillong with not even cabs arround with my fiancee with our luggae by and no place in sight after spending 7000 at this hotel, all thanks to this hotel and cleartrip.

Reason? Me and my fiance are not married yet and this hotel only accepts money from unmarried couples but won't have the courtesy to cancel the room and return the money. Give us your money and get lost.

We don't want you, just your money. WHY NOT MENTION IT CLEARLY ON CLEARTRIP BOOKING PAGE? WHY NOT CANCEL AND REFUND IF YOU WONT ALLOW?

There is a word for what cleartrip and greedy hotel owners like this do, it's called fleecing under broad daylight.

Won't be surprised if most of the reviews here are made up.

I'll update this later.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Aditya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MentorShillong, Owner at The Habitat Shillong, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Dear Mr. Aditya Dwivedi:

Your views on this platform regarding your trip to Habitat Shillong is unfortunate on the following counts :

1) You booked through cleartrip where it clearly states our booking policies. Therefore if you have to seek a refund you have to do so from cleartrip and not us. It is mentioned in tripadvisor clearly about our policies of not allowing unmarried couples. Please understand this is for security reasons . The Habitat is part of a larger setup and we have to look out for all our guests.

2) Our property is very close to the heart of shillong and five minute walk away from cabs. therefore your version that you were stranded cannot be true.

It is clear that you were upset and wrote this message as a immediate reaction by your own admission . Trip advisor is not platform to vent out frustrations and take revenge . It is for genuine reviews . You are abusing this platform to vent your anger arising out of a situation which you created by making a booking feeding your incorrect information.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017

The experience of our stay in this hotel was a mix of good and not so good. Let me first list the 'not so good' part.
1. We booked 4 Double Dlx. Rooms. After we checked in we saw 4 completely different types and standards of rooms allotted to us.While 3 rooms were acceptable, the 4th room was a really a sub-standard room. We can understand that hotels have to manipulate rooms to satisfy and get more customers, but too much compromise with someone who booked well in advance left a bad taste in our mouth. There was a lot of of interaction between us and the hotel staff, and possibly also with one of the promoters/partners as well, at the end of which that room was changed. The staff were courteous all through the arguments. The promoter however was listening less and was more giving her side of the story. Anyways, all were settled finally and the rest of the stay was without any unpleasantness.
2. We paid nearly 5600/- + per room per night. At that price, its not really value for money. I felt it's slightly on the higher side.
Other than these we were happy with the rest. The pluses would be -
1. Location is nice.
2. Staff members are nice and courteous.
3. Clean and well kept property.
4. The overall decor and ambiance of the place was very nice.
So, to sum it up, its a nice cozy comfortable place to stay for a few days. Slightly on the higher side on value for money aspect. But for the manipulation of room allotment, I would have given it 4/5. But I am sticking to 3/5 because of that experience.

Room tip: Check the room before you check in.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PSen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights in a room on the second floor.
The positives: Neat and clean, simply but thoughtfully furnished rooms. Breakfast is limited but okay. Staff are warm and do their best to help. Wifi was decent.
What could have been better: Better soundproofing needed. You can literally hear everything happening in the neighbouring rooms and bathrooms, and it can be quite painful if you are trying to sleep and someone insists on watching TV till late in the night.
Also, a note for women - the lane outside Habitat has little or no lighting at night, so you need to be careful walking back from dinner or wherever if you've stepped out.

Room tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a lower floor.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enness_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

Had a great stay!! Myself being hotel industry oriented, we completely judge at our way of giving wow effect to our guests, Rumy (do correct me if i spelled wrong) at Front Office did a commendable job and by her adorable smile, had a kick start of the day!! Not just cute Rumy!! Even the chef who made delicious Omelette (Back of the house) should be appreciated!!
Again, reason for returning, RUMY'!!
Thanks for all your hospitality!!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lambaaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2017

This hotel is basically like a homestay with basic amenities. The restaurant is small with limited seats. No dormitories are available for the driver and they have to find accommodation nearby, which also is limited. The entry from the main road is small and it is confusing. The rooms are beautiful but overpriced. The breakfast spread is also limited. The parking space is small and can accomodate no more than 4-5 cars. Bansara Eye Care is a known landmark adjacent to the property.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHASKARJYOTID14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews