We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort > Lake > Green Hills | Wow !”
Review of Ri Kynjai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

One of the best scenic properties I've been to. The sheer location of this hotel is worth visiting. Tucked away at the corner of the lake, the entire bowl is surrounded by hills which are lush green. We visited in September and the clouds and greenery made for an amazing retreat. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Restaurant offers good food.
There isn't much to do in the immediate neighbourhood. You'd probably need a cap to get around anywhere outside the hotel. Must visit once though.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms provide a better view of the lake.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADhandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Ri Kynjai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel is on of my favourites of all time. Beautiful location, beautiful rooms, beautiful views. We were lucky we stubbled on this hotel as we hadn't booked it upfront and didn't know what to expect. Boy were we lucky. Rooms are large and floor to ceiling windows were great.

Downside is definitely the rather thin walls. Luckily it was a quiet period when we stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor_Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Best place to stay while in Shillong little away from Shillong but the view and the comfort is worth the distance. The hotel has won the best architecture award, nice place to read and unwind even for a person like me who lives in Shillong. Need that little break and feeling of a holiday even for a weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Williamonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Excellent property, Good Interior, large colonial rooms decorated in pine wood, good bedding, linen, quilts etc. Nice big bathrooms with all the items usually found in a good 4 star hotel. But, heater is helpless looking to the size of the room. Food is the opposite side of the good property. It seems management is careless in this segment. We stayed there for 2/3 days from 20th January, 2012; had breakfast, lunch & dinner. The most appaling managements policy is to charge Rs.500/- per day for the drivers for staying there; who otherwise have no option, as the resort is located far away from Shillong.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on the right hand side facing lake
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KHManager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We got a glimpse of why its called the scotland of the east. Absolutely wonderful location and a fine property. Beautifully and abundantly laid out overlooking a massive lake ( loch) and possibility of water sports like speed boats/sailing etc. its a place for chilling and p'heps writing that book that you always thought you would in your life time.

Room Tip: look for the ones right on top though all the rooms face the lake side but the ones at the top are n...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhupendrasharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The very purpose of our trip was to come and relax and we were not sure if this place would fulfill our objective. But it more than met our expectations. From the minute you walk in from the reception to your room it feels peaceful. It seems everything is all right! By the time you are standing on the deck looking at the view you forget all your worries. No wonder Shillong is known as the scotland of the east!

Ri Kynjai provides the best view of "Bada Pani" lake.

The hotel service is slow and the food quality can be improved significantly. It will be great if the hotel can provide a trail to reach the water from the property. Right now there's no well laid out path to venture below to get close to the water.

I would recommend staying at this hotel just for the views. My stay overall was quite relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

have stayed here thrice now in the last one year and each time it is a breathtaking experience. the place is absolutely beautiful and nature friendly. it is very peaceful and the views of the umiam lake are fabulous. the food is average, the staff helpful. the rooms are huge and the villa is gorgeous. the best part of thje stay is to wake up in the morning and opening your eyes to the breathtaking views of the lake..... priceless! would love to go back again a fourh time...

Room Tip: Villas, although slightly expensive have a million dollar view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geetika_1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
11.8 km away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
9.3 km away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
265 reviews
9.8 km away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 20 in Shillong
13 reviews
9.8 km away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
148 reviews
10.5 km away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: $208 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ri Kynjai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing