We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveller rating
390
184
81
35
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
184
81
35
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach organic garden cottage rooms swimming pool nice resort coconut trees puri city recommend this resort main city konark temple front office excellent place reception area quality of food special thanks family vacation needs improvement
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 741 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Do not be surprised if what you get does not match with what the website promises. The two are from different planets. For example, they advertise as a high-end property but they can only afford low quality LED lights. The rooms and buildings are not clean enough. The swimming pool is dirty, the tennis court is broken, the Jacuzzi is tiny and very dirty. I guess it has not been maintained well over years.

Room tip: Avoid Deluxe Rooms
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jaideep R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra_Toshali, General Manager at Toshali Sands, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your efforts in giving us your valuable feedback on your experience at our resort.

There might have been some shortcomings which you have noticed which have prompted you to mention them. But we can assure you that by no means these are a norm, and hence can be treated as an isolated instance, against our policy of Guest Satisfaction to the fullest.

As a practise, we do ensure that the swimming pool is cleaned on a daily basis, and all the public areas are well maintained.
However, we will take your suggestions as a guidance and also upgrade a couple of our facilities which was already due in the near future.

We look forward to you providing us with another opportunity by staying with us again during your next visit to Puri, to enable us to change your perceptions of us, and delight you and your family with the best in our product and services.

Warm Regards,

Upendra Shanbhag
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

If you are looking for a place that has a private beach. Look no further, the beach though a little away from Toshali sands, is amazing. The shoreline is beautiful, beach is clean, has lifeguards and umbrellas, chairs and beach towels. Carry some drinking water, and biscuits/chips if you have kids accompanying u. We visited this place in Dec, the wheather was lovely, though water was cold in the mornings, in afternoon and early evenings it was nice and warm.

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank DeepaPrabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra_Toshali, General Manager at Toshali Sands, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

It is a compliment to us when we read your valuable positive feedback of our resort.

We sincerely thank you for the mentioning of each of the facilities provided by our team at the beach in detail.

The entire team at the resort here will look forward to your next visit to Puri and your stay with us which will enable us to delight your family members with yet another memorable vacation.

Warm Regards,

Upendra Shanbhag
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

We were group of friends and stayed in cottage, nice green surroundings,in fact feel bad that we could not spend much time in property. courteous staff and only issue is Puri check out time but they could accommodate for few hours.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank surenmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra_Toshali, General Manager at Toshali Sands, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for the time taken out and your effort in posting a review of our resort on TripAdvisor.

It was very heartening for us to understand from your kind words of appreciation that you had a wonderful experience during your stay at our resort..

The check out time as in every hotel or resort in Puri happens to be 8 am due to the nature of religious visit by a majority of the visitors to Puri, and hence practised in accordance. However based on the availability of the rooms at our resort, we do accommodate requests for a few hours extension.

We do eagerly await your next stay with us and an opportunity of providing you with the best of our services.

Warm Regards,

Upendra Shanbhag
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018

Very nice place to chip in, lush green surroundings, free from the busy city life & enjoy the nature with nice co-operative staff & very pleasant rooms with outstanding dwelling place. Had a mind blowing trip . Kudoos to Toshali Sands Puri..........Keep up the attraction on.

Room tip: Nice property ......to chip in
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SaswatM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra_Toshali, General Manager at Toshali Sands, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We do appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor .We thank you for making a note of the lush greenery on our premises and our co-operative staff which will go a long way in complementing them on a job well done.

We can assure you of a pleasant and comfortable stay whenever you visit Puri next, and look forward to your stay with us.

Warm Regards,

Upendra Shanbhag,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018

I travelled to this part of India to compile a report on the birds of the area and the facilities the area offers for tourists. So I looked at hotels along the beach front in the centre of Puri.
My recommendation is this - if you want peace and quiet and especially if you are an English speaking person - then Toshali Sands is the best hotel in the area.
Everyone - even those people I spoke to in Bhubaneswar (pronounced Boo-bish-wer) knew the location of Toshali Sands.

First of all - I didn't stay here because I had booked other accommodation in Odisha as I was traveling around the area looking for birds - but the staff kindly allowed me to use the pool area and have a drink around the pool in the evenings.
The location of Toshali Sands is a few miles out of town - which is great because you don't get the constant noise and heaps of rubbish that you get in and around hotels closer to the town.
It costs 300 rupees to hire a tuc tuc into town from the hotel and they are always parked outside the gates.
Taxis are readily available to take you into town.
There's not that many English speaking people in this part of India - so to have Mr. Jayant Mishra, who speaks very good English, working in the tourist office at the side of reception is a great bonus. He will able to get you to where you want to go at prices that are cheaper than stopping a taxi in the street.

I looked at one of the standard rooms - and it was very spacious and ticked all the boxes of being a nice place to stay.
The grounds of Toshali Sands are lovely - flower beds, palm trees etc etc.
The pool is a nice size.
Staff are very helpful and friendly.
I great place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Young_Nudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra_Toshali, General Manager at Toshali Sands, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

It gives us immense pleasure in thanking you for the precise feedback shared of your experience at our resort.

We do sincerely appreciate you making a positive mention of our resort's serene location, good rooms, swimming pool, plants, trees and flower beds within the premises, and of course the staff with their friendliness and eagerness to help.

Your speaking well about Jayant Mishra will certainly be shared with him and he will look forward to continuing his best efforts in assisting guests with their travel requirements.

We do look forward to you providing us with a chance of being the chosen venue for your stay when you visit Puri next, and ensuring you with a comfortable stay.

Warm Regards,

Upendra Shanbhag
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews