We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
115
89
42
32
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
89
42
32
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar greek salad little repetitive cleaned every other day soft drinks great holiday reception staff sea view all inclusive package george hill crete village disco maids kettle
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 325 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

PLEASE AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!!

HONEST REVIEW BELOW

Whatever you do don't waste your money on this hell hole! Go somewhere else! Below I have listed everything wrong with the place, bearing in mind I don't have high expectations at all and usually laugh at the bad reviews on trip advisor!This hotel was just awful!

1) When we arrived the first room we were put it didn't have a shower holder, just a shower head sitting on the floor, the air con didn't work even thought we paid for it. They eventually moved us into another room for €3 extra a day.

2) There is a dog at the back of the hotel that constantly barks, day and night! It becomes very irritating after a few nights and the hotel don't seem to care about it.

3) The lack of food and choice of food was horrific! the breakfast didn't change all ten days we were at Porto Village and the lack of cutlery forced me to eat my stale cereal from a coffee mug! Not ideal! If you like cold baked beans and stale bread then you'll love the breakfast!

4) Extras - Aircon €55, Safe €24, Room Change €35, Late checkout €25

5) Our neighbours were three German lads who didn't get in until 6am every morning. The walls are very thin and it woke us up early! This is suppose to be a friendly family hotel. I don't have a problem with people enjoying their holiday and returning to the room late but banging around at 6am gets very annoying!

6) The mains water and electric to the whole hotel was turned off numerous times for half a day at a time, when I spoke to the receptionists they said it happens in this town often, would have been nice to have some notice so we could have had a shower before! Not only this but it effected all the food in the morning, everything was cold!

7) Unless you want to get up at 8am to reserve a sun bed good luck getting a space by the pool! There are minimal sun beds and towels are kept there all day so unless you get there early, your not getting a space!

8) The dining area had a constant supply of flies, as the food was not covered they were free to fly all over it, again the hotel staff didn't do much.

9) Finally the staff seemed very unhappy and unwelcoming. They never smiled or made conversation.

Overall I would highly recommend avoiding this place at all costs!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Tom-mcc-95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Porto Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Dear Guests,

Your are very strict with your review about us , since all of hotel issues have their
solution. First , you had issues with the facilities in the room you could simply ask
for it to be fixed since it can happen during the day of the arrival to be so busy that
the report from the housekeeper could have been delayed. Second , for the dog
of the neighbor that is located at the back of the hotel , we cannot do anything
about it since he loves animals and the dog is his guard. Third , we wish we had
the time and space in our reply to mention how much variety of food we have at the restaurant at breakfast -lunch and dinner which we cant believe that you can find something that you like to eat. Fourth, all the extras at the hotel per room of course have to be paid and you are informed upon arrival for that ( as the price of extras are not included in the initial price of the booking since some people are not interested for extras during their holidays if they want to have a low cost holiday ). As for the noise from the neighbors , our building do not have thin walls as they are built with bricks and concrete ( classic anti-seismic build ) , but when our guests return from their night out they might talk or laugh a bit and of course you can hear that through your open window only but we did not have any report from our night guard during your stay here. Sixth, We had for a few non-consecutive days partial outage from the electric company during they early hours of the day, as for the food being cold what we have to say is that when we bring it out on the bain-marie ( which preserves the food hot ) by the time each guest starts to serve his food and the time he sits down to enjoy his meal the time counts anti-clockwise for the warmth of the food. Seventh, we have two swimming pools that you can always find a free sunbed , but when all of our guests wake up early to enjoy the sun sometime can be difficult to provide a bed for each of our guests and we always try to bring more sunbeds out if our guests need it . Eighth , our restaurant is on an open are under the olive trees and next to our garden and sometime there can be a few bees of flies around but we always care for the area to be clean from insects. Ninth , one thing we can say about staff is that they are always
friendly , kind and care for the guests .Maybe your standards are for a different Hotel category and maybe we did not cover your needs during your stay here but we do not agree with the harsh review you posted on TripAdvisor.
Nevertheless we wish you all the best for your next holidays !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Hersonissos

Its 1 only because i had to tick a box ,HONESTLY

520574187

It was our 20th wedding anniversary and two days later my birthday , I had a quick squint on TripAdvisor one dodgy one and then about 6-7 very good on the bounce , well that's OK , well how wrong can you be .
I have held senior positions in luxury 5* hotel in the kitchens , understand how things work , done consultancy around the world , given advice to select committees , had my own award winning business , hold an Advanced Diploma in Food Hygiene and Safety from the Royal Institute of Public Health and Hygiene , so i think i can give a quite objective account of how it is and how it should be.
It started the minute we arrived , blaring music, two youngsters being ill in a bush , well it happens , and it was just gone 11.15 pm .
first find the reception , no signage ,no clues , just keep walking (and it was not follow the yellow brick road)that would have been good !!
Past more young people very worse for wear ( and I like a drink ,no prude),and the music was banging ,big time ,and i have done clubs and concerts in my time .
finally reception down about 9 unlit dodgy steps with huge plants in pots at the handrail side ( health and safety ?) suitcases ,no lights get into reception no one there a note on the bar ( I am up in the bar) so back up the stairs , weave in and out of the cavorting bodies on the dance floor , get to the bar ,the barman says go back down stairs i will call someone .
Ten minutes later a Dutch lady appears ( never caught the name for the music ), i said we have a reservation and i emailed last week to say it was our wedding anniversary on the night we arrived , no booking , no email .
so i hand over the booking ref from LOVEHOLIDAYS ,she duly looks at it tears it up and in the bin,we do a bit of paperwork ,then have to pay 35 euros for the air con up front , the alarm bells start ringing in my ears over and above the extra loud music.
The lady escorts us to our room ,down more badly lit stairs at the end of the swimming pool , no help with cases ( even John Cleese had Emanuel ) hang on the lady says till i sort out the air con and lights ,whilst doing this tells us there are sandwiches and 1 free drink at the bar ,lights on and she is gone we looked round and my wife is in tears .
we tried to complain the next morning at reception , that was after buying cleaning materials at the little supermarket across the road , only to be told by the chap with the goatee beard that they were full and no other rooms , or we could book out , i have had to edit this because there are certain things I am not being allowed to say , so i will cut it shortish ,(over 4000 characters have been censored ).
the food is terrible and in MY opinion does not comply to EU regulations with regard minimum holding temperatures , reworked left over food , flies , wasps , uncovered food /milk , you are strongly discouraged from taking photos in the dinning area , you have to clear your own tables , we saw with our own eyes 3 teenagers being told off and ASKED to clear their table .
this falls very short of permissible standards accommodation and food wise ,this is a true and accurate account of our stay , and i could say a lot more about it , but I cant .
and you will be charged if you want to stay passed the check out time , because there are no vacant rooms
the pool area is not good either , cant find any redeeming features at all.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank wattthebutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Porto Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017


Dear Mr. Wattthebutcher,
We respect the fact you have an advanced Diploma in Food Hygiene and Safety from the London Royal Institute of Public Health and Hygiene and we assume the diploma is for the the standards in the UK. In the many years that Porto Village is open for guests we obey the Greek law for Food Hygiene and Safety and we never had any issues with any of our guests on these points.We are sorry to hear that is was your 20th wedding anniversary but we never received any information on that subject from your booking agent or you.When you arrived we had a DJ night at the bar that’s why the music was so loud ( 21:30 – 00:30 ) as our guests want to be entertained once a week.From the entrance where all our guests arrive the reception is easy to find since there is no other way to go until you see the sign before the stairs leading there. As it concerns the night shift at the reception, the receptionist could have been occupied with other guests since on late arrivals we escort the guests to their room and also offer them dinner and drinks. Also on the night shift it happened to be a female receptionist and unfortunately she could not carry your luggage unlike the late and morning shift that we help all of our guests with their luggage to their rooms. As for the Hotel Voucher we do not tear any reference number or any piece of paper of information our guests hand out to us as we need them. Now, as for the issues at the restaurant,we are not a city hotel and we are located on a hill that is 300 meters from the center of the city and there are a lot of trees and flowers around the area ,but we have a specialist that will come for pest control and Desensitization in the premises of Porto Village every month. Also we find it difficult to believe that our staff at the restaurant will ask you to clear your table since it is their job to do so.On every room check-out of course we charge extra since it is past the accommodation booking and it something common everywhere in the world but for the guests that do not want to prolong their stay in the room on their last day, we have the facilities for them to leave their luggage and take a shower before they go , also they can stay in the hotel Area and using the All Inclusive program until their departure and all of the above are been informed to the guest upon check-in as they receive all the information that go by the hotel contract with their booking agent. As for me ( the chap with the goatee beard ) , there is not a chance in this world to tell to my guests to book-out since we are fully booked.As for the pictures on your review only when you really want to complain about something then only you go to the trouble to take these pictures. These pictures and comments do not represent Porto Village as a whole, of course when you focus in any hotel room during the season since there are so many people in and out that there can be something to find. We believe that the money our guests pay for their stay in Porto Village they get their value back. We wish you a good winter!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Bathroom was terrible! Should learn how to build bathrooms!!! It's year 2017!
Bedroom also was not good! Light switch was build in, right by the pillow in bed frame, so unexpectedly turned on every night, couple of times!! Bed also was terrible!
Looks like hostel, not all inclusive hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Osmucnieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos R, Front Office Manager at Porto Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear guest,
We are surprised to see your review.As your reservation was a standard studio land view we upgraded your stay to a Sea View Apartment free of charge since your booking was a last minute and we wanted to provide a better room.We are not sure if you are confused with your reservation but we are not a 4 or 5 star hotel. It is not fair to say that a 12 square meter bathroom that offer a spacious sink with marble counter with a big mirror and enough room to enter the shower is terrible. Also we cannot understand what was wrong with your bed since we have replaced the mattress recently.
We wish you would have come during your stay to let us know that you were facing these issues in your room and we cannot accept that our room is like you describe it in your comment since every year we are awarded with a "price quality" award from our agents.
We hope you have a great winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

Well, what can I start with!! Porto village hotel, it's the worse place you can ever go to in such a beautiful island. We booked this hotel through A1 travel for £580 per person, to find out that they have booked us the terrible accommodation you can ever imagine for family, this hotel is from hell. If you decided to visit Crete and you will be a combined by children please choose a different hotel. No safety standards at all in everything you do. Even rooms furniture is broken and rusty an old. The room is not cleans daily, Electricity wires are everywhere. And pool are not clean. Children play ground is rusty an dangerous. Food is disgusting and awful. Plates smell and not clean. By the way they want you to clear your table every time. I think because they don't hire enough staff. And that's shows clearly, when one night we needed an assistant from the reception and we couldn't find no one. So we knocked and knocked and no one were there to respond to us. If you're planning an early trips. Well don't they don't have water in the early hours of the day. The reception guy have tried to convince us to write a good reviews immediately before we Leave and give us a small discount. But we've refused to accept their offers. So please everyone one decided to Leave a review, try to be honest, because we've been deceived by all good reviews of this place. Be careful not to fall for it

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank Alexander I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos R, Front Office Manager at Porto Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Dear Guest,
We are not surprised to see your review on TripAdvisor in fact we were expecting it real soon so we can answer to you. Lets see the other side of the story.
Your family reservation was 1 family room for 5 persons , 2 rooms for 4 persons and 1 studio for 2 , the only thing that we heard from you during your stay here was that you wanted one of the rooms to be reallocated closer to the other 3 rooms and we told you then that we could do that 2 days after.
On your last day here one lady from your family came to the reception and asked if we could provide 2 rooms for late check-out so all the family can stay in those rooms ( 15 persons) free of charge and in return she would provide a good review for us. For that request we had to ask the management and the only thing we could in the end was a small discount . After a while most of the family came back ( except the lady who asked
for the review) and start to shout and complaint for things that we did not know until just then.After they left from the reception area , one member of the family came to apologize for that behavior of those members of the family.
We can only say that for 2 days we had a partial power shortage from 09:00 until 10:00 in the morning and that affected the supply of water in the rooms. Our night guard is always ready and in case he is not present at the reception there is an emergency phone number and a doorbell to call him if needed . And as it concerns for the money per person is the plane tickets , luggage , transfer , hotel stay and agent commission for 7 days .
Last we would like to mention that at the end of each guests stay here , we always ask how was their holiday , if they have anything to suggest us to improve our services and then we would only say " feel free to write about your holidays on any holiday website you are comfortable with " , nothing else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

The place looks beautiful when you arrive and the porter (I can't remember his name) helped us to our rooms. Yes they are basic (pans in the cupboard but nowhere to cook food?) but comfortable all the same. The food was lovely and always something even our pickiest eater could find to eat. Staff were lovely and always helpful. Vladimir in the restaurant was amazing, such a lovely man and clearly loves his job, even treating us to a song every now and again lol. You do however have to pay extra for air con and in my room it leaked water down the wall. They came to look and moved it slightly but I still wasn't comfortable using it so only used for 2 days, didn't want to seem like a pain so didn't tell reception staff, maybe I should have. There was a large group of extremely noisy girls (French/Dutch) who played music in their room quite loud at 00:30 one night, however I didn't complain as they were enjoying their holiday, but I believe someone did complain and they were asked to keep it down which they did for the remainder of our stay. Hairdryer is provided in the bathroom and rooms are cleaned every other day which is quite sufficient. There is a strange smell in the reception area though and my children did refuse to go in due to this to use the toilet around the pool, but there is another located just outside which is ok. It is literally 10 mins walk to the beach and marina which we enjoyed and really close to local villages and the water park. The bar staff are lovely and the all inclusive drinks are available 10:30 - 22:30 daily with cocktail happy hour before dinner. Bar snacks were available all day until 17:30 consisting of sandwiches, cake and salted popcorn which the children enjoyed. The local views are also amazing, very picturesque. All in all a lovely holiday and we would return again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank dawn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews