We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
115
89
42
32
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
89
42
32
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar greek salad little repetitive cleaned every other day soft drinks great holiday reception staff sea view all inclusive package george hill crete village disco maids kettle
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 325 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

This holiday was a nightmare from hell!! The accommodation was disgusting just look at the photos and see for yourself. We always go all inclusive and the food was awful NO air conditioning in the restaurant meaning the doors/windows were wide open allowing flies to enter and land on the foods!! The bins had NO lids where you put the food.
We had to eat out every night as I wasn’t prepared for my children to get food poisoning from the contaminated food.
When you complained to the staff their attitude was very unhelpful after one day there we tried to get a flight home... very upset with our summer holiday.
Not enough space to tell you how bad it was.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Ambassador735209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Porto Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear Lesa,
Your reservation was a family room for 5 persons and we did not have any notice that you wanted a ground floor room without any stairs at all due to health reasons and we had arranged for you a Family maisonette with sea view and balcony for free. The next day we tried to help you by changing your room to a ground floor also with sea view for free. You asked for Air condition unit to be in all the rooms on the apartment but you should know that all hotels have one unit per room on a central location so it can cool the entire room. Our restaurant is an open area as we are on the country side with enough windows-big doors and a kiosk outside so all our guests can eat comfortably during their meals. From what we remember every breakfast - lunch and dinner you had was at the hotel.Our staff helps all of our guests and to be precise , me personally booked for you a day for 5 persons at the water park nearby at a really low low price so you can enjoy a day with your family. We wish you a nice winter time !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017

very nice 3 star hotel..restaurant,, bar,, pool,,,all a good standard.. staff very accomodating and helpful,,,had a lovely holiday because of the staff..would recommend this complex to anyone..restaurant has a very relaxed atmosphere.. food was good and varied...there was 2 pools and 1 pool bar...Giorgos in reception was very helpful..I said the mattress was a bit too hard.. was offered another room or a mattress topper immediately...nothing was too much bother for the staff..EVERYTHING WAS VERY CLEAN AND TIDY...

Room Tip: ask for a room near the smaller pool.. lovely views and very quiet and peaceful
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beckyforeigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Despite the bad reviews we've decided to visit Porto village and we are not disappointed at all! The hotel is a very beautiful place and it's just 10min walk from the beach. The hotel staff is always positive and ready to help you. You will get a great variety of tasty food and local drinks in the all inclusive package and two hours of free cocktails at the bar.
Porto village is a place you can get a quiet holiday by the sea with a beautiful sea view and you just 10 minutes away from the nightlife of Hersonisos. This is a hotel I would highly recommend!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Петър Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

Reading all these bad reviews honestly angers me, do not understand where they are coming from. The hotel looks gorgeous! Rooms are basic, but clean and safe. Can always get a sun bed at the pool and the food is very delicious! There is variety, but always something for everyone! Pizza, chips, nuggets, pasta, meats, fresh fruit and veg. Can eat outside in beautiful surroundings. 10 minute walk to beach and bars etc, which is lively, but family friendly. Popcorn, cake and rolls as snacks, which are all yum. Local spirits at bar and all fizzy drinks and before dinner there is 2 hours of cocktails! Bar has a great atmosphere of an evening and can buy extra for large variety of drinks at good price. Oh and staff are very friendly and helpful! Recommended to everyone and will be returning!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank millysholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

PLEASE AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!!

HONEST REVIEW BELOW

Whatever you do don't waste your money on this hell hole! Go somewhere else! Below I have listed everything wrong with the place, bearing in mind I don't have high expectations at all and usually laugh at the bad reviews on trip advisor!This hotel was just awful!

1) When we arrived the first room we were put it didn't have a shower holder, just a shower head sitting on the floor, the air con didn't work even thought we paid for it. They eventually moved us into another room for €3 extra a day.

2) There is a dog at the back of the hotel that constantly barks, day and night! It becomes very irritating after a few nights and the hotel don't seem to care about it.

3) The lack of food and choice of food was horrific! the breakfast didn't change all ten days we were at Porto Village and the lack of cutlery forced me to eat my stale cereal from a coffee mug! Not ideal! If you like cold baked beans and stale bread then you'll love the breakfast!

4) Extras - Aircon €55, Safe €24, Room Change €35, Late checkout €25

5) Our neighbours were three German lads who didn't get in until 6am every morning. The walls are very thin and it woke us up early! This is suppose to be a friendly family hotel. I don't have a problem with people enjoying their holiday and returning to the room late but banging around at 6am gets very annoying!

6) The mains water and electric to the whole hotel was turned off numerous times for half a day at a time, when I spoke to the receptionists they said it happens in this town often, would have been nice to have some notice so we could have had a shower before! Not only this but it effected all the food in the morning, everything was cold!

7) Unless you want to get up at 8am to reserve a sun bed good luck getting a space by the pool! There are minimal sun beds and towels are kept there all day so unless you get there early, your not getting a space!

8) The dining area had a constant supply of flies, as the food was not covered they were free to fly all over it, again the hotel staff didn't do much.

9) Finally the staff seemed very unhappy and unwelcoming. They never smiled or made conversation.

Overall I would highly recommend avoiding this place at all costs!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Tom-mcc-95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Porto Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Dear Guests,

Your are very strict with your review about us , since all of hotel issues have their
solution. First , you had issues with the facilities in the room you could simply ask
for it to be fixed since it can happen during the day of the arrival to be so busy that
the report from the housekeeper could have been delayed. Second , for the dog
of the neighbor that is located at the back of the hotel , we cannot do anything
about it since he loves animals and the dog is his guard. Third , we wish we had
the time and space in our reply to mention how much variety of food we have at the restaurant at breakfast -lunch and dinner which we cant believe that you can find something that you like to eat. Fourth, all the extras at the hotel per room of course have to be paid and you are informed upon arrival for that ( as the price of extras are not included in the initial price of the booking since some people are not interested for extras during their holidays if they want to have a low cost holiday ). As for the noise from the neighbors , our building do not have thin walls as they are built with bricks and concrete ( classic anti-seismic build ) , but when our guests return from their night out they might talk or laugh a bit and of course you can hear that through your open window only but we did not have any report from our night guard during your stay here. Sixth, We had for a few non-consecutive days partial outage from the electric company during they early hours of the day, as for the food being cold what we have to say is that when we bring it out on the bain-marie ( which preserves the food hot ) by the time each guest starts to serve his food and the time he sits down to enjoy his meal the time counts anti-clockwise for the warmth of the food. Seventh, we have two swimming pools that you can always find a free sunbed , but when all of our guests wake up early to enjoy the sun sometime can be difficult to provide a bed for each of our guests and we always try to bring more sunbeds out if our guests need it . Eighth , our restaurant is on an open are under the olive trees and next to our garden and sometime there can be a few bees of flies around but we always care for the area to be clean from insects. Ninth , one thing we can say about staff is that they are always
friendly , kind and care for the guests .Maybe your standards are for a different Hotel category and maybe we did not cover your needs during your stay here but we do not agree with the harsh review you posted on TripAdvisor.
Nevertheless we wish you all the best for your next holidays !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews