We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Mediterraneo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mediterraneo Hotel
Ranked #40 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We had to move to 3 diffirent rooms in the 2 weeks we were there. In the hills, above a sewer. You have to pay extra for air con, fridge which puts £150 onto your bill. Reception staff were surly and aloof. Hotel rep just a puppet for hoteliers, just wanted money for excursions never dealt with concerns properly. Taking Thompsons to task for selling this place to English holidaymakers, 80% German and thats who was catered for.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the lift or you do have to walk some distance to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    283
    204
    85
    59
See reviews for
389
276
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

very poor hotel, you have to walk through the high way and jump over a wall to reacj the beach or walk through othe hotels witch are quite fqr away.
we paid extra mony for a sea view room, we ould see the sea if climbing the balcony fence.
the AI drinks and sanwiches are terrible, you can taste it only once and never repeat. if you like spagetti you will eat it twice a day, if not, you are in trouble.
I think 4 stars is more than two much for this hotel, I'll never choose it again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

On arrival, we had a friendly welcome. Room was large and modern, however, bed was hard and springy (couldn't have slept on it for longer than a week). I thought thte pool area was rather dirty as I never saw it swept or hosed down in the whole week. Sun loungers were old and dated. I also never saw anyone clean the outside toilets and noticed a rubbish bag was left there all week and they often ran out of toilet paper.

Staff were friendly and polite and food nice.

To get to the beach you had to walk down the road and go under an underpass. 10 minutes + to get to the beach and not as near as pictures look.

I agree with another comment about everyone playing cards due to the lack of entertainment.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlooking the sea appear to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VixB392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Like many on here I was a little concerned with the negative reviews but took the good reviews as the decision maker. This was a big holiday as I was taking not just the wife but my parents also, for their first trip out of the UK. So it had to be good...
This hotel delivered fantastically, we stayed in one of the private villas at the back of this huge hotel complex and had our own private pool (which was great).
The only things letting the place down was that the reception staff were a bit moody, the beds are pretty tough but seems to be the theme in Greek hotels I find and it isn't quite as close to the sea as the pictures suggest (about 10 min walk).
The good things though, are great things. Food is excellent, I have no idea what some of the reviewers are talking about saying it's bad. Very tasty, lots of options if only a little repetitive. Pools are nice. Plenty to do there with football, volleyball, tennis and a gym. Rooms are basic but very clean.
All in all I would certainly come back here. Crete itself is lovely, all the Raki to drink and olives to eat.
Certainly see Spinalonga Island if thats the only trip you do :)

Room Tip: For groups of 4+ get yourselves the villa w/ private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G_Dorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

What a lot of people seem to forget is a 4 star in Greece isn't the same as a 4 star in England. The hotel was just what i wanted! A quiet location yet a 10 minute walk away from the local shops, with a beach just across the road. The whole place is kept very clean, has a varied amount of food for an all inclusive that size (no two meals were the same!). The only thing that would of improved the experience was if the all inclusive included a few more spirits!

My boyfriend and I adored the gorgeous view of the sea from both our front door and balcony, it was stunning! The views coupled with the helpful staff and above mentioned things made this the perfect trip. I'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: Higher rooms had the best view but you have to walk up a a few flights of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andmyopinionis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

got home last night after one week all inclusive. Make sure you get a comfy matress and soft pillows as ours were full of springs and rock hard. Only one night of 'entertainment' - nearly everyone seemed to be playing cards!! great fun (not). Food OK but usual repitition of all inclusive (great fresh tomatoes though!) 'Local drinks' DO NOT include vodka, rum etc ONLY ouzo, raki, local beer (wine with meal). Definitely visit villages up the hill (left at Bank on main road) hard walk but worth it for view and local tavernas. keep going through hersonissos to visit port and beyond as much more pleasant.

Room Tip: higher blocks have great sea view but steep climb up (one lift takes you half way up). top floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyM1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We have just got back for 14 days in Crete, great place but don’t say here. We booked 14 days in the Mediterraneo Hotel, but only stayed 14 hours and we knew that we had to move within 14 minutes. Room with a view of three bushes, corridors like jails, breakfast of deep fried bananas and sweet corn. I would not give this 1 star let alone 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.8 km away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#39 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.7 km away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#125 of 171 in Hersonissos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.2 km away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#57 of 171 in Hersonissos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#77 of 171 in Hersonissos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
3.7 km away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#49 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.9 km away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#41 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Hotel

Property: Mediterraneo Hotel
Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterraneo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterraneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Hersonissos
Mediterraneo Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing