We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveller rating
455
198
73
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
198
73
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up room private pool pool bar white island restaurant manager main pool junior suite beautiful hotel classic room breakfast and dinner bean bags half board star hotel a la carte restaurant local tavernas relaxing stay traditional greek dishes
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 766 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from 9 nights at this resort and although we did have a pleasant time, this hotel lacks a lot of potential which is very sad.

We arrived in the afternoon, and after speaking to one of the receptionists before arriving we had arranged to upgrade to a swim up room. We were welcomed and then informed that the dress code for men was that they had to wear long trousers at dinner.. we had booked through a third party and had not been informed of this, also who takes trousers to a country where it is going to be above 25 degrees most evenings?!

We informed the reception that we were not told of this and their response was ‘go and buy some from a shop or you can come for dinner after 9pm’ - as you can imagine we were so shocked at this response from what they call a 5* hotel! What is the difference between having dinner at 7:30/8 and 9pm?

My partner ended up paying €40 at the local shop for some trousers, to arrive at dinner and mrs EVA told us we were trying to make her life difficult, I think after spending that much on a pair of trousers for a ridiculous rule is outrageous to be spoken to like that, baring in mind this is a 5* hotel!

After this, we weren’t offered or even invited to the al a carte restaurant in which we were told by many other guests and the waiters in the restaurant themselves that we would be invited, surprise surprise we weren’t! Your guests are spending a lot of money staying at your hotel, your hospitality and customer service is absolutely the most important and this should be the same to all guests and not just favourites.

All in all, we spent every evening after dinner at the pool bar and although it is expensive, the staff here make it very worth while.. big shout out to kostas, yannis and George who made us laugh every single night! It is a shame that when the manager came down for a drink some evenings that their fun side changed as they felt they needed to be more serious, which is a shame as that’s the most important thing to have fun with your guests, we felt that the managers could also have interacted with the guests a bit more

Would return to the hotel, although agree the area it is in does lack things to do. Would definitely recommend renting a quad bike and taking a trip into hersonissos and little villages around

Stayed: August 2018
2  Thank MrTrevorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Very peaceful hotel with beautiful facilities and well designed rooms with excellent service from a warm and welcoming staff that will help you with anything you need and will also make you feel in love with Crete
30 minutes taxi ride from the airport

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ortal y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDpt, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear ortal y,
thank you for sharing your positive experience following your recent stay. We are so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful experience with us! Falling in love with Crete is our main goal, because we are always trying to make you feel Crete like we do.
Besides, Cretan hospitality is well-known.
We hope to accommodate you again soon.

Yours faithfully,
The Guest Relations Team of INSULA ALBA Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

I was looking for a nice hotel for me and a friend for summer vacation. Wanted a place for adults only. Insula alba was way beyond my expectations, it was so good and clean. The place looks just like in the pictures and i was amazed from its decoration. Staff were so nice to us. Valentina from spa staff was wonderful to us. The food verity was big.
The room was perfect.
Sea view is so relaxing, and insula alba cocktail was beautiful !
I am speechless from my visit.
Will definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank קורל ל
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDpt, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear קורל ל,
thank you so much for your lovely review and we appreciate your feedback. We are very pleased to know that your stay was so special. Insula Alba cocktail is really awesome!
Please make sure that your kind comments regarding the exceptional service will be shared with our team.
We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best Regards,
The Guest Relations Team of INSULA ALBA Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

That was enjoyable stay. beautiful hotel, the nicest stuff I've met, so clean, comfortable and very good food that work for everyone any culture.
No childrens, close to beach and other local resturants - Good vibe.
we loved it, we will recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shir_ohayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDpt, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear shir_ohayon,
thank you for posting this amazing review regarding your recent stay at INSULA ALBA Resort & Spa.
We are very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you appreciated our "beautiful, comfortable and clean hotel" and the "nicest stuff you've met".

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Guest Relations Team of INSULA ALBA Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Excellent hotel, well laid out and plenty of sunbeds, would recommend pool access rooms as these have dedicated sunbeds just outside your room.
Staff were very friendly and helpful through out the hotel, the night bar staff of Costas, George, and Yannis were very professional and always found time for a chat or a joke, a big thank you to the day time bar staff of Manas and Claudia who made our holiday that little bit special, try one of his cocktails they are a work of art.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank glennbrittonbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDpt, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear glennbrittonbritton,
thank you so much for leaving us such an excellent feedback following your visit to Insula Alba Resort & Spa.
We are very pleased to hear that you and your wife have enjoyed our hotel and especially our friendly staff that served you in the best way and our cocktails, which are "a work of art". We are grateful for recommending our swim-up rooms, as well.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
The Guest Relations Team of INSULA ALBA Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews