We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Food!”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Food!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Catered for quite a few of us - great food, beautiful area. A gem of a place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overdahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    70
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
130
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

stayed for one night, could have stayed for longer lovely bar area very friendly staff and excellent food, good bedroom, small bathroom but adequate. really good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManchesterOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great stopover, close to the M6, lovely location, nice room, very welcoming & dog friendly, excellent food, relaxing break on the journey home.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluehearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, whilst attending Aspire Studios, which is 1 mile down the road.
Great little bar, food excellent and rooms charming, with very reasonable room rates. A discount is available for Aspire Studio guests.
Very friendly atmosphere in the bar area, which also has a real log burner. Extensive breakfast menu. It is on the edge of the Lake District and i got there via a taxi from Carnforth rail station.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farney1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester.UK.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed here for 1 saturday night at the end of jan 2012.
We stayed in the double bed room with the four poster bed. To be honest, the room was very small, and so was the bathroom. We paid £5 extra to have the four poster bed'd room however we ended up with a much smaller room as the twin rooms facing the front of the hotel (ours was facing the car park at the back) were twice the size and you save the £5 for not having the posh bed!
The owners were really friendly and welcoming which we liked. We took our dog with us which they charged us another £5 for the extra cleaning needed etc
Free parking to the rear of the hotel was handly as Burton in Kendal doesnt have much free parking space available.
The hotel in best described as homely rather than a hotel or b&b. Very quiet during the night, cant really complain about anything!!
We will be staying in Burton in Kendal again and will be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I happened upon the King's Arms by chance, having been sent by the receptionist at the nearby (full) travelodge.

Excellent beer, cosy room, and a genuine unpretentious welcome. A breath of fresh air after most French hotels!

The lovely full English breakfast was the icing on the cake. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDeBordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayeed here for one night as a stop off point. The accomodation is above a quiet pub and is run by Neil with his wife. Neil couldn't do enough for us, telling us about the local area and good places to visit and avoid. The room was small, but vey nicely decorated with lovely views of the countryside. There was no bath in the room we stayed in, but the shower was good and hot. A lot of care had obviously been taken with the rooms. Breakfast the next morning was the best I have ever had, the scrambled eggs were amazing! A very pleasant stay and a lovely start to our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarryEyed14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton-in-Kendal
7.3 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.9 km away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
16.7 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 km away
Hutton House Bed & Breakfast
Hutton House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Burton-in-Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
9.8 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: Main Street, Burton-in-Kendal LA6 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Burton-in-Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Burton-in-Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms is situated in the quaint Cumbrian village of Burton-in-Kendal, situated near to the outstanding natural beauty of the Lake District National Park, Yorkshire Dales and the historic city of Lancaster with easy access to the M6 motorway. Previously an old coaching inn as early as 1763, the Kings Arms is a small family run traditional tavern, offering a warm and friendly service with excellent cuisine served in our recently extended restaurant. Dinner in our candle lit dining room is an integral part of the Kings Arms experience; we believe that you, the guest, deserve food of the highest standard, prepared with the finest local ingredients and expertise. We boast 6 well-appointed, en-suite rooms, family room and doubles all furnished in a traditional style with natural warmth and welcoming charm. Here at The Kings Arms, we offer a unique opportunity to enjoy hospitality and service of the highest standard, whilst experiencing the wonders of picturesque Cumbria - the perfect setting for any break. Burton in Kendal is a short distance from The Lake District, The Yorkshire Dales and The Trough of Bowland. The hotel is a perfect base for walkers and cyclists as it is on the Lancashire Cycle way and is surrounded by bay coastal, fell and woodland walks in areas of outstanding natural beauty. Locally their are plenty of activities, such as a number of local fisheries for the angler, the Capernwray Dive Centre, Equestrian and outdoor pursuit centres for those wanting an active break and for those wanting the more leisurely break we are perfectly sited to explore the area and then come back to relax in a traditional coaching inn based in a pretty Cumbrian Village. For those passing through and needing a short stopover the Kings Arms is 5 minutes off the the M6 at Junction 35 or 36 and is an ideal stop over venue for those wishing to break long journeys up to Scotland or down South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing