We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Agoda.com
US$145
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-08-07
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
226
98
12
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
226
98
12
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn the pub sunday roast large car park both nights evening meal twin room food was lovely family room kirkby lonsdale neil landlord conversion lakes lancashire specials annex
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 351 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2020

We heard it was under new ownership and went for a drink also picking up their new menu after meeting Ian and Debra whom were very friendly also Ian is a chef with 20yrs experience in the trade. We booked for Sunday lunch of 3 courses for £11.95! Inc Sunday roast.The food was quality and the staff were friendly, polite and professional, kieron the manager and Jamie were very lovely making our Sunday day out very enjoyable and relaxed within all the present restrictive rules. The weekly menu is priced between £7.95 and £10.95 for a main meal also they do a Monday Madness offer all meals £7 Inc steak and mixed grill! We recommend you drop in and give it a try, you won't be disappointed

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2020

Me and my wife booked for a two day break for a rest, and really glad we did
.
The Kings has recently been put under new ownership .

The new owner Ian and manager Keron,really made our stay. The service by Keron and his staff was excellent.
The food which we stayed for both evenings, was very good, you could tell it was locally sourced . The breakfasts were plentiful and very nice.
The Hotel is ideally placed for visiting places like Kirkby Lonsdale, Kendal, Windermere and many more.( which we did)
The Bedroom was clean and the bed (4 poster) was very comfortable.
Plenty of safe Parking available, quiet small village with a handy shop/Newsagents.

We have no doubt that Ian will give this Hotel the TLC it needs.
Apart from Lockdowns due, we hope and definitely will go again, sadly it may not be till next year.
Even the Cleaners were really nice and chatty and very knowledgeable on the area giving us tips of where to visit.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank neilbholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2020 via mobile

We stayed as x2 couples on way down south as it wasn't too far from motorway.

Little village pretty but nothing much there - small shop that shuts at 6pm + butcher.

Entry into hotel is a little rough - side door, through bar.
Outside of room needed a weed & tidy (see pics)
Rooms - we had 2 inc the disabled room. Our room could have been cleaner (see pics) - they definitely need to add a regular clean of spider webs on beamed ceiling to their to do list! Sticker stuck to shower hand rail that had clearly just been scrunched up & left by previous occupants.
Bed although very comfy moved freely over laminate floor. Room was setup as x2 singles so we pushed together & tried to link but it didn't work well as it was broken.

The room is beautifully decorated & with some more attention to detail it could be fab! Particularly in Covid-19 times cleaning standards should be extremely high. It seems the locals in the bar didn't think Covid was in the area though from the comments we received!

Breakfast was very good even though the waitresses were actually the housekeeping staff (they told us) - good job ladies!!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank fifithorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2020 via mobile

Can not fault the food it was amazing , hot and plenty of meat on the roast beef dinner and the young man who served us was very helpful and attentive, however we had barely finished our meal when we were asked to move tables as tables around us were being arranged to accommodate a party of seven, which spoiled an overall great experience

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank gorsty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2020

Stayed here for 1 night on the way back from Scotland. Found it randomly and was very impressed. The family room was out of use so we got a twin room inside and a room in the annexe for same price. Both rooms were comfy. We also had food in the evening which was very nice. This came with breakfast which was spot on.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews