We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
53
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
0
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 54 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is an exceptional b&b: an attractive and historic house in a pretty village/small town, two most welcoming hosts, a large, elegant, but cosy bedroom, a spotlessly clean bathroom, a delicious breakfast, and even some homemade jam and marmalade for sale. Who could fail to want to come back! We certainly shall.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Euan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson Y, Owner at Square House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review you posted, we enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to meeting the rest of your family when you come back to The Lakes.
Best wishes
Alyson and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed for one night and was greeted with a lovely warm welcome by Alyson who showed me to a lovely twin room which was exceptionally clean, spacious and had all the amenities you needed. The bathroom was amazing with a huge bath and again plenty of space and very clean. I had a lovely sleep in a comfy bed and a lovely breakfast. I even bought some of Alyson's home made jam! Both Alyson and Bob were lovely and friendly and I thought my stay was fantastic value for money. I will definitely stay again and will recommend to anyone in the area. The nicest b&b I have stayed at :)

Room tip: I had a twin room which was at the front of the hotel with a huge bathroom opposite with an amazing free standing old style claw bath. Very spacious and very comfortable.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MelanieFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson Y, Owner at Square House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor we enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Alyson and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Although we were only meant to stay for one night we liked it so much we stayed for two. It was really a perfect place to stay. Everything was excellent from the breakfast in the morning to the cleanliness of the rooms.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TimothyMelvyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson Y, Owner at Square House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you for your fab review on Trip Advisor, we enjoyed meeting you and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Best wishes
Alyson and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed for one night as a stopover en route to the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. The family room was extremely spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. One of the best cooked breakfasts we've had plus lots of lovely fresh fruit. Particular compliments about the scrambled eggs. Good family pub over the road made everything very easy.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson Y, Owner at Square House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you for giving us such a great review, I hope you enjoyed your time at the Commonwealth Games and hope to see you if you come to The Lake District again.
Best wishes
Alyson and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed for one night and found Alyson and Bob lovely hosts in this delightful b&b. Square House is spotlessly clean, comfortable and the breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented.
There is a pub 100 yards away, so finding somewhere to eat in the evening is not a problem.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews