We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half way stop over”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton-in-Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Square House Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stopping on our way to Scotland and we could not of found a better place to stop for the night. The owner Alison was so helpful and friendly. I was on crutches following surgery and therefore she allowed us to use the shower room down the hall as well as the allocated bathroom opposite our own room. We were also provided with a plastic covering to enable me to shower without getting the wound wet. The beds were high with very deep mattresses, very warm quilts and one soft and one firm pillow leading to a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was a feast - fresh fruit - home made preserves as well as the normal Full English, tea and coffee made to our own tastes. We have stayed in a number of hotels, motels and B&B's not just in this country and this rates as the best yet, my number one.
Would we stay here again - of course we would just need to be in the area or some where near by and we will recommend the place to our family and friends too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor and to the front of the house have a view of the village main road some tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank holiday-view23-7-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson Y, Owner at Square House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and you will be able to abandon the crutches very soon!
Best Wishes
Alyson and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is an exceptional b&b: an attractive and historic house in a pretty village/small town, two most welcoming hosts, a large, elegant, but cosy bedroom, a spotlessly clean bathroom, a delicious breakfast, and even some homemade jam and marmalade for sale. Who could fail to want to come back! We certainly shall.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Euan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson Y, Owner at Square House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review you posted, we enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to meeting the rest of your family when you come back to The Lakes.
Best wishes
Alyson and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed for one night and was greeted with a lovely warm welcome by Alyson who showed me to a lovely twin room which was exceptionally clean, spacious and had all the amenities you needed. The bathroom was amazing with a huge bath and again plenty of space and very clean. I had a lovely sleep in a comfy bed and a lovely breakfast. I even bought some of Alyson's home made jam! Both Alyson and Bob were lovely and friendly and I thought my stay was fantastic value for money. I will definitely stay again and will recommend to anyone in the area. The nicest b&b I have stayed at :)

Room Tip: I had a twin room which was at the front of the hotel with a huge bathroom opposite with an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MelanieFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson Y, Owner at Square House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor we enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Alyson and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Although we were only meant to stay for one night we liked it so much we stayed for two. It was really a perfect place to stay. Everything was excellent from the breakfast in the morning to the cleanliness of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TimothyMelvyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson Y, Owner at Square House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your fab review on Trip Advisor, we enjoyed meeting you and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Best wishes
Alyson and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed for one night as a stopover en route to the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. The family room was extremely spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. One of the best cooked breakfasts we've had plus lots of lovely fresh fruit. Particular compliments about the scrambled eggs. Good family pub over the road made everything very easy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson Y, Owner at Square House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for giving us such a great review, I hope you enjoyed your time at the Commonwealth Games and hope to see you if you come to The Lake District again.
Best wishes
Alyson and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for one night and found Alyson and Bob lovely hosts in this delightful b&b. Square House is spotlessly clean, comfortable and the breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented.
There is a pub 100 yards away, so finding somewhere to eat in the evening is not a problem.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We couldn't really fault our three night stay at Square House at Easter, the bed was extremely comfortable, the room was warm and the breakfast was yummy. There were extra little touches that you perhaps would not expect in a B&B, like bottled water, tea, coffee and biscuits in the room, toiletries and towelling robes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn7823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson Y, Owner at Square House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your excellent review we appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Alyson and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Square House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Square House Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Square, Burton-in-Kendal, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Burton-in-Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Burton-in-Kendal
Price Range: $88 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Square House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Georgian Family Guest House in the centre of a small South Lakes Village. Perfectly placed for The Lakes, Yorkshire Dales and The Fylde Coast with easy links to the M6 motorway. FREE ONSITE PARKING ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing