We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful time. Owners were fantastic.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Burton-in-Kendal, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

James M
1 review
“Peaceful time. Owners were fantastic.”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife and I came down for a belated honeymoon. Thomasina and George wrote for us a card and left us a gift of chocolate and shortbread in the cottage for us coming. Jeff who works on the grounds was also very kind and helpful. When the boiler broke down George kept us posted on what was happening and when we should expect the gas to work again. All in all it was a peaceful, relaxing stay in a wonderful location.

Date of stay: May 2016
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A7786QXmi...
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely holiday in beautiful surroundings made even better by great weather.This is a great base for exploring the lake district.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting within the manor estate
Liked least: We found the stairs to the living room a little narrow and steep for us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMac...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy & Comfortable”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a charming cottage just off the beaten path, it suited us very well for a week.

It's situated halfway between Kendal and Lancaster, you can reach either in about a 20 minute car journey.

The WiFi is good, and we felt a good amount of privacy. The cottage is very spacious and was warm & cosy the whole time.

Things that aren't for everyone: the nearby Geese make a little bit of a racket at 6am - we generally slept straight through.

Would strongly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosyness, WiFi
Liked least: kitchen sissors a bit naff
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Hi Andrew. Thanks so much for your review, I am sorry about the geese! For anyone else reading this review, we also do have a few peacocks that can be quite vocal in the Spring time, but please don't let this put you off coming! :)
Thomasina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnnycha...
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Fantastic'”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

An absolute Gem!!!
Spent a week in this quaint little cottage, could not have asked for anything else. An ideal location for everything you could possibly want to do in the lakes. Very clean and very well maintained. Will definitely be returning in the near future, lots to do and see, the gardens are amazing and the walks are a plenty and splendid.

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie T
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for visiting anywhere up north”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just got home from a short stay here and we couldn't recommend more highly. The owner was great, the estate was beautiful and well worth a wander round and the cottage was beautiful. One thing I would say is that if you see a feather hidden under something check its not attached to a peacock first!! Alternatively ensure to pack some spare pants!! ;)

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellen G
Hengelo, The Netherlands
1 review
“A perfect place to explore the Lake District”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a briljant time in this cottage. It is the perfect starting point for hikes on the fells and walks around the lakes. We enjoyed these tremendously. We would also recommend to visit Kendal and places such as Sizergh Castle and Levens Hall. Very impressive. The cottage was comfortable. The only downside was the poor wifi-recxeption and I think the kitchen could have been better equipped.
We had meals in The King's Arms in the village and in The Plough in Lupton. Both pubs were very nice.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness and helpfulness of out hosts.
Liked least: the kitchen and the poor wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Glad you enjoyed yourselves. We are getting fibre broadband installed next week which should solve the wifi issue, and i will update the kitchen equipment this weekend

Many thanks for your review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna0416
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very enjoyable stay in a country cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage was in a great location for our long weekend stay. We were near to our friends and a short drive from Morecambe Bay and the Lakes. Easy to book and we received a very warm welcome on arrival. The cottage is quaint and comfortable with character features and well equipped. It was an added bonus to be able to play tennis on the well maintained court. Beautiful peacocks reside in the courtyard it was a magnificent sight. The cottage is set in the grounds of the main estate whilst still maintaining its own privacy. The only things that would have improved our stay would there being a bathroom door as opposed to an open plan arrangement, but this didn't really cause any problems for us, and a double bed as opposed to two single beds. You need a car to travel to any amenities. Overall very nice accommodation at an affordable price that we would stay at again and recommend to friends.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Prefer a double bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.