We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Haven”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Burton-in-Kendal, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Natalie M
1 review
“Haven”
Reviewed May 23, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A fantastic cosy and stylish cottage on a stunning country estate. We enjoyed sipping wine on our sunny terrace admiring the peacocks; made the most of local walks straight from the door through private woods and to the limestone pavements; took in a show at the fantastic Brewery Arts Centre and a first class meal at the Plough at Lupton. Thanks to Thomasina for a heavenly stay!

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thanks for your lovely review - it was great to have you to stay! Please come again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Gorgeous setting, comfortable but needs a bit of upgrading”
Reviewed May 22, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lots of good points i.e. setting, welcome goodies, comfortable bed, little balcony, use of tennis court etc but bit underwhelmed by the interior decor and orange pine. This cottage could be so much better with upgraded furnishings, crockery, kitchen fittings and some paintwork!

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thanks for your review- have taken into consideration your comments and will look into upgrading areas without losing its quirkiness! :) safe travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick J
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant rural location”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect base for the lakes and dales comfortable cottage with friendly owners who are happy to help and advise on surrounding places to visit magestic peacocks come to visit and can be hand fed couldn't fault the experience

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jezcuer
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stable boy cottage”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great place to be surrounded by nature, remote but with easy access to the Lakes and great walks. The cottage is very comfortable and the surrounding grounds lovely for strolls.

Thomasina very friendly and available if needed but left us to our own devices otherwise.

The peacocks are friendly and not at all shy of people. Only downside is the Cockerel, but the quirky character of the surroundings and cottage more than make up.

Our second stay and just as enjoyable as the first.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. Yes I am sorry about the cockerel but he is such a handsome fellow and likes everyone awake as he's bored and wants some action :)
I hope the earplugs were of some use! Hope to see you both again

Thomasina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glennie01
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a very quaint cottage set in beautiful grounds. It is very quiet and peaceful but very close to attractions and easy access to the M6. We loved the peacocks and were amused when they scurried to meet us when we returned to the cottage. Their calls as well ss the full throttle rooster didn't bother us at all but may annoy some people. We would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M
1 review
“Peaceful time. Owners were fantastic.”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife and I came down for a belated honeymoon. Thomasina and George wrote for us a card and left us a gift of chocolate and shortbread in the cottage for us coming. Jeff who works on the grounds was also very kind and helpful. When the boiler broke down George kept us posted on what was happening and when we should expect the gas to work again. All in all it was a peaceful, relaxing stay in a wonderful location.

Date of stay: May 2016
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A7786QXmi...
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely holiday in beautiful surroundings made even better by great weather.This is a great base for exploring the lake district.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting within the manor estate
Liked least: We found the stairs to the living room a little narrow and steep for us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.