We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect bliss”
other travellers have booked this property
Hawthorns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hawthorns
Hawthorns lounge two sofas and one chair seating six guests Hawthorns Kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine, fridge/freezer, cooker, microwave etc
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Hawthorns
Hawthorns lounge two sofas and one chair seating six guests
Hawthorns Kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine, fridge/freezer, cooker, microwave etc
Hawthorns king size bedroom ensuite shower room
Hawthorns twin bedroom
Hawthorns Dining area
Hawthorns in winter
Bird Hide by river
Aerial photo, Hawthorns top left, Brambles top right, Burnside bottom left
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Diss, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
staceylyn...
Cantley, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect bliss”
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

as soon as we all arrived we felt very welcome..the stress of every day life vanished upon entering the lodge.it was amazingliy peaceful and full of little song birds.our children were able to build a den in the woods and the dogs enjoyed the freedom to explore.cant wait to go back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the overall peacefullness
Liked least: the beds were uncomfortable and small
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
So glad you all had a lovely time and yes we did notice your fabulous den in the woods today when I was filling up the bird feeders at our bird hide. Thanks & will look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A restful and comfortable stay in beautiful and peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a wonderful stay during the February half term at Alderwood Lodges. I was encouraged by the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.
The location was idyllic and although the weather was mixed we were still able to make the most of our short time in this lovely part of the country.
The lodge itself was immaculate upon our arrival, and Leigh was there to ensure that all our needs were met, as well as to fully brief us about the accommodation. She manages to make you feel very well looked after and at the same time remains utterly unobtrusive. Every aspect of our comfort was addressed, and the lodge itself was cosy, clean and fully-fitted. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and we slept like babies!
I can't comment very much on the kitchen as we didn't really cook, apart from making porridge in the microwave for breakfast.
On the first day we drove to Cromer and Cley-next -the-Sea. We had a superb afternoon of walks on the various beach to the thunderous accompaniment of the crashing waves. The afternoon lattes and cakes in the Blue Skies cafe on Cromer sea front went down very well.
On the second day our children enjoyed the treetop walkways at 'Go Ape', followed by an archery activity at High Lodge in Thetford, whilst my husband and I went for a forest walk with our little dog.
The well documented bird hide in the grounds of the lodges lived up to expectations, as the place is alive with birds and various other little creatures, the like of which you don't often come across in South London!
Thank you very much for a superb short break. We would like to return and bring our bikes with us to make the most of all the excellent cycle tracks in the vicinity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments and so glad you all had a great time and that you plan to return. We look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie G
2 reviews
“perfect!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2015 for a stay in January 2014

We had a wonderful stay, lodge was so clean and very well equipped.
Owner very welcoming and friendly.
It was so quiet and beautiful our boys loved the wishing chair.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge so clean and had everything we needed and more.
Liked least: The weather!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and glad your boys enjoyed our wishing chair. Hope they also liked our bird hide too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M-Gsmit
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely, well equipped, cosy lodge”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed for three days in Burnside over New Year, could not have asked for anything nicer.
Leigh was very helpful and friendly when I made the booking, Connie was very welcoming and friendly on arrival, the lodge was warm, cosy, extremely well equipped, quiet and very comfortable. Another big plus was that my two well behaved dogs were also welcome :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and level of equipment in the lodge
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and so glad you had a lovely time over New Year and that you dogs also had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again in the future sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolichni
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to get away from it all”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at the lodge for Christmas and could not have hoped for a better time away from it all. We took our dog with us and he had the best time as there are so many walks in a 5 min drive especially being on the edge of thetford forest
Everything was catered for and they could not have been more welcoming
This is one place we would consider returning too

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2015
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay over Christmas with us and that your dog had a lovely time too! We hope to see you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just So Lovely”
Reviewed December 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed here with my Fiancé and 10 month old little boy Eli, and his Grandparents.
From enquiry to key collection, the whole experience was beautifully simple. The Owner, Leigh, was extremely accommodating to our needs in regards to having a baby with us by making sure cots would fit in all rooms and took pictures to send to us to make our own minds up. We stayed in Hawthorn which we found with 4 adults and a crawling baby ample room with some to spare. The place was clean and cosy, like a little slice of home. the grounds were well maintained in a wild conservation way. Leigh was super friendly and helpful and nothing was any trouble for her. All members of our party were extremely impressed by the very well equipped and clean lodge, the grounds and the simplicity and hassle free stay, all due to Leigh and her super friendly and professional efforts. I WILL be back again to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coming back
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2014
We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack C
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the Nicest 'If Not The Nicest' Place to Stay We have Ever Experienced”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We Stayed at One of the Three Alderwood Lodges for 7 Days, All of the Properties are Stunning in All Respects: Location, Design & Facilities of the 3 Properties They are Situated in: 9 Acres of Plush 'Well Kept Greenery & Woodland' Wildlife in Abundance, from Deer to Otters and Large Amounts of Specialist Birds to Such an Extent 'The World Renown TV Personality & Botanist' Professor David Bellamy Personally Awarded Them a 'Gold Award for Conservation' when He Visited in June 2013 to Open the In-House Newly Completed Bird Observation Hide, Leigh, Connie & Peter (Owners), Still to This Day Work Closely with Prof Bellamy and Have a Substantial Defined Conservation Area within the 9 Acres that Surrounds the 3 Lodges, which Prof Bellamy is To this Day Deeply Involved In.

My Wife and I are Extremely Discerning (From Yorkshire Stock), We therefore 'Say It How it Is' I am Profoundly & Severely Disabled and One of the Three Lodges (Brambles), is Specifically Adapted to an Extremely High Standard to Cope with High Levels of Disability, We Stayed in May 2014 for the First Time with 2 Carers to Help Me Due to My Severe and Profound Disabilities 'All 4 of Us Thought this was the Best Place We had Ever Had the Good Fortune to Find' to Such an Extent My Wife and I 'Immediately Booked Another Week' in September 2014 and a 'Third Week' in May Next Year (2015), Don't Hold Back: Book a Week or Even Three before Leigh, Connie and Peter are Fully Booked: You Will Not Be Disappointed!

Liz and Jack South East Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything 'Its So Good' Its Impossible to Pick Out One Particular Item!
Liked least: Going Home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
Thank you son much for your lovely comments. We always try to make our guests feel at home and look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing