We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Carol
Berkshire, United Kingdom

Lovely stay in Holt Norfolk

Review of The Lawns Rooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 28, 2022via mobile
Stayed for two nights. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the hotel is about to close for changes to be made and the bar was slightly depleted. The food was very good but menu was again slightly limited. Breakfast was good with lots of choice.
I was surprised that our bedroom windows ( tilt & turn) didn’t have window restraints.
It was however a very enjoyable stay in an excellent location.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$268
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$268
  • Agoda.com
    C$267
  • eDreams
    C$268
4.5 km from The Lawns Rooms
Restaurant
Room service
C$318
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    C$318
0.2 km from The Lawns Rooms
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$192
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$174
  • Expedia.com
    C$185
0.1 km from The Lawns Rooms
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$269
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$250
  • Agoda.com
    C$229
  • Hotels.com
    C$250
5.5 km from The Lawns Rooms
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Kings Head Pub & STEAK, Holt, North Norfolk
C$244
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$244
  • StayForLong
0.2 km from The Lawns Rooms
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$428
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$427
  • Hotels.com
    C$427
  • Priceline
7.7 km from The Lawns Rooms
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$266
  • Expedia.com
    C$266
  • Agoda.com
    C$224
  • Hotels.com
    C$266
6.2 km from The Lawns Rooms
Free parking
Restaurant
C$229
  • Agoda.com
    C$229
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
5.8 km from The Lawns Rooms
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
3.5 km from The Lawns Rooms
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
6.3 km from The Lawns Rooms
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Holt
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
170
120
56
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
170
120
56
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the garden small hotel shower head booked a table a great place to stay no hesitation in recommending full english warm welcome mini fridge town centre following morning stayed for two nights enjoyable stay menu mitch bath norfolk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 379 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2022

We stayed here for 3 nights with friends. We chose to stay in the Garden rooms. Everything was well appointed including a mini fridge. Fresh milk and biscuits provided daily. The hotel is situated in a quiet position 5 minutes walk from the town centre. Parking is available. We enjoyed wonderful tasty breakfasts and ate in the restaurant. The food was extremely tasty and service was excellent. You could tell the staff were happy which seemed to be an example set by the manager. We would definitely come here again and have no hesitation in recommending this friendly and clean hotel. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank keithrN5409EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 8, 2022

Myself and my husband has recently had our wedding reception here, and through covid lockdowns we have had to cancel at short notice and myself being the bride, having many worries about everything going to plan, mitch (the manager) and jade (assistant manager) reassured us the whole way through that all will be fine. They catered to many different dietary requirements and the food was the most delish, my guests were asking for more!! Mitch and his wife and staff Tom and jade could not have done any more for us and our guests, they decorated and hosted our special day better then we could ever imagine! Myself and my bridesmaid stayed the night before and the room was spotless and spacious, and the bed.. Was by far the comfiest bed Ive ever slept in. The house keeping lady was so nice and friendly too, she even helped me into my dress, but she always had a smile on and was happy to help with anything! When myself and hubby got back to the hotel she had been in and changed all bed and towels to fresh ones and had a tidy up! She was fab!! After every thing these guys did for us I would reccomend them 110% to anyone, from the Constant reasurring, the the flexibility, the decorating, the service, the food, not forgetting the banter and dancing after pulling them all on the dance floor for the last dance of the night. Anyone thinking about having a wedding here, do it! You won't regret it!!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mrs_holman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 2, 2022

As a local and finishing a another 60 hour week, the lawns is always a great place to relax.
We have been regulars for many years. Sue and Daniel with support of the different staff over the years have done a good job. This year Mitch and Sarah took on the management and have brought a great family feel to the guests.
In such hard times running hotels and pubs they have really rallied when short of staff.
Mike the chef is tip top. Not every day is perfect never will be but overall a good job done.
Then came the takeover, Chestnut inns, high Hope's for all. The reality though is clear hike the prices, don't worry about the locals. Suddenly the staff are all flat and some already have left. Business groups never get right in Norfolk it just isn't the same recipe to success.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank R1952DZdominicp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 29, 2022 via mobile

Excellent stay at The Lawns which is now dog friendly (website hasn’t been updated yet) Mitch, his family & staff were all amazing and made us feel most welcome and nothing was too much trouble! Food was excellent compliments to the chef! Nice bar area. Lovely rooms, clean & comfortable with everything we needed. Holt is a lovely area we will definitely be coming again!

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lawlaw2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 27, 2022 via mobile

The staff running the hotel took over recently and went out of their way to make our stay exceptional. Mitch and his family couldn’t have done more to make us feel welcome and looked after, including our two dogs (the hotel is newly dog-friendly).

Rooms were spacious and clean with comfy beds, including dog beds for our pups! Dogs are welcome in the conservatory (rather than main restaurant) which was lovely overlooking the garden, and the bar.

The chefs are excellent, we had breakfast and dinner both days and everything we ordered was delicious.

Located brilliantly for exploring Holt which has some great local shops and tea rooms, make sure you venture down the side streets off the main road.

We will certainly return when next visiting Norfolk. A great weekend away.

Room tip: The sweet potato and fennel cakes with Korean sauce were AWESOME - you have to try them! Lamb belly and sea bass also highly recommended.
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Curious31163452321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews