We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Exterior
Garden
Garden
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Hallway seating area
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
KItchen
Dining room (seats 12)
Dining room with seating area
Dining room
Double ensuite with balcony (1st floor)
Double ensuite with balcony (1st floor)
Double ensuite room (1st floor)
Double ensuite room (1st floor)
Family room with en suite shower room (1st floor)
Family room with en suite shower room (1st floor)
Family room window seat
Ensuite shower room
Double room with cot (2nd floor)
Double room with cot (2nd floor)
Twin room (2nd floor)
Family bathroom with bath and separate shower
Exterior
Courtyard seating area
Exterior
Hunstanton cliffs
Old Hunstanton beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Hunstanton, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
W8222SCka...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury home from home”
Reviewed November 14, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Poppy House is ideal for extended family holidays. The layout of the house works really well. The house is decorated and furnished to a high standed. The owners have equipped the house with all you could possibly need. There is plenty of parking and the location within Hunstanton is ideal - within walking distance of the main town, beach and old Hunstanton. The owners were in close contact. We had a fabulous stay and look forward to returning - thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrFury76
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Although the title of this review is home away from home, this is not quite true. Poppy house is so much better than our home that I did not want to leave and go back to reality!

The first thing to say is that although the property looks nice in the photos provided, the pics by no means do justice to the house itself. It is far more impressive when experienced in person.

We were all comfortably accomodated by the space and with the facilities. Each family has their own bathroom/en suite. There was planty of linen and a lovely touch of fresh white slippers on the pillow for each resident on arrival. The rooms were spotless. I did not have any concerns about hygeine. A couple of the rooms had lovely sitting areas to have a morning coffee with a view. There was a reasonably sized lounge and a much larger dining area which was great for family dinners but also for some after dinner board games and silliness (there is a huge range of board games, books, on offer). If a TV screen is more your bag for entertainment, there is a ?42inch TV in the lounge with a basic SKY entertainment package as well as SKY sports. Another lovely touch was that a Netflix account is ready and activated in the samsung smart tv. If those options were not enough then there is also a wii and a psp to entertain (along with the obligatory wifi ). We brought bags full of toys for our little ones. We needn't have bothered. There were lots already there to occupy them. We didn't even have time to get round to set up the scealextrix (wrong spelling I am sure!)

The kitchen is very well equipped and is filled with mod cons and included hi-end gadgets from quality brands as well as some solid basics from Ikea (good selection of kids cutlery/crockery from there). Whilst on the topic of the kitchen, the welcome pack, including some basics (and cava and cake) delighted all and was an example of the nice welcoming touches throughout the house.

If you are looking for a holiday home in Hunstanton and have 10 - 12 people (or maybe even as few as 8?) then this is the place for you. I just hope that we can convince our extended family to come up again with us in the future as we definitely want to book again. Thank you to Sara for all your hospitality and for setting up a wonderful holiday home. Your communication was excellent throughout. I will certainly recommend your lovely property to all those on this website who are considering a holiday in Sunny Hunny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The range of entertainment on offer to suit all ages in case of a rainy day or for fun indoor evenings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Poppy House in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayrh
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely house, good location, fabulous weekend”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed with our large family including 2 children, 2 toddlers and a baby. The house is fantastic and incredibly well equipped for families. Stairgates, highchairs, baby monitors, bath toys, travel cots - you name it the house provides it! The big dining room is lovely for family meals and the cosy lounge good for chilling out at night.Beds also very comfortable! Hunstanton is 10 minutes walk max from the house, Old Hunstanton more like 30 minutes but we caught them mini train that goes along the front. All in all highly recommended holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and all it offered for families
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Thank you very much. We hope to welcome you back to Poppy House in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spydog007
GLOS
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our week at Poppy House was really nice. There were 8 in our party, and the house was very accommodating. You can literally park your car and not use it for the week.
The house comes with everything you need to make yourself at home. The large kitchen comes with everything you need to make a large (Christmas) family meal. There is a large family dining room or there is seating in the kitchen as well. The house has TV’s in all bedrooms and Sky TV in the living room.
Poppy House is close to pubs, shops, the high street, and the beach. Even Old Hunstanton, is less than a mile away. We walked to the two restaurants there. The Lodge in Old Hunstanton, was the best restaurant we tried during the week. Also in Old Hunstanton the Best Western’s restaurant/pub called The Ancient Mariner Inn, was nice. There is a large open fire at the Ancient Mariner Inn.

Tesco is just on the other side of town, about 25 min walk. Or Sainsbury’s is closer, about 10 min walk. There are several good coffee shops in town and several nice looking restaurants. Several golf courses are nearby to Poppy House, and even a pitch and put you could walk to. We were there in December, but can imagine the amount of water activities you can do at the beach.
If you are looking for holiday house/cottage, you’ve found it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and large bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled you had a fantastic Christmas and enjoyed your stay at Poppy House. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing