We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
109
87
28
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
87
28
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelson suitesunken bathlady hamiltonwedding venuelog fireevening mealbridal suitenight's sleepstayed two nightsfriendly welcomelovely foodlocal producea lovely place to stayfish and chipsianmarqueeconservatory
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 254 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2016

We had the Nelson Suite which was comfortable but a little dated but well in keeping with the age of the Hotel so no problem - one of us found the sunken bath a bit difficult to get in and out but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - had booked for a pre-Christmas family meal and the food was excellent as was the breakfast the next day - Staff polite and extremely helpful - couldnt have asked for more. Will cetainly visit again when we next visit family in the area - disappointed to find New Year fully booked!!!

Room Tip: Our room was above the bar I think so a little noise from the bar but did not trouble us as we just stayed up and had a drink!!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Whetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2016

We had our Christmas meal there on Friday 16th December 2016. The surroundings are good and the service was efficient. I think the Christmas lunch may have been good if the Roast potatoes were not too tough for a lot of the group to chew, as was the Yorkshire and stuffing which seemed to have been cooked a long while before being served. The plates were cold as were the vegetable which looked delicious and I'm sure would have tasted lovely if they had been hot. On the plus side, my soup and the desert were delicious. I didn't say anything because I didn't want to upset the lady who had gone to the trouble of arranging the outing, but afterwards found that I was not alone and several people commented on the above points.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2016

What an excellent hotel, we arrived in the middle of a power cut and were met by a very friendly member of staff who apologised about the lack of electricity (it was actually quite romantic with candles dotted around the entrance hall). We were offered fruit juice as we couldn't make coffee because of the power failure - unnecessary as the power came back after about 20 minutes.

The room was really nice, with plenty of space and the hotel itself feels more like you're staying at a friends house rather than a hotel - very relaxing atmosphere.

As we sat down for our evening meal the power went off again - a member of staff arrived with extra candles and our food was served up as if nothing had happened - always a good measure of a hotel when they deal with issues without any fuss.

We needed to be out before breakfast the next day so we asked for an early snack - the next morning a tray of food had been left read for us.

On our second evening there was a big event in the marquee but this had no impact on our meal, food was served up without any delays. Didn't notice any excess noise from the event in the marquee either.

We had a cooked breakfast on the second morning (which was all lovely) before checking out and heading home..

Will definitely return to this hotel when we visit Norfolk again (hopefully next spring).

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notsogrumpytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. We were given Nelson suite. Bedroom was clean and well furnished although mattress a bit soft for us. Had separate lounge which was handy but we didn't use much. Bathroom had the sunken bath which tbh not our thing. Looked dated and not in keeping with rest of inn. Water went everywhere when you showered. Can't open window and had a noisy macerator WC! Suggest refurb. But the food was lovely. Simple and well prepared. Excellent pork belly and good fish. Far better food than the expensive main hotel in town centre. Good puds, coffee and drinks. Breakfast excellent and plentiful. Ian and his team really hardworking and friendly. Hotel is out of town in lovely setting. The inn is probably a work in progress and for that reason not a 5 star review, but would definitely go back. Excellent value. Do a bit more updating (but not too OTT and pretentious!) and will be a 5 star review next time!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank curlytop127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2016

After visiting several wedding venues, we just found Scarborough Hill perfect for what we needed. They made sure that my daughter and son-in-law had the wonderful day that they wanted. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole experience was friendly and relaxed. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. They allowed us to dress the marquee the day before which was such a help. We all stayed in the cottage the night before which has 3 bedrooms and a full kitchen so getting ready on the morning of the wedding was so nice to all be together. After the wedding we came back to pimms on the patio which was a really nice touch. The food served at the reception was really lovely and everyone commented on how good it was. The grounds are lovely and my daughter had some beautiful wedding photos taken all around the grounds. We then had the use of the marquee for the evening with a bouncy castle just outside for the children and a hog roast which went down a treat. My daughter and son-in-law had their perfect day thanks to Ian, Rosie and all their staff. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy-m-32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews