We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
109
87
28
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
87
28
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelson suitesunken bathlady hamiltonwedding venuelog fireevening mealbridal suitenight's sleepstayed two nightsfriendly welcomelovely foodlocal producea lovely place to stayfish and chipsianmarqueeconservatory
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 254 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017

This was a return visit to the Scarborough Hill having previously stayed in the Lady Hamilton Suite for a weekend break and the Nelson Suite for our honeymoon. I love the quirkiness of the Nelson with its blend of art deco and Georgian, so we booked it again.

The hotel is in a wooded area, and the grounds have loads of little "country" features and quiet places for outdoor seating. The reception are is to the rear and is close to the bar. Meals are in a conservatory area overlooking the grounds.

The breakfasts are well cooked, and care is taken with allergy issues. I had some very nice haddock and poached eggs for breakfast, and the tea and jam offerings are from specialist suppliers. Service on the second day was a bit slow, but they were busier.

The Nelson Suite has a very nice sitting room with a fireplace and has a homey yet classy feel. The bedroom has a large wardrobe, and a fairly hard, but comfortable bed. There was a little noise in the early evening from the bar below, but it became quieter as the evening went on, and we had a good night's sleep.

The reception staff were friendly, and very helpful with carrying bags, etc. This was especially useful as there are stairs to negotiate and some uneven floors, it steps up and down.

The bathroom in the Nelson is a winner with the sunken tub, pillars, and a good supply of hot water. The shower is adequate but doesn't have great pressure, but this really didn't matter as the bath was so nice.

This is a lovely place to retreat to, or to use as a base to explore the Norfolk coast.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank padreray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Only Stayed here overnight but was quite enjoyable. The food and service was excellent. The room we were in needed a little tlc but the bathroom, linen and towels etc spotless
You can see the owners are in the middle of a re vamp
So all in all well done

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ruffy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017

It'd been quite a while since we'd last eaten here, the venue hasn't really changed a lot, it's in a really nice setting but could do with sprucing up a bit. The waiter that served us seemed a bit distracted but friendly enough. Our meal was lovely though! I had fish and chips and it was really delicious, my partner had a steak which was cooked to perfection and we ended up having half and half of each other's meals! We are planning on coming back next week! Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pht121280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2017

Scarborough Hill is special to us as we got married here last year and the day went perfectly, in 2016 the food and the staff were both amazing. However we went for a meal this week (September 2017) and it seems an overhaul of staff has now massively let this place down. We were served by an older gentleman who had no idea what customer service was. He threw our plates down in front of us when our food arrived. We waited an hour for our meals to arrive which is completely unacceptable even when food is cooked fresh, and then when the food arrived we were very disappointed. The portions were small for the price and the food was low quality. My husband's steak and ale pie consisted of a bit of watery beef casserole with a shop bought pie lid placed on the top - it was NOT a pie. I had cod and chips and whilst the fish was nice, it was fried in far too much oil. The dish was advertised as cod, chips, peas and tartar sauce yet when it arrived there was no sauce. I asked the waitress for tartar sauce and she went to get some..... 20 mins later she was still gone so we caught the other waiter and asked only to be told 'she's trying to find some!!" - why advertise a dish as served with sauce if you have no intention of serving it with it!! When it finally arrived (after everyone else had almost finished their meals!) it had obviously just been whipped up in the kitchen as they had none and it wasn't very nice. To top off the experience, the older gentleman cleared our plates and immediately put dessert menus in front of us saying "I assume you are all having dessert?" This rudeness was the last straw and we quickly asked for the bill instead. At no point during our meal did anyone ask how the food was or if we wanted any more drinks. The only slight saving grace was that the young boy behind the bar was very polite and friendly. We will not be returning again and feel very ripped off by the price we paid for the shockingly bad food and service!!! The only positive for us is that we had our wedding here last year with wonderful staff and delicious food. If we were looking at wedding venues this year, Scarborough Hill would now definitely be avoided!!! Very disappointed for the place.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank ab2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017

Booked a meal at restaurant as Scarborough Inn has lots of happy memories for us. Although we booked for 7 and ordered in good time, food was not served until 7.45, by which time we were both extremely hungry. Hubby ordered Pigeon special for starters which he said was overlooked; tough and chewy. I had cod cheek special which was ok but nothing special! Overall the menu is quite limited. Husband had gammon steak for main. This was tough and very salty and believe me, it takes a lot for him to not clear his plate!!! I had lemon sole which was a very small portion for a main meal, in fact it was not much bigger than the starter. We did complain and to be fair, the male member of staff who dealt with us was polite and apologetic and he did reduce the bill to reflect our disappointment. We will hesitate before booking again which is a shame because it's in a beautiful location and we have always found the staff warm and welcoming.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews