We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
111
87
29
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
87
29
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nelson suite sunken bath lady hamilton wedding venue log fire evening meal bridal suite night's sleep stayed two nights friendly welcome lovely food local produce a lovely place to stay fish and chips ian marquee conservatory
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 257 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2017

This was the 3rd event we had attended in the marquee,...sadly the food was in my opinion less than appetising...previously we had enjoyed a very nice hot buffet supper....but this last event ..the only hot part was the chicken legs...the rest of the table was cold...as was the temperature in marquee..ok ...it was October..
But the heating was ineffective...this was a charity fundraiser...as were the previous events ..sadly I think we would be very unlikely to attend any other events in the marquee after the demise of summer weather.my husband was so cold at the end of the evening he actuality went and sat inside the hotel...I was dancing to the superb disco..so didn't feel the cold....a lot of people left before the end which was midnight....I hope this will be viewed as constructive criticism by the management for the highest Good of the establishment....because in the interests of the locals it is in essence a nice location and one of few with a marquee in the grounds that could provide a successful venue for weddings/ party's ect.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pammy N Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Stayed two nights I believe the inn is under new management and ownership , the inn itself needs a little TLC although the staff are excellent as is the food , as we arrived we were greeted by a young man who was more than helpful and directed us to our room , the evening meal was good but the breakfast as better if we were in the area again we would definately stay at this inn

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

This was a return visit to the Scarborough Hill having previously stayed in the Lady Hamilton Suite for a weekend break and the Nelson Suite for our honeymoon. I love the quirkiness of the Nelson with its blend of art deco and Georgian, so we booked it again.

The hotel is in a wooded area, and the grounds have loads of little "country" features and quiet places for outdoor seating. The reception are is to the rear and is close to the bar. Meals are in a conservatory area overlooking the grounds.

The breakfasts are well cooked, and care is taken with allergy issues. I had some very nice haddock and poached eggs for breakfast, and the tea and jam offerings are from specialist suppliers. Service on the second day was a bit slow, but they were busier.

The Nelson Suite has a very nice sitting room with a fireplace and has a homey yet classy feel. The bedroom has a large wardrobe, and a fairly hard, but comfortable bed. There was a little noise in the early evening from the bar below, but it became quieter as the evening went on, and we had a good night's sleep.

The reception staff were friendly, and very helpful with carrying bags, etc. This was especially useful as there are stairs to negotiate and some uneven floors, it steps up and down.

The bathroom in the Nelson is a winner with the sunken tub, pillars, and a good supply of hot water. The shower is adequate but doesn't have great pressure, but this really didn't matter as the bath was so nice.

This is a lovely place to retreat to, or to use as a base to explore the Norfolk coast.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank padreray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Only Stayed here overnight but was quite enjoyable. The food and service was excellent. The room we were in needed a little tlc but the bathroom, linen and towels etc spotless
You can see the owners are in the middle of a re vamp
So all in all well done

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ruffy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017

It'd been quite a while since we'd last eaten here, the venue hasn't really changed a lot, it's in a really nice setting but could do with sprucing up a bit. The waiter that served us seemed a bit distracted but friendly enough. Our meal was lovely though! I had fish and chips and it was really delicious, my partner had a steak which was cooked to perfection and we ended up having half and half of each other's meals! We are planning on coming back next week! Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pht121280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews