We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most comfortable and relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dales Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Dales is just as a country house hotel should be. Set in attractive grounds and next door to the National Trust's Sheringham Park it is very quiet and peaceful which makes it an ideal base for a relaxing break. The food is delicious and the staff most helpful and welcoming. Rooms are extremely comfortable and most have beautiful views. The building and its history are most interesting and it makes a real change from one of these bland modern and rather soulless hotels. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavender20186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

We visited The Dales Country House Hotel earlier this year in February with our old dog Hamish. We were given a very good room with double doors right out into the garden and had a very enjoyable visit. We sadly lost Hamish in the Summer and now have a puppy called Jess and decided for her first holiday she should come with us to visit Sherringham and booked into The Dales. We were not disappointed, we were given the same room as before which was perfect for our needs, large and spacious with a great big comfortable bed and amazing views. The food was exceptional and the staff helpful and friendly. I have no idea why a couple of the previous reviews were so negative, we were very happy with our stay and will certainly go back again and again.

Room Tip: We had Grebe for our room which is great if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filliefidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Having decided to take advantage of The Sunday Times offer of free accomodation at The Dales I then read Trip Advisor and nearly cancelled the reservation. Fortunately I didn't! I can only assume that there has been a major renovation project or previous guests were hyper critical. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and had a lovely bathroom.
All of the staff were friendly and efficient but, the highlight of the visit was the quality of the food in the restaurant which was beautifully presented and cooked to a high standard.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were originally allocated a superior room and we assumed wrongly that this would include a king sized bed,when we realised that the room only offered a double we asked to swap and were offered room number 11, a room we had previously stayed in. It is a large room wth a good view over the front of the hotel, big comfy bed and pillows, comfy sofa also. All staff very friendly, food and service very good. A great selection of games to play after dinner or in the afternoon with afternoon tea.

On the doorstep to the National Trust Park with a path leading down to the steam train station where again we were given a very warm welcome and a steam train ride into Sheringham.

This hotel is perfect if you like good food and wine and friendly service and can put up with the quirkiness of an old building and do not need high tech equipment to enjoy your stay. Plumbing was slightly noisy in our room and the television is getting a bit dated but works fine and the gardens still could do with some TLC but apart from that everything was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room number 11 is very nice, would not want a room on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane2317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The was meant to be the highlight of our 10 day visit to the North Norfolk coast. It proved to be the lowest point and very disappointing. We were given a room with only a very limited view of the parkland around. When we insisted on a change (which we never normally do) it emerged that the room was often used for staff. Our second room was satisfactory.
The overall impression was of faded elegance; of a three star hotel trying to be five star; of pretentiousness and artificial hospitality. There was none of the natural warmth and friendliness of the other hotels we used.
We would never go again and would not recommend it. But it might appeal to some people.

Room Tip: Cannot advise. Our experience was very poor. We should not have needed to change rooms having booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

found the staff and hotel pleasant when we arrived,but was shown to an annexe of the hotel,which was very similar to a travel lodge room (nothing against that oh maybe the price) with its own little patio,wouldnt say it was superior though.when we pointed out to reception they were very obliging and moved us to another room on 1st floor,it was enormous (more like it)we did not eat in hotel at all,but got a taxi into sherringham for £3 odd one way and theres plenty of restaurants in town,and taxi rank is central in town so very easy.did walk it once but no street lighting coming back and very busy road.went out every day and had breakfast out at different venues we visited would not pay £13 each for breakfast as breakfast wasnt included in our booking,still hotel was lovely and staff very pleasant,would stay there again .

Room Tip: we stayed in room 3 it was at the front of hotel ,there is a room with a balcony overlookingthe back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Having just returned from a 2 night stay, I feel I have to comment. My husband & I paid quite a lot of money for an up-graded room only to be very disappointed. We knew the hotel didn't have a gym, swimming pool etc. so had high expectations from this 4 star hotel. The room was outside - not bad (though the t.v only had 4 chanels, shower was poor and a good clean of the grout wouldn't have gone a miss). But the worst of all was the constant banging of the staff room door next door, waking us up late at night and early in the morning. When I complained after a night of torture, I was told staff leave off at 11 (I know that, I heard) and when I suggested the Receptionist came to hear for herself, no comment was made. We also suggested an easy solution would be a soft closing door hinge, again no comment. We were offered a standard room on the top floor but my husband is unwell and we didn't feel like moving, the banging continued the next night. We recently stayed with our children at local caravan park (much cheaper for obvious reasons) where the tap constantly dripped, when I complained they appologised and a handy-man fixed it almost instantly - problem solved, happy customers - and we will return there. One other thing - if a (very high priced) bar is in a room, surely the things on offer should at least be in date -the water and coke were months out of date. Tatty garden furnature, a good clean up outside needed, food over-priced but a pretty dining room. Such a shame as could be so much nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan_howes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
4.4 km away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
688 reviews
4.2 km away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
10.9 km away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
800 reviews
7.3 km away
The Cliftonville Hotel
17.9 km away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Country House Hotel

Address: The Dales Lodge Hill, Sheringham NR26 8TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range: $194 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in national Trust parkland, you will find a quintessentially English grade II listed country house. Discover luxurious bedrooms, original fireplaces, mullioned windows and a fine oak staircase. Add to this, innovative English cuisine and a wealth of those little extras that make all the difference, and truly you have found a place where you can relax! You can also enjoy free, wireless internet broadband access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dales Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Country Hotel
Dales Country Hotel
The Dales Country House Hotel Sheringham, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing