We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel, disapointing stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dales Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“beautiful hotel, disapointing stay !”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed in the Pipistrelle Room, it was supposed to be a premier room, but it was very small.
No space for your luggage, the TV did not work properly and all the wires were hanging down loosely from the TV.
The extracxtor fan did not work in the bathroom which had no natural ventilation.
The wi-fi signal could not be obtained in this room either.

We chose off the two menus on Saturday night and was asked to pay £19.95 extra for a small rib eye steak from the 'al a carte' menu !
No one had explained that extra charges would be incurred if you choose from the menu, either verbally before ordering or in writing.
They did however remove this charge from the bill when I complained, so beware when staying for b,b & evening meal.
We had long waits both Friday and Saturday night for our meals as there as only one chef on duty although the restaurant was full.
Breakfast was also as bed, long waiting times for your food.
No complaints about the food or the hotel in general apart from the comments above, beautiful grounds, and the hotel backed on to the Sherringham national park with stunning views and walks.
We paid alot of money for a three night stay which is fine because the hotel is worth it, it was just spoiled by the unfortunate findings and events.

Room Tip: Check your room before accepting, check your tariff and do not be afraid to complain. Good hotel ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    155
    69
    42
    9
See reviews for
70
327
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed on a 3 nights DB&B deal for the price of two which made the price much more realistic. We stayed in the four poster bed room which was very nice except for the hardness of the mattress - a topper would have solved the problem! The balcony overlooking the gardens was an added bonus. The food was always delicious - beautifully cooked & presented and all the staff were very attentive and helpful but also friendly giving a very warm & relaxed but professional atmosphere. A very good choice for a weekend of relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stemar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We booked a 4 night stay at the Dales just before the Easter Holidays. We chose The Dales because they allow dogs to stay in some of the ground floor rooms. Our room was a superior double and looked out onto the wooded area at the back of the hotel. This was ideal as we could let our dog out directly from the room instead of having to walk through the hotel each time she needed to go out. A path through this area of the grounds leads directly to the Sheringham Hall Estate where you can enjoy long walks with your dog.

The room was furnished in a contemporary style with solid wood flooring, which is a good idea for rooms that allow dogs, and was clean and well layed out. The huge bed was very comfortable and the room was so quiet that we both enjoyed deep sleep.

Our dog does not like being left in hotels rooms and when we asked if dogs were allowed in the restaurant the receptionist informed us that they were not but that we could eat in the library (in which dogs were allowed). When we arrived for dinner we found a table had been set for us - we really enjoyed our 'private' dining room and also ate breakfast in the same room.

The food was generally of a very good standard. The only fault was an overcooked pigeon breast starter, but then I do like my game meat cooked pink. This was rectified immediately and I enjoyed the second attempt.

Overall we had a very relaxing stay at The Dales. All the staff were friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble - they really made such a difference and are a credit to the McKenzie Hotel Group that run this and two other hotels. We will definitely return.

Nearby is the wonderful North Norfolk coast and some very nice coastal towns - Wells next-the-sea is worth a visit. Also try lunch at Cookies at Salthouse - this is a quirky restaurant run by a family that have a crab and seafood shop. Great value and deliciously fresh.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms great for dog owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed for two nights in April 2012. Lovely hotel, warm welcome from duty manager Rachel, very friendly and helpful staff, always smiling. delicious dinner menu and plentiful breakfast buffet. Right next door to Sherringham Park, or just a few miles drive to the coast. Very quiet and peaceful. Perfect.

Gerry.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was a present for Christmas from our son and his fiance. One night in The Dales Country House Hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We even had an upgrade to a Superior room. We chose to have dinner in the Upchers restaurant. My husband has food intolerences and the chef made small changes to the menu so that even he had a great meal. ( He normally has to suffer and watch me eat all the great meals)
The staff were fantastic, from the receptionist to the restaurant staff, and I would not hesitate to recommend The Dales to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AManns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel is one of the very best hotels we have stayed in, we have travelled to many countries and have stayed in many different types. This hotel, by far have had the most polite staff, always happy to help and what ever it was we wanted. The rooms are excellent, with great views and a very comfy bed. The food was spot on, we can not give the staff of this hotel enough praise

Room Tip: I honestly don't think there is a 'room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This has been our 5th Visit to this and every year it gets better and better. The rooms are
lovely with fantastic views.
The service is first class every member of staff are a credit to the hotel, nothing is never to much trouble for them, they are polite and attentive.
And as for the food it was simply FANTASTIC from a lovely cooked breakfast to a tasty ciabatta for lunch to the superb three course meal in the evening.
We will back in November !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
4.4 km away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
610 reviews
10.9 km away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
516 reviews
8.7 km away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
The Cliftonville Hotel
8.0 km away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
352 reviews
17.9 km away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Country House Hotel

Property: The Dales Country House Hotel
Address: The Dales Lodge Hill, Sheringham NR26 8TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in national Trust parkland, you will find a quintessentially English grade II listed country house. Discover luxurious bedrooms, original fireplaces, mullioned windows and a fine oak staircase. Add to this, innovative English cuisine and a wealth of those little extras that make all the difference, and truly you have found a place where you can relax! You can also enjoy free, wireless internet broadband access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dales Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Country Hotel
Dales Country Hotel
The Dales Country House Hotel Sheringham, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing