We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay with fabulous gardens and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rectory Holidays

Holiday apartment entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holiday apartment entrance
View of garden from apartment Doors onto garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Holiday apartment entrance
View of garden from apartment
Doors onto garden
Dining area
Large window to garden
Sleeping area
Seating area
Kitchen area
Shower room
Shower
Garden View
Garden View
Garden View
The Old Rectory
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Swaffham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andreawil...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay with fabulous gardens and lovely cosy feel.”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were lucky enough to get our holiday at very short notice due to an unexpected cancellation. Before booking I checked previous reviews on trip advisor which said how good it was and we were not disappointed. My best memories are going out to various places and then coming back to sit in the beautiful gardens reading books and listening to the silence. It was so relaxing and we can't wait to go again. Carole W was the perfect host even though we hardly saw her all week we knew if we needed her we just had to knock. PERFECT.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, accommodation and the setting.
Liked least: Coming home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Thank you for such a lovely review. You were perfect guests too. I think you enjoyed your holiday and enjoyed all there was on offer around Beachamwell. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helend212...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tranquil , simple , refreshing .”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our week at the Old Rectory was all we hoped for and more. A delightful setting , beautiful secluded garden , simple , clean , carefully equipped accommodation .Carole and Brian , our hosts made us so welcome and offered us great advice on bike routes and walks and eating places . There is much to explore in the area but if you want a lovely place just to 'be' this is it . Thanks for a very special time .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden , the quiet , the hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
You were perfect guests who enjoyed the Brecks and made good use of it. We hope you will return for another great week as there is still so much more to see.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geeske B
Burgum, The Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely place to be”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed our holidays in Beachamwell in the Old Rectory. It is a lovely nice and quiet place to stay. Clean, homy and a huge and beautiful garden around. Very friendly people, beautifull countryside, shops nearby in Swaffham. Wy made great walks round Beachamwell and in the Nar Valley. Looking forward coming again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
So pleased you returned to Beachamwell from the Netherlands and that you enjoyed your stay once again. Thank you for being perfect guests. We look forward to your return. Carole and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annjyeo
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really nice place to stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Really nice place to stay , the day after our arrival was the village open gardens day which we joined in we also had the hottest week of the year. Plenty of good walks ,nice pubs ,old houses very nice owners ,beautiful garden to sit & relax in loved it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accommodation - as always.”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have been coming to The Old Rectory for at least ten years and we always receive the same friendly welcome and high level of service from Carole and Brian. The accommodation is ideal for two people - very well-appointed - and well placed for visiting many interesting places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet - surrounded by lovely gardens.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald A
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb !”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A magical week has just been spent in Carole & Brian Wilsons apartment at the Old Rectory.
The apartment is brilliant, with a large comfortable double bed in a huge bed/living room. Also has a small but well thought out and functioning kitchen and a shower/toilet room. All necessary towels, bed linen etc. are included, as well as enough coffee and milk to last for several days. Bookcases full of a variety of reading material as well as maps and board games for rainy days.
The setting is something to dream about, attached to the main house, it is extremely private and enclosed in a huge garden where you can eat your breakfast outside whilst watching the squirrels and various birds perform just for you ! Brian & Carole are excellent hosts and do everything to make your stay something special.
It really is a stunning situation and an ideal centre for walking, cycling and lazing around. Heaven on Earth !!
Cannot wait to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is an excellent holiday property for a couple to explore Norfolk or just to relax and unwind.
It has everything you could need for your stay, and its double bed is very comfortable, with a good hot shower. The front door of the property opens onto a beautiful, open and spacious garden, wonderful to sit in on a sunny day. Although the property is attached to the main house, guests are totally self contained and private.
There is lots of information on what to do in the let. The National Trust property of Oxburgh Hall is very close by. The attractive market towns of Swaffham and Downham Market are easily accessible by car, and there is the option of exploring the wonderful north Norfolk coast.
We are cyclists and appreciated the quiet country lanes and the easy bicycling terrain. There is plenty available for walkers with the ancient long distance Peddars Way passing through the area.
Carol and Brian are very welcoming hosts, happy to give advice and information about the locality if needed.
A super spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Positioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing